Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joe Brown - A talent to enjoy
Joe Brown was almost unique in being just about the only artist in Larry Parnes' stable of stars - some real and some wannabes - to retain his own name. Amidst the Fury's, the Wilde's, the Eager's, the Gentle's, the Power's, the Pride's and the Fame's, he strongly resisted the attempt to rechristen him ELMER TWITCH (!) and he remained plain old Joe Brown, a name which far...
Published on 30 Oct 2009 by Anton Coy

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars joe brown deserves more respect
I agree with the reviewer of "On a day like this" Joe Brown is so under rated and yet must be one of Britains best all round entertainers.I bought this solely for Picture of You but was surprised how many tracks I enjoyed and what an accomplished guitarist he is. I would now like to see him live. He certainly deserves more respect from the English music...
Published on 8 Jan 2001 by wardnikki@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joe Brown - A talent to enjoy, 30 Oct 2009
By 
Anton Coy "Ant" (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joe Brown Story: The Piccadilly/Pye Anthology (Audio CD)
Joe Brown was almost unique in being just about the only artist in Larry Parnes' stable of stars - some real and some wannabes - to retain his own name. Amidst the Fury's, the Wilde's, the Eager's, the Gentle's, the Power's, the Pride's and the Fame's, he strongly resisted the attempt to rechristen him ELMER TWITCH (!) and he remained plain old Joe Brown, a name which far better matched his uncomplicated and unpretentious character. This compilation reminds us, not only what a good guitarist he was ( and still is ), but also that he was a more than passable vocalist, often singing original material at a time when cover versions were still very much the preferred choice for many an artist's management team. He had some fairly modest chart success (only three UK Top Ten hits, as it turned out), and also recorded many good other sides that deserved a better showing in the Hit Parade, but perhaps he was slightly undone by his practical, self-deprecating and less-than-flashy performing style, when all about him were becoming more and more off the wall. There are a few tracks on this compilation that I don't care for very much, but a lot of it is very enjoyable of excellent musical quality and fills a gaping hole I had in my CD collection of an artist who rightly still commands respect and affection to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dad's gone down the dogtrack, 5 Feb 2012
By 
Dangerous Dave (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Joe Brown Story: The Piccadilly/Pye Anthology (Audio CD)
In terms of what he recorded in the early days, Joe Brown was most unlike other early Brit rock stars. Whereas they tended to find a style, often related to the sort of music that was reaching us from across the big pond, and stick with it. Think Billy Fury and the big ballads, or Cliff with the immaculate light pop, or Adam with the pizzicato strings, or even Emile and doo wopped oldies. And there are plenty more. Brown, on the other hand, managed to create records that showed him to be more than capable in at least four different stylings within the first dozen or so singles, that's looking at both sides.

There was the country rock as on his very first release "People Gotta Talk" plus its flip "Comes the Day". His much deserved breakthrough, "Picture of You" was of just this type and it was a genre he'd come back to over the years, as in Brown's Home Brew.

Then there were the cockney records, usually but not always rocked up. They started as early as "Jellied Eels" his third single (and reportedly, on autobiographical lines). Only Tommy Steele had dared to release cockney songs before Joe so I'd guess this took a bit of daring on behalf of the man and his producer. Who really knew whether the public wanted this? It would appear that they didn't judging by the lack of sales. He injected a rock beat into the excellent "Henery the Eighth" though sales wise that didn't do much either which was a shame. If you're looking for an original British rock record then this one beat most hands down and it didn't owe very much to the US.

Another styling stream or series were the rocking oldies which commenced with "Darktown Strutters Ball", another ace record and continued on through "Shine" and "Good Luck and Goodbye".

And lastly there were the instrumentals usually placed on B sides. "Swagger" and "The Switch" were US style guitar rockers and very well done. With "Hava Nagila" and "All things bright and beautiful" he introduced more variation.

The stylings also bled into each other at times. "Crazy World" was a new song, but it sounded like an oldie and it also had the cockney sparrow thing going. Give old Joe some credit. He practically invented rockney two whole decades before Chas'n'Dave. Maybe we weren't ready for it since this one only just nudged into the charts.

