Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sergio Mendes with a Big Twist
Well, when I was in my teens, people used to laugh that I liked Sergio Mendes. Well m'dears look at this album and tell me it isn't the coolest?!

Whether you are a Sergio Mendes fan especially the earlier stuff, Brasil 66, Equinox, etc or a Black Eyed Peas fan, or indeed R&B then there's something on this album to please everyone. I'd say for such a...
Published on 19 May 2006 by J. Davies

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tainted love..!
"Timeless"? I think not..!

Classic '60s KOOL is desecrated by new age twits who think they know better. I suppose The Black Eyed Peas ran out of their own ideas and felt they should smear their brand of non-singing and obnoxious thump over a masterwork. This is for the kind of folk who will put an ice cube into a glass of fine wine in an attempt to cool it...
Published on 7 April 2012 by SeaWasp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sergio Mendes with a Big Twist, 19 May 2006
By 
J. Davies "cactusgal66" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timeless (Audio CD)
Well, when I was in my teens, people used to laugh that I liked Sergio Mendes. Well m'dears look at this album and tell me it isn't the coolest?!

Whether you are a Sergio Mendes fan especially the earlier stuff, Brasil 66, Equinox, etc or a Black Eyed Peas fan, or indeed R&B then there's something on this album to please everyone. I'd say for such a challenging album there are only a couple of songs that are just to heavy hip hop for me. The rest is a joy to listen to, if you are open minded about remixes and love to see what Sergio has been up to. Mas Que Nada, the first track is inspirational and the more I listen to it, the better it gets. I feel with this album it's going to grow on me and be the summer listen of 06.

This album is cool, classy and well mixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return, 20 May 2006
By 
Mr. T. Speller "tomtedspeller" (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timeless (Audio CD)
Sergio Mendes is, arguably, the biggest musical export to have come from Brazil. His brand of jazzy bossa nova was a regular feature on 1960s radio stations, and even now he remains hugely popular, with many recognising his signature tune "Mas Que Nada" from Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery.

Timeless is his first album of original material in eight years, and it follows the model set by Carlos Santana's recent albums: have a talented but ageing musician as the one constant, and invite an array of well-known, younger stars to freshen up the sound. Thus, we see the likes of Stevie Wonder, John Legend, Justin Timberlake and the Black Eyed Peas all making contributions. Indeed, the influence of the BEP is very strong, with group member (and self-confessed Mendes aficionado) Will.I.Am at the producing helm.

Essentially, Timeless is a cross between Mendes' soft, salsa-tinged melodies and modern day R'n'B. This may seem an odd combination, but actually the blend between old and new works beautifully, as shown by the new version of "Mas Que Nada". Other highlights include the John Legend-led "Please Baby Don't", Stevie Wonder's wonderful harmonica playing on "Berimbau/Consolacao" and the smooth "Loose Ends".

In all, a very good album that should attract new fans for Sergio Mendes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's good for Santana is also good for Sergio, 26 July 2006
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timeless (Audio CD)
Borrowing a page from the Santana recipe book, Sergio Mendes updates his sound by taking a generous sprinkling of popular artistes, and blending them in to spice up this album. Not that the Brazilian samba and bossa nova beats aren't spicy on their own, but thanks to the hot hip hop, soul, Latin, Caribbean and pop guest artistes, this album sizzles, bringing a taste of Sergio to a new generation.

Just glance down the track listing and you'll see will.i.am (lots of him) and The Black Eyed Peas, neo-soul goddess Erykah Badu, legendary Stevie Wonder, red hot John Legend, and pop boy band graduate Justin Timberlake, as well as India.arie, Q-Tip, Mr. Vegas and more.

Tracks to look for are the first single "Mas Que Nada" (a Sergio Mendes staple, but as you've never heard it before); "That Heat" (the Erykah Badu / will.i.am collaboration); the reggae track "Bananeira" and the ever-so smooth "Please Baby Don't" with John Legend.

With something for everybody, this album would be a great pick for any music lover on your list, and don't forget to treat yourself also. Rated: 4.5 stars

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tainted love..!, 7 April 2012
By 
SeaWasp (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Timeless (Audio CD)
"Timeless"? I think not..!

Classic '60s KOOL is desecrated by new age twits who think they know better. I suppose The Black Eyed Peas ran out of their own ideas and felt they should smear their brand of non-singing and obnoxious thump over a masterwork. This is for the kind of folk who will put an ice cube into a glass of fine wine in an attempt to cool it down.

Stick to the original self-titled album, plus "Look Around", "Fool On The Hill" and "Equinox". Mind you, if you prefer trendiness over originality, this remixed abomination may very well be your (very tepid) cup of tea.

In years to come, the originals will still be unsurpassed and this mess will be very passé. That's if it is remembered at all.

Awful, just AWFUL..!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Cracker, 19 Jun 2006
This review is from: Timeless (Audio CD)
I initally bought this album purely for the 'Mas Que Nada' remix but on first listen I discovered some real gems. Don't worry, the BEP don't rap through the whole album. 'Berimbau' features Stevie Wonder on harmonica, 'Let Me' features the sublime vocals of Jill Scott and the melodic rap of William, E Menina has that soft Brasilian groove that gets the feet tapping, 'Bananeira' fuses the latin beat with dancehall, but by far the best track is 'Timeless' featuring India Arie which is a silky mix of bossanova and soul (absolutely divine). There are some tracks that don't quite work but who cares. There's something for everyone and everything for some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not what you might expect....., 25 Jun 2006
This review is from: Timeless (Audio CD)
I bought this on the back of the successful single version of Mas Que Nada "featuring" the Black Eyed Peas, expecting some classy samba / salsa music. Actually, it is more like a BEP offering, probably because of their production influence. That said, it is actually well worth buying because they have done a superb job of merging modern Hip Hop vocals with the complexity and class of the Latin beat. I expect this to become an award-winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a let down, 9 July 2006
By 
Pj Langridge "las3389" (Sherborne, Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timeless (Audio CD)
Having been a great fan of Sergio Mendes for some 35 years, I was looking forward to this new album. However, I was very disappointed when I listened to it. Apart from 2/3 tracks, it is heavily influenced by rap music. If, like me, you don't like rap, then don't buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible, 5 May 2013
By 
F. van den Bouwhuijsen (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Timeless (Audio CD)
In one word: horrible.
Sergio Mendez tries to make a buck by re-releasing his classic songs, but with this issue he destroys his masterpieces of the past. My god: mixing Bossa Nova with hiphop from predictable untalented rappers like the Black Eyes Peas!
It's a shame!
Just listen tot the originals: that was art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timeless (Audio CD)
I'm replacing music that I used to own and luv this as much now as I did when I first heard it, however there are some obvious album fillers I am happy with the CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "SAMBA-HIP HOP": "TIMELESS" IS THE 2006 LATIN GRAMMY WINNER!,, 1 Feb 2014
By 
RSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Timeless (Audio CD)
FIVE "GROOVING" STARS!! Warning: radio stations will play this music to death when they get it. Brazilian legend Sergio Mendes, the originator of the seminal groups starting with "Brazil 65" meets Black Eyed Peas R&B/hiphop master Will.I.Am and the result is FANTASTIC: the 2006 Latin Grammy Winner! Mendes originally merged the samba, with standards, jazz, and Beatles music, along with the hits in Brazil. Now the emphasis is on updating the past with new sounds & grooves, starring some of today's hot stars and some of Sergio's Brazilian friends. The result is a kind of 'Samba-Groovy' that is impossibly infectious. From such stars as Stevie Wonder, The Black Eyed Peas, Erykah Badu, Q-Tip, Mr Vegas, Jill Scott, John Legend, India.Arie, and Justin Timberlake to Brazilian stalwarts Guinga, Quarteto Maogani, and Marcelo D2, this concept SIZZLES from note one! Special mention must be made of the amazing voice of Gracinha Leporace, who is Mrs Sergio Mendes BTW. And the liquid caramel voice of Lani (Mrs Herb Alpert) Hall who appears by way of a great sample from "Slow Hot Wind".

The steamy samba "Mas Que Nada" (~More Than Anything) is one of the biggest Mendes hits and it gets a wonderful lyric reworking with the entire BEP crew spinning wonderful harmonies over a hot groove. Fergie sounds so natural singing in Portuguese. This song was proof positive in the 60's to the USA that sensusous Brazilian-Portuguese doesn't need translation to mesmerize the listener, now the song surfs above a hiphop English/Portuguese translation. "That Heat" (Slow Hot Wind) has Will rapping over the Lani Hall sample and a sensuous Erykah Badu taking the singing role. "Berimbau/Consolacao" has Gracinha Leporace singing her own role with the incredible Stevie Wonder (recently caught singing with Andrea Bocelli) proving he can play harmonica with anyone. "Let Me" sizzles with Jill Scott and Sergio's synth solo. "Surfboard" is a party cut that is amazing. But "Samba Da Bencao" (Blessing Samba) with Brazilian rap/rocker Marcelo D2 of Planet Hemp, rapping in Portuguese, is beyond amazing. Mendes' sizzling piano elevates the song two feet above the floor. Finally "Yes, yes, Y'all" is a one way trip to groove land with Costa Rican wonder girl Debi Nova. fMu Highest Recommendation. Five Huge Stars!!!

(Note: For those who doubt the effectiveness of the Hiphop/Brazilian crossover, go to the source. It's already a huge success in Brazil as today's Brazilian teens are listening to Mariah, Madonna, the BEP, Fifty Cent, et al on their own Hot 100 charts side by side with Maria Rita, Alcione, Ivete Sangalo, Simone, Zizi Possi and her daughter Luiza. And they are blending it superbly.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Timeless
Timeless by Sergio Mendes (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews