Customer Reviews


387 Reviews
5 star:
 (196)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good diversion...
I wasn't going to get this game originally because i haven't been a huge Halo fan having played and completed the first two. But i was browsing games in town for something new to get and thought why not?

This game is good and i recommend it for any fps or Halo fans, even for people who aren't usually fps fans(like myself) it can prove a good few hours of...
Published on 8 Oct. 2007 by The Voices

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average game that's stuck in the LAST-gen.
Halo 3 is a let down, thanks largely to it's antiquated gameplay and minimal substance.

Now you know my opinion, allow me to qualify it. I'm a massive Halo fan. I've read the novels, played the previous games to death and genuinely believe they've shaped the modern videogame market ). I was really anticipating finishing the fight. However, I didn't get caught...
Published on 12 Oct. 2007 by Richard Bridge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Err not sure where people even find it any good, 28 May 2009
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Start of i have played the trilogy , alot, yep Halo 1 was immense could not take my mind of it, simple storyline. Halo 2 good yeah new things a bit overtop at times and the storyline yeah started to winding out of control still enjoyed it. Halo 3 well... was a disater, no matter what people say it is terrible. The graphics are pretty bad espically near the end. AND talk about boring , sooo repeitive nothing new and the story line is the biggest disappointment by far. They had to end it in such a bad way. The flood yeah great its them again wooop ha. if you trip over it in the street then yeah maybe it might be worth picking up i was so dissappointed and the thing is when ever i asked other folk and frinds they were not that impressed either. SO yeah nice one bungie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some people, 21 Sept. 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I can't believe there are still people who think Halo: CE was better than Halo 2. But then again there are people who think the world is flat and Playstation 2's are good.

Halo 3 will be excellent, there is no doubt about it. I just hope Bungie are able to fix the bugs before they release it. I only ever play Halo 2 online. Anyone who has had it from the beginning will remember all the ups and downs the game had online. unbalanced weapons, cheaters, map glitches, cheaters, too few/ too many weapon spawns, cheaters, long lobby waits, cheaters, few fun game types and cheaters. Patches or no patches these things should have been sorted out before release.

The magnum was a big issue in the second game and when the patch for weapon balance was released last year the magnum became an obsolete weapon. I felt the reduction in power of the magnum was a mistake and led to issues with too few people becoming too powerful once they picked up rocket launcher, sniper rifle etc and everyone else being left with needler/magnum combo.

What is needed in Halo 3 is the ability to gather good weapons quickly so you dont have to travel the whole map only to find out the rockets have gone or the sniper rifle has been picked up and you have stepped into a sniper/rocket/noob combo trap.

Nothing is less inspiring than walking half the map with a submachine gun watching in the distance as the lucky few who spawned near the rockets/tank/sniper rifle/wraith battle it out and get gargantuan kill scores while you are left to wander in the empty abyss waiting to get picked off.

I will buy Halo 3 of course but i wonder how much of my hard drive will be taken up with online patches to fix problems that should have been foreseen. Come on Bungie; its not like you can't afford to iron this one out before hand. If you want one piece of advice here it is:

people (i almost said american teenagers...) will cheat at every opportunity!!!

Also, i dont want to have to pay for extra maps. If you give us the map editor then we can make our own and they will probably be better anyway.

w
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Release the Beast already!, 4 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Halo 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As one reviewer already said, I too only bought the xbox 360 for Halo 3. The previous two games are the most amazing I've played in a long time. The storylines are fantastic, the graphics blew my mind and the sheer joy of fighting off hordes of aliens was great.
As if the game wasn't good enough there's also the Multiplayer and Deathmatches. I spent an entire weekend playing Deathmatch with my mates and it's great. There are so many levels and tricks, leaving plenty of ways to win from gunning down the enemy players in a Ghost to leaping behind them and pistol whipping.
Set for release whenever Sony finally sets free the PS3, Halo 3 is definitely going to be the game to buy. Oh Sony, if only you knew what you were letting yourselves in for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I don't know what the fuss is about, 11 July 2010
By 
I. E. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is extremely overrated! The graphics are not that good and the gameplay is dull. Maybe it's because I'm not a huge fan of FPS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Milestones, 6 April 2006
By 
L. Fitchett (Dartford, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halo 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There are firsts for every thing
the day you crack that last level on mario
the day you get a one in a million head shot on Counter Strike
the day you Rule the map on Total War
All of these are firsts that you will never forget and Halo: Combat Evolved was one of them
Your on the Pillar of Autumn and the ship been assailed, you are awoken and shown how to do your thing, then you run into the action, but wait, that idiot didnt give you a gun, damn
you go-on with out one then you open a sealed door, revealing an 8ft elite he seems a little moody, your first thought, damn there must of been a gun back there or something, but as you prepare to die, two marines gun the elite down, running further you meet up with a lone marine and he leads you to Captian Keyes, whom gives you an ammoless pistol, this gets better and better
From the ofset the game opens new doors for a FPS, people helping you, advanced Ai, and larger enviroments, Halo was not so much a game as it was a statement, a statement which showed that the era of games was changing and changing for the better
Just Dave
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A crime to the Halo series, 21 Mar. 2009
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ever since Halo arrived on the Xbox I loved it. This however is a disgrace to the series and has ruined a great shooter. I bought my 360 mainly for this game and feel so cheated.

If you want a proper FPS/TPS get Gears of War (1 not 2)or Kill Zone 2 on the PS3 (which is superior currently to any recent FPS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unrealistic Rubbish, 29 Dec. 2007
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is the most boring and unentertaining game I have played before. Everything bout this game I did not like the gameplay was terrible the guns were terrible. If you are unsure about this game then don't get it it is far too overated. Magazines said 'best game on the Xbox 360 ever'. That is a lie if you want a game that is fun and is actually reasonably believable then buy Call of Duty 4. However if you like games with aliens invading and lazer guns then try it but it is the most unrealistic game ever the gameplay is terrible the only good part is the multiplayer yet any other games would be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Letdown, 2 Mar. 2009
By 
L. Simpson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I just wanted to say that i pretty much bought the xbox because of this game and it was a complete let down. The game is only sold because of the sucess of Halo 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Halo 3 Rip off, 30 Sept. 2007
By 
R. long "rmlong6" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
got to be honest this must the worst over rated game ever. They make you wait years for it, hype it up as the fantastic game it is supposed to be change release date to later in the year and then you find you can complete in a day and whats new in the game (nothing).
its never worth £40.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars halo 3 is fatally flawed, very dissapointed in the game., 8 Nov. 2007
By 
freakfunk (Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Halo 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Initially, halo 3 should be the best game on the 360, its the flagship for the console, should have best online, best graphics, best gameplay. I dont think it has any of these and even worse, less that standard.

The graphics are dissapointing...

The level maps are appalling.

You can't choose what map you want to play online? (this is basic stuff)

The backgrounds aren't destructable (shouldn't this be std on the flagship game)

For the record, i bought Call of Duty 4, and this is what halo 3 should have been, its pushed the boundries, halo i feel was a lazy attempt to please those who can't be impartial about the game, and this worries me, without criticism the won't raise their game and the next one will just be as bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo 3 (Xbox 360)
Halo 3 (Xbox 360) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
£12.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews