Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars73
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2007
Blocks fall from the sky, and you must slot them into gaps. You make a chain of 99 lines, going for the killer 100 total, but lose concentration and end up failing at the final hurdle.

I am talking about tetris, the game which almost made people tear out their eyes in '89, has come back to haunt them on DS. The content of the main game is virtually the same, except for some lovely graphical effects. You see, you still try to clear lines, but whilst you're doing this, you can see some cool 8-bit nintendo memorabilia. Link, Samus and of course Mario are all along for the ride.

And the main game got longer as well. With new modes and being able to get up to 999 lines, the action never stops. And Nintendo have added new modes as well, which all work well, and are a handy get-away from the original action. Push is the least addictive of the bunch, however it would have worked brilliantly in 2-player, what with you pushing a block onto your opponents screen. Mission gives a task for you to do,fairly easy I must say. Puzzle is great, and soon you'll be using your brain more than Dr Kawashima. Catch is annoying at first, but once you get your head around it, it can be a hidden gem. But the extra fun to be had is in touch, were you have to move existing blocks into lines.

Once you get this, you'll be screaming like you did in '89. You'll find a tactic, then the game will crush it, forcing you to go back to the drawing board. With original tetris to look forward to, and some time-consuming extras you'll love this game. Trust me.
0Comment|88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2006
Just recieved a DS lite and Tetris DS from my girlfriend yesterday. And I can honestly say it has not been off, between the two of us. It is........brilliant.

The bog standard game is just the same as all Tetris ever, so I won't bother talking about it except to say that it has a nice twist.

The mini games are great. There are 5 and they are as follows:

Push: Quite tricky where you fight the CPU to clear lines and push the middle block into their screen. Not the best.

Touch: Second best mini game besides Catch. Move pre-existing blocks into rows with the stylus to create lines. Hard, addictive and FUN!!

Puzzle: Great game where you have to solve, strangely enough, puzzles. Good fun.

Mission: Not my cup of tea this one, but maybe it's because I'm not very good at it. Solve missions given to you by the CPU like clear two lines at once or use a certain piece to clear a line.

Catch: The best mini game. Move a block around catching falling pieces to create a 4x4 square (or bigger), which then explodes, whilst avoid Metroids. Sounds weird but it is so good.

And then there is the multiplayer. Words don't describe really. No honestly they don't. It's just that good.

You just need to buy this game. That is all.
0Comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 12 September 2006
I like Tetris, it's a great game. I like Tetris on the DS too and I love wireless multiplayer Tetris. But at the end of the day it is one simple game and should have been released as a budget title for no more than £15, on a par with Brain Training. It is simply not worth a full price title. All of the 5 additional 'modes' feel like filler to pad the game out - they are not fun or original, just slightly different, slightly duller takes on the same game.

If you love Tetris, perhaps you can't resist getting this. But if, like me, you like to get what you pay for, I wouldn't pay full price for this one.
0Comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2006
I've not yet read other people's opinions on this game, but I decided that I would express mine before reading them.

Tetris was one of the very first games I've ever played and I still love it even now! I don't think anyone could ever get bored of trying to beat your high scores in a desperate attempt to beat your friends.

As for Tetris DS is concerned, I was more than a little disappointed. For one, this game isn't worth more than £20 new. I was excited to see that there were new modes to play, but these are quite disappointing.

I enjoy 'Touch Mode' quite a bit, where you use the stylus to move the blocks into positions where the lines will be elimtated. It can be frustrating sometimes, but I enjoy it. There are mini-games in this mode as well, where you need to clear the screen in a certain number of moves, create a four-line-chain, or whatever else the game wants to throw at you.

'Puzzle mode' is also good, where there are over 150 mini puzzles for you to solve, which get harder as they go on. By experience, it depends from person to person how quick they solve the puzzles!

With classic mode you can't really go wrong, its highly enjoyable. I feel that the only drawback is the insane difference in speed from one level to another. I felt that in the original the speed increase was slight, but on this it seems a lot faster!

All in all, this is a good game to get, but if you can get it cheap for around £20, you'll feel more like you'd got your money's worth.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2006
I am just doing a quick review for Tetris DS as many people have said what I am gonna say. This is an awesome game! The standard tetris is in here with other modes of play with the use of the touch screen. It is fantastic! The graphics are nicely done and even the themes are of old NES games, it is still good to hear while playing the many different types of tetris modes available on this game!

Get this, its a addictive!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The original Game Boy release of Tetris is one of the most iconic games in videogame history, but after seventeen years and various failed updates, there is finally a truly worthy sequel. The old cliché of 'if it ain't broke don't fix it' applies to few things better than Tetris, but Nintendo has decided to fix it anyway

These fixes include adding W-iFi compatibility, which is a damn fine fix and on its own makes this one of the greatest gaming experiences of all time. If you don't have access to Wi-Fi you can still have a ten-player game with your friends with just one cart for ten DS consoles. Since the GB classic there have been minor tweaks to the gameplay. It is now possible to keep a tetrimino in hold to use for the perfect moment. You can see the next six tetriminos you will receive. And you can now infinitely rotate them after they have touched the block below, which makes the later levels less frustrating but will perhaps meet the wrath of the purists.

The game field has also been given a makeover and the presentation will initially leave any Nintendo fan delighted with the sight of the themed levels featuring the company's legendary characters. That being said, they can easily become a distraction and you may be forgiven for not noticing Mario running and jumping through his classic platform levels on the top screen during the Standard mode as your eyes remain transfixed on the action below. It's ultimately a superficial but cute piece of fanboy-pleasing eye candy. Likewise, the music has been 'Mariofied', but it has to be said that it doesn't compare well to the GB's classic Russian tunes.

And that's just the tip of the iceberg. Instead of unnecessarily messing too much with the main game, Tetris DS offers an array of bonus play modes which prove to be more than just a diversion. Touch mode, as the name suggests, is played with the stylus and is an entirely different experience from the standard game. Mission mode is another welcome addition, based on the standard game, but requiring you to remove lines in a variety of different fashions, such as removing two lines simultaneously with a T-shaped tetrimino. Puzzle mode is wrapped in a Yoshi's Cookie skin and requires you to clear a screen by laying a preset number of tetriminos in the right places and the correct order. Touch Puzzle is a separate entity to Puzzle mode, and perhaps the pick of the crop, in which you have to solve (that's right) puzzles that, again, involve having to clear screens by moving tetriminos into the right place. I'll admit I'm doing a terrible job of making these modes sound as varied as they are!

Meanwhile, Catch mode is perhaps the only weak offering: a Metroid-themed game where you have to attach the falling tetriminos to a core which you steer through space and then explode them - an interesting idea that could have been executed better. Finally there's Push mode, which has one player on each screen attempting to shove (ok, 'push') the growing block of tetriminos into the opponent's screen, offering some of Tetris DS's most intense battles.

Polished presentation, better than ever in single player mode and now one of the greatest multiplayer games there is, Tetris DS is the most essential version of the game in years.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2006
I am a veteran Tetris fan and have played the Gameboy (B&W) and Nintendo (NES) versions most until now.

Using "infinite spin" / "super rotation" on Tetris DS, I can easily exceed 999 lines (the point at which the 3-digit display stops updating on Endless Marathon mode, making Tetris DS much easier than older versions of Tetris. You don't have to worry about the speed reaching such a pace that it is imposable to move the blocks before they slam down.

The new modes are not as you would think when you hear "different game modes" and imagine the awful alternatives to the real Tetris they could have come up with. Nintendo of course came through with some enjoyable and unique modes. Puzzle and Touch are two which challenge your mind rather than your reflexes. Mission and Push are fun too, as for Catch mode, that's very different and has to be tried out.

The best part of Tetris DS (and probably the #1 reason for buying) is of course is multiplayer (including Wi-Fi) play. "infinite spin" will not help we when you are up against human opponents, If playing on a low level, you will kill or be killed by attacking with Tetrises long before speed of the blocks becomes relevant, and hesitating about where to place a block is not a good idea.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2010
When I ordered this game from you're website I had one thing in mind: to play one of the best games ever made for hours on end and enjoy every moment. I got this fuzzy feeling of nostalgic brilliance and more, the original Marathon mode has a nice little extra where it shows on the top screen a NES game playthough - The objective simple, the better you play the faster you run through the game ontop, this is a nice touch but I feel it needed more, as it only played a few levels and then moved on, which could get boring when playing in endless mode.

The other modes that the game has to offer have a very nice play style when I'm bored of grinding away for that 99,999,999 on endless mode, including a VS mode with 5 levels and a touch screen puzzle mode where you move the jumbled up tower to clear lines in a complete remix of the original!

The only problems I had with the game is while going for the max score in endless mode I accidently pressed the restart button instead of the continue button and it gave me NO warning whatsoever that I will lose my current 28,000,000 score, this annoyed me but thanks to the other modes I quickly calmed down!

The controls can be confusing for people who play Tetris on the computer on a regular basis because with tetris games you usually are able to change the controls to fit you're style, I wasn't able to do this and it took me several hours to get used to the up being the harddrop key.

Overall I gave this a four out of five simply because it felt slightly rushed with the game modes. I have been looking at a recent game - Tetris Party Deluxe, and I would recommend you rethink whether you want Tetris DS or Tetris Party Deluxe which I found a better game overall.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2006
I was very pleased when my version of tetris ds arrived. i was hoping for a good addictive game that i could always go back to, and im pleased to say i got it.

tetris ds is a highly addictive game that can be played by most of the family. there are 6 modes, my favourite is Standard mode, but im sure there will be a mode for everyone to enjoy. it gives you instructions on how to play each mode and in various modes it gives you the option to play against the game!!! most modes contain difficulty levels which you can set, so if you are worried that you might not be able to do it then don't worry!!!

it also contains some of the old classics such as mario and yoshi and these are in serious retro style, however dont be fooled you cant play these games they just make an interesting backdrop.

i really like this game and am pleased to see that it arrived on friday after i ordered it the saturday it came out, well done amazon.

anyway, to conclude, if you are looking for a game you can go back to over and over. a game for the family, then this certainly fits the mould.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2006
Classic Tetris gameplay combined with nostalgic elements from various Nintendo All-Stars from over the years create this up to date package that retains the game we all know and love, as well as incorporating new styles of play.

Everyone who grew up on the old GB version of Tetris may or may not enjoy having infinite spin incorporated into the game (whereby a block will not be set firm until you stop spinning) but this should not hamper your experience, particularly, and this is one of the most attractive features of this new version, of playing online.

It's a wonderful game that doesn't fix what isn't broken. Great stuff!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)