Blandness did rather creep in with the later recordings though that could be me (and my memory). Other records caught my attention from `63 onwards and I have to confess to losing interest in Joe.

This album concentrates on the singles (though not exclusively so) and it's roughly in order - I assume the slight variation from the singles sequence was the compiler's idea of a better musical mix. Never mind, it's still nicely representative of Joe's oeuvre which placed less reliance on overseas influence than most of the other rockers and he deserves loads of credit for that. There are a few covers in here but they are more like affectionate revivals rather covers in the sense of versions of current hits by other artists. I recall seeing him live at a dance rather than a concert and he was more than handy with rock standards.

The later tracks bring the overall standard down a bit otherwise this would have been five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant early sixties pop singer, 4 Aug 2008
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joe Brown Story: The Piccadilly/Pye Anthology (Audio CD)
Originally making his name as a musician, Joe Brown eventually made his name as a singer with a string of UK hits in the early sixties. Most of these were minor hits but three made the top ten, these being A picture of you (a number one hit in some charts but not the one now most widely recognized), It only took a minute and That's what love will do. Unlike many pre-Beatles British singers, these major hits were not covers of American songs but original material. Despite this, Joe failed to make it in America but his songs were covered by such American acts as the Kalin twins, Paul Evans and Bobby Goldsboro.
As the sixties progressed, Joe focused more on acting than singing. He later became interested in country music and performed on the British club circuit. His marriage to a member of the Breakaways (a British all-female sixties group) produced a daughter, Sam Brown, who had some success in the late eighties and early nineties.

This compilation includes the three major hits together with I'm Henry the Eighth I am (Joe's version is the original, recorded two years before Herman's Hermits covered it), Darktown strutter's ball (a distinctive cover of an American jazz song that gave Joe a minor UK hit), Shine, Your tender look, Nature's time for love, Sally Ann and With a little help from my friends (Joe's other minor UK hits of the sixties). A minor UK hit recorded for a different record label in the seventies (Hey Mama) is missing, but it's not important.

With very few covers and plenty of original material, Joe's music has plenty to offer sixties pop fans, especially those who are tired of hearing the same old songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars joe brown deserves more respect, 8 Jan 2001
This review is from: A Picture of You (Audio CD)
I agree with the reviewer of "On a day like this" Joe Brown is so under rated and yet must be one of Britains best all round entertainers.I bought this solely for Picture of You but was surprised how many tracks I enjoyed and what an accomplished guitarist he is. I would now like to see him live. He certainly deserves more respect from the English music business.I would have given it 4 stars but some of the tracks were very dated but that's forgiveable as it was recorded in the 60's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Brown's A Picture of You, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Picture Of You (Audio CD)
In the Sixties I bought the vinyl LP of this on the Pye Golden Guinea label. I still have it but I no longer have the equipment to play it so this CD was a must buy and I enjoy the tracks now as much as I did 50 years ago.
I still have many vinyl LPs from the same period some with the artists signature ie Hank Marvin (Shadows) and Frankie Vaughan which maybe someone might be interested in purchasing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A CD of Golden Oldies, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Picture Of You (Audio CD)
Good Price, Well Packaged, Quick Delivery, Worked Perfectly - what more can you ask for?

- If you're of a certain age it's well worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old music, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Picture Of You (Audio CD)
I rated it four stars because I liked it. Darned good stuff, and funny with it. I saw Brown perform live a couple of years back and he has all the sparkle he had in his youth. He's aged much better than most of his contemporaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent early compilation, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Picture Of You (Audio CD)
I think Joe Brown is an unsung hero of the sixties. His recent albums and concerts are superb, and this release shows how talented he was right at the start of his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Picture of You, 17 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. E. Chapman "Eric Chapman" (Ludborough, Lincs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Picture Of You (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant CD which shows a singer still performing his hits so well. Memorable nostalgia. Recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good cd, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Picture Of You (Audio CD)
Original recordings from Joe Brown good selection of old tracks included and was a good price compared to other sites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews