Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


151 of 153 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ER Season 6
The electryfying 6th Season of ER sees the departures of Julianna Margulies, Gloria Reuben and Kellie Martin as well as the arrival of several new characters.
After losing George Clooney at the end of the 5th Season, the show tries to reinvent itself and is fairly successful in doing so with landmark episodes such as 'Great Expectations' which sees Nurse...
Published on 16 Feb 2006 by Stephen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY
PRODUCT AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE.

OUT OF 22 EDPISODES SEVEN (EACH TIME ON A NEW DISC) WOULD NOT PLAY; HENCE WE HAD TO TURN THE DISC OVER AND JUST TAKE WHAT WAS LEFT - MISSING SEVEN EPISODES REDUCED OUR ENJOYMENT AND WE DO NOT FEEL AMAZON SHOULD BE SENDING OUT FAULTY PRODUCTS. THIS WAS SERIES SIX AND HAS LEFT US MOST ANNOYED AT BASICALLY SUCH A WASTE OF MONEY (AND...
Published 8 months ago by pinky


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

151 of 153 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ER Season 6, 16 Feb 2006
This review is from: ER: The Complete Sixth Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The electryfying 6th Season of ER sees the departures of Julianna Margulies, Gloria Reuben and Kellie Martin as well as the arrival of several new characters.
After losing George Clooney at the end of the 5th Season, the show tries to reinvent itself and is fairly successful in doing so with landmark episodes such as 'Great Expectations' which sees Nurse Hathaway go into labour on Thanksgiving and must rely on the help of Dr. Kovac and Dr. Greene to get through the painful delivery.
Perhaps the most shocking episodes in ER's history are featured in this set with the thrilling two parter 'Be Still My Heart' and 'All In The Family' which sees the brutal death of a series regular. If you haven't seen the episode then I won't spoil the ending for you but be sure to watch because it forever changes the character of John Carter who is faced with a life-altering decision in the season finale after the massacre.
However all is not miserable on this set with PA Jeanie Boulet(Gloria Reuben) realising her HIV status shouldn't control her life finally finding happiness in the form of a new husband and baby which leads to her leaving the show early in Season 6 after 5 years on the show.
In the most highly publicised move of the show's history, Julianna Margulies (Carol Hathaway) sensationally quit the show after turning down $27million to return for a further 2 years. After 6 years in the role, Nurse Hathaway bids farewell to County General in the penultimate episode of this season titled 'Such Sweet Sorrow' and her goodbye turned out to be one of the best kept secret in TV history. If you haven't seen this episode and want to see how the Doug-Carol storyline comes to an end, purchase this terrific sixth season of ER!
George Clooney may have left and the show may be a shadow of its former self, but the show is still one of the best around and with brilliant appearances by Emmy Award winning actor Alan Alda in the role of Attending Physician Dr. Gabe Lawrence who is suffering from Alzheimer's disease, ER rises above the pack and delivers one of its best seasons yet.
For long term fans who have watched the show from the beginning, this could be considered the shows last year of classic ER because from Season 7 on, the show moves away from the original characters we've come to grow and love and moves into the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ER- season 6, 2 July 2009
This review is from: ER: The Complete Sixth Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Starting off a little weak, this season only gathers momentum as it heads towards the inevitable departure of Julianna Margulies. Without Doug Ross, Carol Hathaway has no reason to remain at County!

With an excellent guest appearance from Alan Alda (one of my favourite actors) as Kerry Weaver's teacher stricken by Alzheimers, he stands out for his run.
Furthermore, John Cullum as David Greene, Mark's dying father, gives new depth to his character, and both actors excel with the plotline.

The main point of this season is the introduction of an almost entirely new cast! Four new characters are introduced this season; and Paul McCrane is upgraded to regular and Ming-Na makes a comeback. This helps keep the show appropriate, and avoids the old characters running out of steam. Furthermore, Julianna Margulies, Gloria Reuben and Kellie Martin depart in this season. Kellie Martin's character had not run its course, and its a shame as she was genuinely likeable.

Of the brand new characters, Goran Visnjic and Maura Tierney make the most impact, both will become long-serving cast members and truly excellent additions to the cast. Michael Michele is undoubtably very pretty but doesn't really do much, other than providing Peter Benton with a love interest, and Erik Palladino is strange but still funny in this season.

The best episodes are 'Humpty Dumpty'; 'Great Expectations'; 'Be Still My Heart' and 'All In The Family'; 'Loose Ends', 'Such Sweet Sorrow' and 'May Day'.

Finally, the change in Noah Wyle (John Carter) as an actor is very clear it seems he switches on and shows off his range as an actor, which is impressively large. He becomes the lead in seasons 9-11, and you can see why this season.

Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ER: The Complete Sixth Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
PRODUCT AN ABSOLUTE DISGRACE.

OUT OF 22 EDPISODES SEVEN (EACH TIME ON A NEW DISC) WOULD NOT PLAY; HENCE WE HAD TO TURN THE DISC OVER AND JUST TAKE WHAT WAS LEFT - MISSING SEVEN EPISODES REDUCED OUR ENJOYMENT AND WE DO NOT FEEL AMAZON SHOULD BE SENDING OUT FAULTY PRODUCTS. THIS WAS SERIES SIX AND HAS LEFT US MOST ANNOYED AT BASICALLY SUCH A WASTE OF MONEY (AND THE LOST SEVEN EPISODES!).

DO NOT TOUCH THIS PRODUCT IF YOU WANT TO SEE THE WHOLE SERIES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BELATED REVIEW, 20 Jun 2013
By 
David Hellawell "davidh3074" (Bromsgrove, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ER: The Complete Sixth Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I write 'belated' above advisedly because it always seems a long time after you ask me for a review before I have seen all the individual episodes and can rate the whole package. I also note, by the way, that below you ask me to rate the fifth series et cetera which I am sure I did ages ago. Don't you automatically lodge our reviews somewhere so that we're not asked time and time again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars er medical drama dvd, 7 Jun 2010
By 
A. Barber "alibaba" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ER: The Complete Sixth Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This classic tv series has gone from our screens but is great you can buy whole series disc from amazon. Excellent delivery and value for money, hours of great entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best seasons of ER histrory, 11 April 2008
By 
Mr. Ciaran Bird "ERmania" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ER: The Complete Sixth Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
ER season 6 has something pretty magical about it. When you watch the current series, and compare it to this season you find yourself lamenting the fact that the current show doesn't have the same ambience amongst the cast and that in my opinion the writing is not as slick as it is here. Season 6 is for me one of the best seasons of ER ever produced. Fantastic episodes, brilliantly acted include the absolute killer "Be Still My Heart" where tragic consequences occur for two central characters (i wont spoil it for those who do not know what happens.) Also in this set, we have the leaving of Jeanie Boulet (thank god), a guest spot from Alan Alda, a development in the relationship of Carter and Benton, the introduction of key characters for future years such as Luka and Abby and of course..the resolution to ER's greatest ever couple - Carol Hathaway and Doug Ross, which ended EXACTLY as it should have done! Tears, thrills, shocks, surprises - this series has everything you could want from the show. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not working, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ER: The Complete Sixth Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
have had to retrn both 6 and as they do not play properly not heard back from them yet .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 April 2014
By 
Susana De Freitas "SuDFB" (London - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ER: The Complete Sixth Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Got this for a friend who is a massive fan of ER and she loved it and all DVDs worked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ER ADDICT, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ER: The Complete Sixth Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Best medical drama ever - In my humble opinion.
Stories are well written, some are deep and some light hearted but all great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ER6 season, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ER: The Complete Sixth Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Arrived on time and in good condition have purchased this as a reminder of things I used to watch considering not much else on to warch at the moment (even if George no longer in it is still worth a watch)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ER: The Complete Sixth Season [DVD] [2006]
ER: The Complete Sixth Season [DVD] [2006] by Anthony Edwards (DVD - 2006)
9.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews