Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good looking lantern
Over the last weeks, I've received several comments about its good looks. The material is lightweight without being flimsy, so no extraordinary measures to hang it. The enclosed connection instructions are simple to follow. With this hanging outside my home, I don't have to worry about getting a better looking one, because I haven't seen anyone yet. Highly recommended to...
Published on 22 Nov. 2011 by me

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars PROBLEMS WITH ALL 3 I BOUGHT
Bought 3 of the lights for my garden to put on outbuildings. The first box was missing the finial which screws on the bottom of the lantern plus the glass sides were very loose so the chance of water getting in the shade was very high in windy wet weather! The 2nd lantern, again the glass was very loose! and one of the small bolts which holds the main body to the back...
Published 12 months ago by capt Drew


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good looking lantern, 22 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massive MüNCHEN Down Wall Lantern (Garden & Outdoors)
Over the last weeks, I've received several comments about its good looks. The material is lightweight without being flimsy, so no extraordinary measures to hang it. The enclosed connection instructions are simple to follow. With this hanging outside my home, I don't have to worry about getting a better looking one, because I haven't seen anyone yet. Highly recommended to enhance your house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality, 28 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massive MüNCHEN Down Wall Lantern (Garden & Outdoors)
This is a good sturdy lantern which is very beautiful too! It looks very attractive and the glass is pretty. The light fitting takes a screw in bulb and not a push in one. This is an excellent buy, we are very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars munchen down wall light, 30 Oct. 2012
By 
M. connolly "leprachaun" (new ollerton nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massive MüNCHEN Down Wall Lantern (Garden & Outdoors)
I received this wall light last week and put it up today.It is a lovely looking garden light but I found one problem.There is no cutout for the cable to go through at the bottom of the fixture.That made it impossible to place it flat against the wall until I had cut a notch at the base.Fortunately I have a small hacksaw so that soon did the job.If you are feeding the light from an internal socket through the wall you will not suffer this glitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top product, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
Rafal Andruszkiewicz "Rafal" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massive MüNCHEN Down Wall Lantern (Garden & Outdoors)
This lantern is brilliant! If you follow the assembly instruction it will fit firmly on the wall with no wobbly movement whatsoever . It does not come with the wall plugs, so you need to buy two extra plus two screws from local DYI shop. This was just a small issue, but the final effect compensated this - it looks just amazing on Victorian-style buildings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice solid wall light, 10 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massive MüNCHEN Down Wall Lantern (Garden & Outdoors)
a nice solid good quality wall light that looks the part, good value for the price
the light main body is aluminium and the windows are glass not plastic as some appear to think
couple of negative points
1.the connector block is not very good quality the screws cross threaded, replaced with better made ones
2.the main body back plate of the metal light fitting is flush all the way round , so when offering it up to the mounting plate and wall it will not sit flush due to the cable (ok if your cable comes directly through the wall) this was sorted by drilling an access point at the bottom edge of the light ,which now sits flush
reason 2 is why I have only given 4 stars other wise for the price paid it is as stated above good value ,would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Porch Lantern, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massive MüNCHEN Down Wall Lantern (Garden & Outdoors)
Prompt delivery in good condition. Easy to connect. Cannot comment on durability against the weather as I have not had it long enough. Also my porch has roof protection. Looks attractive when illuminated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars PROBLEMS WITH ALL 3 I BOUGHT, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massive MüNCHEN Down Wall Lantern (Garden & Outdoors)
Bought 3 of the lights for my garden to put on outbuildings. The first box was missing the finial which screws on the bottom of the lantern plus the glass sides were very loose so the chance of water getting in the shade was very high in windy wet weather! The 2nd lantern, again the glass was very loose! and one of the small bolts which holds the main body to the back plate was missing! The 3rd lantern, again the glass was loose, because when made, the small pieces of glass which are made to look like leaded glass, have not been put together straight hence the glass being bowed forcing it away from the side of the frame of the main body.
Because the lanterns were very cheap compared to others, I attempted to fix the above issues. With the glass, I took out each section one at a time, and used waterproof silicon sealer to bed the glass into the sides of the main body of the lanterns. This has greatly improved the look of the lanterns, which are now sealed from water intrusion, and they appear to look like the more expensive lights on sale.
With the missing finial, I just found a small nut and bolt, to stop spiders etc getting into the shade. The bolt is put from the outside in, and the nut screwed onto the bolt from the inside.
With the missing backplate screw, it was a trip to BQ to get a replacement, to get the exact size to fit in the recess at the back of the backplate.
The lanterns look very nice, and the listing sounds very good when looking to buy this light. But if you are very unlucky like I am, be prepared to send them back, or spend a few hours of your time making them weatherproof and safe. 3 stars for the price and quick dispatch and delivery only..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Posh light, 23 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massive MüNCHEN Down Wall Lantern (Garden & Outdoors)
Looks really good up, although one of the panels was loose in the box and took some time to put back in, but fortunately wasnt broken. Lovely light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Lantern - looks fabulous, 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massive MüNCHEN Down Wall Lantern (Garden & Outdoors)
This is a great little lantern. We are very pleased with the item. It makes the front of the house look warm and welcoming! We would have given it 5 stars, but for the fact that our lamp had more gold in it than maybe the picture would indicate. We wanted a black lantern with some touches of gold, but it does look more gold with black. No problem though - as it looks great and fantastic value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good product with reservations, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Massive MüNCHEN Down Wall Lantern (Garden & Outdoors)
Although I haven't fitted the lanterns yet I can see that for the price they represent excellent value for money - with regard to the people who aren't certain as to whether the panels are glass or plastic I feel sorry for them - they are clearly glass and furthermore due to the style of packing when one of the units was pushed inside it's protective cardboard sleeve whoever packed it chose to use one of the panels to press it home and in doing so managed to crack the glass pane across the middle - I've relocated the pane in question to the rear of the light rather than go through the hassle of returning the item - another example of the downside of ordering via the web. However. without the web these lanterns would have been considerably more expensive and given where these lights are to be placed the single cracked pane won't be an issue ( I hope ) - all in all a pretty good product for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Massive MüNCHEN Down Wall Lantern
£20.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews