Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars26
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2006
Having listened to this album 4 times I think it is very good.

The rawness of guitar and vocals on the 'Power of the Blues' and 'Scars' albums has been toned down resulting in cleaner sound that fits very well.

Opening track is very good with a funky rhythm and gritty vocals working very well.

'You Know my love' is a cover but superbly done with fantastic guitar solo to indulge the guitarists with crytsal clear sound and blistering fretwork well worked into the song. This is the best song on the album and will work well live when the level of percussion used in the studio will not be available.

The 2 weakest songs on the album for me are the 2006 re-works which do not appear to be that different with 'All your love' being slowed down and midnight blues almost the same as the original.Perhaps this shows the quality of the album.

'Ain't nobody' is melodic song with great chorus and interwoven guitar resulting a very fresh song moving away from the blues genre.

Gonna Rain today is another slow song alongs the lines of 'picture of the moon', Naked flame, nothings the same etc.. Only short but works well and no guitar solo.

'Cut it out' is an instrumental and very good with a blues rift.

Last 2 songs are well delivered and fresh sounding.

General opinion is that despite the naff title this is a very good album and perhaps would have been better if 2 other songs than the re-works used as the new material is very good and the clear/crisp delivery of both guitar and voice are in line with still got the blues album.

Gary Moore Fans will not disappointed at all.infact presently suprised as I was.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2006
What I hear you cry, yet another blues album form Mr Moore.

But have no fears, there is still plenty of new ideas and blistering licks to keep all axe fans well and truly entertained. Sure theres more than a passing resemblance to previous material and a couple of reworkings of previously covered tracks, (why All my Love because its a carbon copy of his older track ?).Having recently seen him on B.B.Kings farewell tour the standout track on stage was " You know my Love" and this album version features one of the finest extended solos he's done in years.

Other oustanding tracks according to this lowly reviewer are "No Reason to Cry" with more than a nod to Roy Buchanon and a rare instrumental " Cut it Out" where I'm sure his fingers must have caught on fire with the breathtakingly fast and fluid runs. Nothing terribly innovative but a good modern blues album

at a stonking Amazon price.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 June 2007
I dislike the album title immensely, it conjures up visions of some compilation album such as his own Ballads & Blues but it is in fact another storming blues album. I still think that "Still Got The Blues" is his best album because I love the guitar tone and the production on that album, Gary to me should occupy that hinterland between rock and blues. Having said that though, I'm really growing to love his blues albums since After Hours. They have a grittiness and power behind them which is addictive. Nobody and I mean nobody plays guitar like Gary. His tone and his feel, coupled with those blistering runs up and down the neck really set him apart from the other axe heroes for me. He just has more soul and more bite. This then, is another fine album. Midnight Blues and All Your Love didn't need reworking in my mind and although brilliant tracks, I have other albums with them on. It's a shame they take up valuable space on this album, I wonder if Gary really felt they were valid reworkings or if he just didn't have any other songs ready? This small gripe aside, it's a terrific album. One of his very best.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2006
After another soujorn into Rock with Scars and the Monsters of Rock, Gary returns to the blues for, I think, the 4th time in the last 15 years!!
There's no surprises on this album, but that isn't a criticism - more an endorsement of his supreme quality. Gary is a tremendous guitarist without doubt.

The versions of Midnight Blues and All your Love dont really add much to the originals, but that aside this is probably the closest Moore has got to the sound and spirit of Still Got the Blues.

You Know My Love is quite exceptional. Well worth adding to the collection.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2006
As a Moore blues fan this album is just so typical of Gary. Music which he loves. Im going to leave it short but sweet, Gary can make a kitchen sink sound good, go and buy and enjoy. Pure heaven....thanks Gary!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2011
great album by the late gary moore. shows a subtle and bluesy jazz side to his blues. some rocky numbers like the opening track with slide and i like the blues instrumental too, bit different to othwer instrumentals which i like and it works real well! the reworking of "all your love is good as well" the blues riffing between the verses fits really well
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2006
This album is a work of blues art.

It is deep, sensitive, calm and interesting.

I am eagerly awaiting your next album, as this one, with the coming sound of the bottom of the you noble soul.

For those who like true blues and deep ballads buy this amazing album.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2006
Amazon recommended this to me as I am a Gary Moore fan so it was bought 'sound unheard' and I was not disappointed! Brilliant new tracks, really good reworking of the old, like Midnight Blues. It's a CD worth being in every Gary Moore fan's collection!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
A great collection of music from an exceptional musician. Gary Moore may be gone but his legacy lives on with some classic rock and blues that touch your every nerve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
excellent classic gary moore.good mixture of songs, just wish I bought it earlier.it is just such a shame he is still not here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.