Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more and even better
Just like the first one, but in my opinion, with some better story lines. The villans seem more interesting in this season and lois and clark move to the next step in their, will they or wont they get together? they kiss for the first time in this season and the that special question he asks lois at the end of the season. Its great and all fun to watch! But lois also...
Published on 4 Feb. 2006 by Mark

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Lame
Season 1 was wonderful but season 2 was awful. I gave the DVD away. No more Lex or Cat. Season 2 was just so corny. It lacked the sparkle of season 1, and reminded me of the old 1960's Batman. The stories were badly thought-through and the parade of 1990's TV celebs had the smell of desperation.

I suspect that the loss of Lex was the main weakness of season 2;...
Published on 31 May 2011 by Kitten


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more and even better, 4 Feb. 2006
By 
Mark (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Just like the first one, but in my opinion, with some better story lines. The villans seem more interesting in this season and lois and clark move to the next step in their, will they or wont they get together? they kiss for the first time in this season and the that special question he asks lois at the end of the season. Its great and all fun to watch! But lois also has her eye on superman too and its great to watch her reaction to superman all the time! The graphics are betetr in this season too and as I said before, the villans are more interesting to watch with some special guests making their debut on superman! Also, a new Jimmy, and as good as the original one was, this one kicks ass!! He is brilliant, funny and a great Jimmy Olsen!!!

Again, one of the best superman progs ever made, please go and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME SEASON, 23 Jun. 2006
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is unquestionably the best TV series of the Superman legend. Season two continues to delight where season one left off. The romantic tension between Clark, Lois and Superman is heightened to fever pitch. With the supposed death of Lex Luthor, Superman had new foes to vanquish not just the one in Lex Luthor. With a different bad guy in each episode or two, meant a lot of stunt casting or guest appearances by many big name stars - Emma Samms,, Denise Crosby, Michael Des Barres, Peter Scolari, Barry Livingstone, Bronson Pinchot, Peter Boyle, Sherman Hemsley, Isabel Sanford, Raquel Welch, Lane Davies, Terry Kiser, James Hong, Denise Richards, to mention but a few. But the hall mark of this season is the heightened tension between the Lois and Clark characters, excellently played by Teri Hatcher and Dean Cain. I think their portrayal of these characters is the best I have ever seen and the screen chemistry between Teri Hatchers' Lois Lane and Dean Cain's Clark Kent is incredible and very beautiful to see. What is even more interesting is that for all her seriousness as an investigative journalist, the Teri Hatchers' Lois Lane is pure comic relief, the banter and antics between her and Clark will leave you reeling.

This DVD box set is also packed with special features - commentary on "Season's greedings" by Dean Cain - (he wrote the episode) and a feature on the fans of Lois and Clark. You can't go wrong with this box set. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh as Ever and Wonderful!!, 22 Feb. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I'm one of the reviewers who remembers when the series was first shown on TV and sat with my children watching it every week. I loved it as much as they did. This is the first time since then that I've been able to watch the whole thing through (series 1-3, am getting series 4 soon),and can say that it is as good now as it was then. Perhaps even better now, because I don't have to sit through the agony each week wondering will they or won't they? Another big change was to have both Clarks parents still alive,(traditionally Clarks dad died when he was young), a wonderful idead that produced a lot of memorable moments in all four series'.

It helps to remember that at the time when Lois and Clark was first shown, the comic book line was that Clark and Lois Lane did not date and certainly did not even entertain the prospect of marriage, they were good friends, Lois only really had eyes for Superman and it had been that way for years. So, to see this 'rule book' being ripped up and thrown away was totally captivating. Right up until they finally got married for real, there was always the lingering doubt that it would end up towing the comic book line. How wonderful they didn't and finally had Clark and Lois get married!! Some time after that the comic book changed too and Clark and Lois got married.

So, what we have here is a timeless story of romance played by two actors whose on screen chemistry as Clark Kent and Lois Lane is second to none. Certainly, Terri Hatcher is by far the best on screen Lois Lane there has been to date (including the new Superman returns film). Perhaps more controversially, I believe Dean Cain is far and away the best on screen Clark Kent there has been because as a 'real person' his Clark Kent is much more believable and down to earth. As Superman, he might not be able to make us believe a man can fly (that accolade still belongs very strongly to Christopher Reeves' Superman)due mostly to the fairly weak special effects that were used, but his Clark Kent remains unrivalled!!

So, ignore the mostly dodgy special effects (although I still prefer how they do Superman's x-ray vision in Lois and Clark),some of the rather cheesey villians and their plots and enjoy the fun and romance that series 1-4 provide.It's still the best!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Clark, What Else Can You Do?", 13 Jun. 2009
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Season two picks up in the aftermath of Lex Luthor's (guest star John Shea) death. Even though the villain has been unmasked, the citizens of Metropolis seem upset with Superman (Dean Cain). Even more unsettling is the idea that Lex might not be dead.

But Lex plays a minor role this season. Intergang has moved into town in their disguise as CostMart and are attempting to take over the city. But that's not all investigative reporters Lois Lane (Teri Hatcher) and Clark Kent have to face this year. There's the Prankster, an evil mastermind who wants to incorporate Lois into his criminal pranks. A whistleblower is in danger when he discovers faulty products have been used. Gangsters come back to life and start wrecking havoc on the city leading to Clark Kent's death. A toy maker figures out a way to bottle greed and sell it to kids and adults right before Christmas. Superman is sued by someone whose life he has saved. And Jimmy Olsen (Justin Whalin) becomes a trained assassin.

But since this is the romantic comedy take on the mythology, all this plays out against the backdrop of the building romance between Lois and Clark. There are complications with love interests for each of them. Clark struggles with maintaining his two identities and keeping them secret. All this leads up to a cliffhanger aimed squarely at their relationship.

And, best of all, it is fun. The Christmas episode is the only clunker in the 22 episodes presented here. Instead, we get cases that not only present decent mysteries but also find ways to challenge Superman. It can't be easy to create new ways to put all the characters in danger each week. (Although I do have to wonder if anyone in Metropolis checks for traffic before crossing the street.)

And the romance is played perfectly. Teri Hatcher and Dean Cain have perfect chemistry for the part. They make it believable. And their flirty dialogue is always fun if not downright funny.

This set contains all 22 episodes from the season in full frame and stereo sound. Extras are limited to an audio commentary on "Season's Greedings" by star and episode writer Dean Cain. There are also two fetaurettes, one of the fans of the show and one on season two.

The emphasis may be on the romance, but there is still plenty of action and superhero to please everyone. This really is an entertaining show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This series is Super, man!, 1 Sept. 2006
By 
KAT "tatethegr8" (Kettering Northants) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Despite the fact that Supermans main rival Lex Luthor was killed off at the end of series one, Clark AKA Superman still has some pretty tough baddies to contend with in the second series of Lois and Clark. Also this series marks a definite progression in Lois Lanes character (still perfectly played by the great Terri Hatcher). This series sees her become less and less reliant on Superman and more and more reliant on Clark Kent - paving the way for their romance to notch up a gear.

This series is good because it moves foward in the will-they-won't-they love story between Clark and Lois and the two FINALLY share a kiss! However, the only reason I witheld the last star is because in several episodes Superman is bought to his knees. He's the Man of Steel who's supposed to be invulnerable yet in this series, he's shot with a Kryptonite bullet, almost killed by a Kryptonite kiss and frozen and blinded by a lazer beam. Call me cynical but these somehow taint his superhero invulnerabily for me.

Also Michael Landes has been replaced by Justin Whalin as Jimmy Olsen and its taken me most of the series to accept Justin as Jimmy , having got used to the original one. Also both Cat and Jack have disspeared off the face of the earth with no explanation (I thought that Cat at any rate deserved at least a passing mention considering that she played quite a big part in the last series) and just these little loose ends niggle a bit

But that aside Dean Caine and Terri Hatcher still retain their amazing chemisty as Lois and Clark throughout this series and both give brilliant performances. Lois is as funny and as witty as ever!

A great series worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome season, 23 Jun. 2006
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is unquestionably the best TV series of the Superman legend. Season two continues to delight where season one left off. The romantic tension between Clark, Lois and Superman is heightened to fever pitch. With the supposed death of Lex Luthor, Superman had new foes to vanquish not just the one in Lex Luthor. With a different bad guy in each episode or two, meant a lot of stunt casting or guest appearances by many big name stars - Emma Samms,, Denise Crosby, Michael Des Barres, Peter Scolari, Barry Livingstone, Bronson Pinchot, Peter Boyle, Sherman Hemsley, Isabel Sanford, Raquel Welch, Lane Davies, Terry Kiser, James Hong, Denise Richards, to mention but a few. But the hall mark of this season is the heightened tension between the Lois and Clark characters, excellently played by Teri Hatcher and Dean Cain. I think their portrayal of these characters is the best I have ever seen and the screen chemistry between Teri Hatchers' Lois Lane and Dean Cain's Clark Kent is incredible and very beautiful to see. What is even more interesting is that for all her seriousness as an investigative journalist, the Teri Hatchers' Lois Lane is pure comic relief, the banter and antics between her and Clark will leave you reeling.
This DVD box set is also packed with special features - commentary on "Season's greedings" by Dean Cain - (he wrote the episode) and a feature on the fans of Lois and Clark. You can't go wrong with this box set. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Lame, 31 May 2011
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Season 1 was wonderful but season 2 was awful. I gave the DVD away. No more Lex or Cat. Season 2 was just so corny. It lacked the sparkle of season 1, and reminded me of the old 1960's Batman. The stories were badly thought-through and the parade of 1990's TV celebs had the smell of desperation.

I suspect that the loss of Lex was the main weakness of season 2; the actor had charm, vigour and panache. Clark & Lois alone failed to carry the show...

Also, why replace Jimmy? I heard that it was because the original Jimmy looked vaguely like Dean Cain. Poor reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good old Superman, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
These DVD's were ordered for my sister for her birthday (along with series 2) and they arrived nice and quickly. I'm sure they will play fine and she knows that she already loves the programme, so no need to review that!! My only complaint is about the packaging, not about the product. The two sets I ordered came packaged in an absolutely huge box which was really wasteful and unneccessary. It also meant my mother had to go and fetch them from the Post Office sorting office because it wouldn't go through the letter box. Please take note Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect!, 7 April 2011
By 
Dr. D. Brand (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Almost perfect - but not quite as good as the First Season.

I preferred the Jimmy Olsen actor in the First Series (though this one is good).

Also, I would have preferred it if Lex Luthor had appeared in more episodes, instead of other villains.

Do buy it, though: you're guaranteed many hours of entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment, 24 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman - The Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
As with the whole series, The New Adventures of Lois and Clark is excellent entertainment. Having seen many of the episodes when originally aired, I can say that they really have the same level of cheesy yet lovable watching that they used to when I was younger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews