Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable historical movie.
I've always loved Bette Davis, when she played our Virgin Queen! Even though Bette Davis was an American, and a fine American actress at that, she really came into her own when playing Queen Elizabeth the first. As far as I know, she played Elizabeth in two films, this one, and 'The Private Lives of Elizabeth and Essex'. Both are good movies, with I think the latter just...
Published on 14 May 2011 by T. S. C.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on Shakespeare in Love!
The picture quality is good, the sound is good, the colour is good. The acting is competent.
Joan Collins does her best as an also-ran love interest, but she is lumbered with that 'girls-are-made-to-look-pretty-and-be-kissed' 1950s-woman kind of character.
Bette Davis gives her all,& now and again makes the sparks fly. As Elizabeth her gait is very manly...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. David Titley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on Shakespeare in Love!, 12 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. David Titley (Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Queen [DVD] (DVD)
The picture quality is good, the sound is good, the colour is good. The acting is competent.
Joan Collins does her best as an also-ran love interest, but she is lumbered with that 'girls-are-made-to-look-pretty-and-be-kissed' 1950s-woman kind of character.
Bette Davis gives her all,& now and again makes the sparks fly. As Elizabeth her gait is very manly. Whether this was due to a very cumbersome costume, or to a thoroughly mistaken idea of what Elizabeth was actually like, I cannot say. Certainly Elizabeth's contemporaries - friend and foe - described the Queen as graceful even in old age, when she had lost her hair and her teeth & her fine skin.
I would describe this as a Sunday afternoon film. Suitable for passing an hour or so after a good meal, and made - it would seem - with no more than a Sunday afternoon's thought: unimaginative and pedestrian.
The actors do their best with stagey direction and excessively clear lighting.
Perhaps we now know too much about these historic figures; so many recent television series have made them familiar, warts and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable historical movie., 14 May 2011
By 
T. S. C. (Somewhere in NW England.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Queen [DVD] (DVD)
I've always loved Bette Davis, when she played our Virgin Queen! Even though Bette Davis was an American, and a fine American actress at that, she really came into her own when playing Queen Elizabeth the first. As far as I know, she played Elizabeth in two films, this one, and 'The Private Lives of Elizabeth and Essex'. Both are good movies, with I think the latter just edging out the former for excitement and melodrama. And Bette Davis convinces you that she is indeed Elizabeth the first; no mean feat that.

As for plot; well, its a little hard to say really. It is, more or less, a story of unrequited love between a powerful queen, and one of her, admittedly handsome and younger, subjects. Historically, the film is more or less correct, but as never having fully studied the early Elizabethan age so well, I could be wrong.

Anyway, this isn't a bad little film, if you like the age of Elizabeth the First or Bette Davis, or both; I enjoyed it and it passed an enjoyable hour and a half or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Queen [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant if you enjoy vintage movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loneliness at the top, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Queen [DVD] (DVD)
This is a perfect example of how power can influence a person but how that person does not let power become dominant. Considering whose father Elizabeth I was, a tyrant of the worst kind, she has become level headed and self appraising in her interaction and judgment of humans. No wonder she is England's most famous monarch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An oldie, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Queen [DVD] (DVD)
An old classic ,Bette Davis in an interesting part. One for people who like historical drama
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 July 2014
This review is from: The Virgin Queen [DVD] (DVD)
the real thing well done amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Virgin Queen [DVD] (DVD)
Happy with purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Virgin Queen [DVD] (DVD)
great oldie movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the lesser-known Bette Davis films I think., 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Queen [DVD] (DVD)
This is a mixture of American and British performers and perhaps Davis conquers all. Well-made but Bette Davis plays Bette Davis I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great old film, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Virgin Queen [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived ahead of date that was given great film love the oldies dark winter afternoon watching highly recommend you view this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Virgin Queen [DVD]
The Virgin Queen [DVD] by Henry Koster (DVD - 2006)
£4.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews