Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Assured Album With a lot to Offer
For a band so young in their years, this is an absolutely incredible effort. As a frontwoman, Jemima has an energy and confidence which most of the limp noodles double her age fail to muster up - and the rest of the band blow me away too, with furious drumming and an aggressive approach to bass/lead guitar.

Most of this album is vital, being deeply rooted in...
Published on 17 Aug 2007 by Elizabeth Gershwin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone....
I bought this album on a whim. There are some good points to it and at the same time there are points that can really drive people off it.
The album itself is a very interesting piece of hardcore. The heavy guitars and pounding drum beats are technically very good. The introductory track puts you right in the mindset.
Unfortunately, most of the tracks do blend...
Published on 31 Mar 2006 by link1984


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for everyone...., 31 Mar 2006
This review is from: Be Your Own Pet (Audio CD)
I bought this album on a whim. There are some good points to it and at the same time there are points that can really drive people off it.
The album itself is a very interesting piece of hardcore. The heavy guitars and pounding drum beats are technically very good. The introductory track puts you right in the mindset.
Unfortunately, most of the tracks do blend into each other. While some may welcome short songs becoming one large piece of work, you feel somewhat cheated out of 15 songs when your getting around 10.
Then there is the sound of the album. Its good for the punkie sound it is, but not to everyones tastes. The heavy overdrive on guitars seems very off beat to the thrash drumming and the (at points) quite funky bass. One saving grace is the voice of their very attractive lead singer. However her voice is often lost like a sparrow in a storm.
Buy this if you want to give something new a try or are really into that new-wave punk revolution. If your not sure, or it doesnt sound quite to your taste, then definately buy "Adventure', which is absolutely the main highlight of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Assured Album With a lot to Offer, 17 Aug 2007
This review is from: Be Your Own Pet (Audio CD)
For a band so young in their years, this is an absolutely incredible effort. As a frontwoman, Jemima has an energy and confidence which most of the limp noodles double her age fail to muster up - and the rest of the band blow me away too, with furious drumming and an aggressive approach to bass/lead guitar.

Most of this album is vital, being deeply rooted in punk with it's rough around the edges texture but with enough pop sensibilities to make this enduringly catchy and memorable. And the enthusiasm! The opening attack 'Bunk Trunk Skunk' virtually renders the listener immobile, clouting them over the head with it's aggression, as Jemima roars "I'M AN INDEPENDENT MOTHERF**KER!" at the top of her voice, and we are left in doubt that she is telling the truth!

'Wildcat', meanwhile, features excellent guitars and is also loud/brash, whilst 'Adventure' is easily on of the best songs on the album, musically and lyrically very accomplished, but also with the adding benefit of it sounding like a bona fide anthem, in my opinion. 'Fuuuuun' is more fast n' furious, unfettered punk, played at breakneck speed, loud and angry, whilst 'Girls On TV' and 'We Will Vacation...' are more slices of grimily recorded garage-punk, unpolished but charming in their rawness and eagerness. Jemima's voice is also exceptionally strong, and she is a far more adept vocalist than most vocalists in bands at the moment.

And much of the rest of the album plays out in the same way, never executed with anything but the utmost gusto and zeal - which makes Be Your Own Pet a band worth keeping an eye on, hopefully for a while to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Good for Words, 24 Feb 2006
By 
Toby Staunton "dancing mole" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Be Your Own Pet (Audio CD)
Quite simply one of the rawest most aggressive records that you will here this year. It is utterly mad, filled with driving guitars and heavy drum beats all over ridden by a more aggressive version of Karen O with lyrics to match. For anyone who wants to listen to a tune that will abuse your ear drums and leave you with a feeling of breathless satisfaction then this is for you. Quite simply this album is utterly insane in every sense of the word.
The highlights have to be (new single) Adventurers, (present single) Lets Get Sandy and then some of the general album tracks absolutely rule. Though don’t expect a long album. The fact that it is 15 tracks long is deceptive. It only adds up to about half an hour. But still if it went on any longer there would be a lot of missed genius. As it is the madness lasts just the write length of time to keep the world happy.
Though I am raving here about an awesome album, NOTE it is not for everyone as many will see it as 15 tracks exactly the same with nothing special or of interest. It is however incredible for those who like bands like Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Queenadreena (to a certain extent). I personally love it and think that it is incredible and worth the wait definitely. The only slight let down for fans is that it doesn’t include the tunes that you think of when you say “Be Your Own Pet”. So that means no “Fire Department” or “Damn Damn Leash” which is a real let down. But still filled with genius madness and a strange kind of aggressive extacy that should appeal to many of a loud disposition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn it up to 12 !!!!!!!!, 29 July 2007
By 
Anthony Walker (Broadbottom, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Be Your Own Pet (Audio CD)
I didn't have a clue who was coming on when I stood waiting around the stage at Leeds Festival last August.

Suddenly, a wondrous cacophony of noise assaulted my eardrums and this lithe blonde bombshell exploded onto the stage.

Be Your Own Pet had arrived in my world. For many delightful minutes they smashed their way through their repertoire displaying both a fresh raw edge and a maturity that belied their youthfulness.

All too soon the end. But though saddened by this, the fire of what I had seen continued burning and I had a memorable festival day.

The album is a bit more restrained than the live performance, but once you've cranked it up (do not listen to this album quietly!) you'll be singing, dancing, drumming, breaking windows, etc. along to each of the tracks.

Like your music hard? Buy it! Like it soft? Buy it anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., 7 July 2006
By 
Mr. Aj O'hagan "ajgeneric" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Be Your Own Pet (Audio CD)
These guys have restored my faith in rock/punk rock music. It's so energetic and catchy - I can't remember the last time I listened to an album over and over! Every track makes you nod your head, grin from ear-to-ear and jump around like a total idiot...Awesome. Can't wait to hear them live!

The only minor gripe I have is the production is a bit lo-fi (which I guess is normal for this kinda stuff) - I'd like a little more clarity - but it really is a tiny, minor complaint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A band for the future, 29 May 2007
By 
T Brooks (Oxford, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Be Your Own Pet (Audio CD)
This Debut album from Nashville punk-rockers Be Your Own Pet shows a band with so much potential and a great future in the music business. "Adventure" is by far the best song on the album and it seems a shame that songs such as "Damn Damn Leash", "Spill" and "Electric Shake" weren't included on the album. Perhaps not the best of albums but Be Your Own Pet a band to look out for in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars noughtiesnteen ounk fu, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Your Own Pet (Audio CD)
This album takes me back to my youth. fun, emergetci and punky, it reminds me if what it's like to be a teenager of the noughtis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, classic debut, 9 May 2006
This review is from: Be Your Own Pet (Audio CD)
I thought that I'd keep this short.

From the moment the first chord rings on 'Thresher's Flail', until the last screams of 'Ouch' rasp some half hour later, I guarantee that this fabulous album will keep you hooked. Provided that you like Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Pixies and McClusky, that is.

Crucially, there is no over-the-top production here and hence BYOP keep their live energy by sounding like a maelstrom on record.

This album is vital and is second only to Dirty Pretty Things' effort so far this year. With songs as strong as 'Bunk Trunk Skunk', 'Ouch' and 'Girls on TV', make sure you do yourself a favour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this now!!, 6 April 2006
This review is from: Be Your Own Pet (Audio CD)
Am I glad I bought this one! Put it on, turn it up far too loud and feel an unstoppable grin spread across your face. This is so much fun it ought to be illegal. 100mph guitars, drums faster than Rat Scabies, screaming vocals - what more could you ask for?
With so many other garagistas rapidly disappearing up their own musical backsides (e.g. the YYYs), it's nice to find a band who haven't missed the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alright, I suppose., 26 Jun 2008
By 
Craig Mcilravey "Skrogs" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Be Your Own Pet (Audio CD)
I bought this album upon its release back in 2006 after months of hype and several promising tracks were released upon the world - namley "Fire Department" and the possibly the tune of 2005: "Dam Dam Leash". However both of these tracks have been inexcusably left off of this patchy album.

That is not to say that this album does not have its own highlights, but honestly apart from maybe at a drunken party or a sweaty indie club these songs feel unfinished, patchy at times and with one or two exceptions very samey.

If loud, stupid, girl lead guitars is what you are after then buy this. But if it is well crafted songs you are after there really are better alternatives. For those who like the emoish feel to this get a Paramore album, those who like girly indie stuff - get The Long Blondes debut. And if its the manic, raw edge that has drawn you to this band why not just dig out that old Libertines album that you have sitting there?

All in all this album could - and should - have been great but instead it just feels unfinished, unloved and more importantly will become forgotten as the years pass.

Buy if will, but don't get your hopes up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Be Your Own Pet
Be Your Own Pet by Be Your Own Pet (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews