Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ardal's & Dara are Gas
Great DVD, Basically around 6 Irish Comedians stand up for about 10 Minutes each which gives you just enough want to buy their own Individual dvd's. Dara's story telling about the Catholic Church and the IRA Story are outstanding.
Ardal O Hanlons jokes on the Irish laws are quite funny too, well worth a buy!
Published on 2 Sep 2009 by Stephen Kearns

versus
59 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A huge disappointment
I bought this DVD as I knew a few of the people in it are very funny. Dara O'Briain for one and the guy from Father Ted too.
Unfortunately the DVD was a big let dowm. Each comic was only on for about ten minutes. At best they never had chance to get into their stride. At worst some of the comics just weren't funny. The sound quality wasn't up to the standard of other...
Published on 11 April 2006 by theshiresuk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A huge disappointment, 11 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop You're Killing Me [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD as I knew a few of the people in it are very funny. Dara O'Briain for one and the guy from Father Ted too.
Unfortunately the DVD was a big let dowm. Each comic was only on for about ten minutes. At best they never had chance to get into their stride. At worst some of the comics just weren't funny. The sound quality wasn't up to the standard of other stand up DVD's either.
This DVD was a big let down and I doubt I'll be watching it again anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ardal's & Dara are Gas, 2 Sep 2009
By 
Stephen Kearns "S Kearns" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stop You're Killing Me [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVD, Basically around 6 Irish Comedians stand up for about 10 Minutes each which gives you just enough want to buy their own Individual dvd's. Dara's story telling about the Catholic Church and the IRA Story are outstanding.
Ardal O Hanlons jokes on the Irish laws are quite funny too, well worth a buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a dvd that deserves more recognition, 29 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Stop You're Killing Me [DVD] (DVD)
This dvd is for a good cause, being the work of an amnesty charity. Please don't forget Tommy Tiernan and Dylan Moran's performances, as they deserve more merit than they received in previous reviews. Also, the irish-american comic, Des Bishop, is worth watching too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Des Bishop, how did I miss this guy out, 21 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. K. T. Johnsey "kris69" (Newport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stop You're Killing Me [DVD] (DVD)
Being a big fan of standup, such a cheap price for a collection of irelands best comedians (no Ed Byrne though, why?) seemed a bargain. Unfortunately, I found the dvd disappointing mostly, but brilliant in places. First of all, Jason Byrne is very disappointing. His set wasnt very long and was poor compared to his usual brilliant standard (but was still an ok performance). If you've never seen Jason before, please dont judge his standard by this dvd, the guys a legend. Tommy Tiernan was a nice surprise, one of his better routines aswell as some hysterical moments in the unseen footage. Dara o Briain was ok, Im not a huge fan of his anyway. Ardal O hannon was pretty good, he had me laughing, but his set ended just as it was picking up speed. Dylan Moran had his moments, but was average at best.

The 5 star performance goes to Des Bishop. I cant believe this guy has slipped under my comedy radar. Ive tried to buy every dvd of his based on this performance, it was that good. The guys an american who has spent most of his life in Ireland, so considers himself practically Irish, but makes a point of comparing the differences between the Irish and Americans. His bit on Irish women is daring and could have backfired, but its so hysterical that even the hardest Irish woman would be in stitches. Id go as far to say that for the price, the dvd is worth buying just to see Des Bishops set. Most of the others let the side down and please dont be put off Jason Byrne, he's so much better than this.
The venue seems quite dark and small (no apollo job here) and you cant help but feel that all the comedians (apart from Des and Tommy) were saving their best material and as they had like 10 minutes each, they couldnt get going properly. But hey, its for a good cause, amnesty international and its dirt cheap. Worth a purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stop your killing me (DVD), 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stop You're Killing Me [DVD] (DVD)
Had really, really high hopes for this DVD but was sadly disappointed that it didn't live up to its hype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you love stand up you will love this, 24 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Stop You're Killing Me [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this for my sons birthday and we all love it. its a good buy for stand up fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Charity DVD For The Uninitiated, 26 Dec 2010
By 
C. Hurley (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stop You're Killing Me [DVD] (DVD)
Ask yourself this: Do you know the people in this DVD? Do you have most of their own DVDs? If you answered yes to both of these, well then this DVD isn't worth getting. Unless you want to give to charity of course.

I bought this because I loved Tommy Tiernan at the time, and was kind of interested to see what Dylan Moran and Ardal O'Hanlon were capable of, since I'd heard lots but seen little. This DVD was a great gateway show to get into a lot of comedians who I now love and it works perfectly as that. Each comedian gets approximately ten minutes to strut their stuff, by and large using material culled from their own shows, and to bring you into their style and supporters. There's also some extra footage, largely audience interaction, which was cut from the full show. Considering how short some of the segments cut were it seems odd to exclude them from the DVD. However, the deleted bits are funny, and it's perhaps lucky they were included at all.

So really the only reason to get this DVD is if you're interested in checking out some new comedians, but don't want to spend full money on their own show, and consider watching their work on YouTube stealing. The profits from the DVD go to Amnesty International, and the show features the cream of Irish comedy (with one or two exceptions) which is well worth a look if you're new to Irish comedians or, since there's a good diverse display of styles on show, just looking for a decent present for someone. With this much talent there's something for everyone to like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A very mixed bunch, 19 Jun 2010
By 
NattyB (sydney australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stop You're Killing Me [DVD] (DVD)
A collection of Irish comics, the very good the very bad and the rather painful.
Dylan Moran's short set is great, as is the fab Dara O'Briain. Ardal is ok, but the rest are pretty dire.
Do yourself a favour and just buy a full length set from Dylan or Dara.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the other guy said, but slightly different..., 28 Nov 2007
By 
M. Peck "Dumbat" (Somewhere, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stop You're Killing Me [DVD] (DVD)
The comedians are Irish, and therefore some of the comics entire performance is a series of insults at the English (And not very good ones)

Only two of the comedians do anything which could be counted as a "good" performance; Dara O'briain & Ardal O'hanlon
Dara O'briain's is fantastic but is also on his stand-up DVD extra - "live at the theatre royal" (Which is way better than this)
Ardal O'hanlon's isn't brilliant and is also on his new DVD, and don't expect anything as good as Father Dougall or Thermoman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stop You're Killing Me [DVD]
£6.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews