Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but identical to old xbox version
Far Cry I.P is a fantastic FPS with all the right combinations of tension, action and violence as well as a gripping and thorough storyline.

To begin with, the graphics. They are very slightly improved from the xbox version but are not very impressive for 360 graphics, especially when compared to something like Ghost Recon AW or Fight Night Round 3 but they'll...
Published on 14 Jun 2006 by B. Johnson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far Cry Predator - The Honest Review
Hi everyone my second honest review for you all
(after my gears of war 360 review) ok today i wanna tell you about Far Cry Predator for the 360 so lets get to it.

Far cry predator is another of Ubisofts FPS games based on survival in the jungle and as the name suggests instincts.

STORY:
If you have played the 2 add ons for the original xbox...
Published on 5 Feb 2008 by Jay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but identical to old xbox version, 14 Jun 2006
By 
B. Johnson "ben43101" (England, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts: Predator (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Far Cry I.P is a fantastic FPS with all the right combinations of tension, action and violence as well as a gripping and thorough storyline.

To begin with, the graphics. They are very slightly improved from the xbox version but are not very impressive for 360 graphics, especially when compared to something like Ghost Recon AW or Fight Night Round 3 but they'll do. Let's be honest graphics aren't everything. The water is especially good but the trees, bushes and general scenery is where the game's graphics are let down.

Secondly, the storyline. This is one of the better attributes of the game; it is gripping, enthralling and often utilizes the setting, weather and time of day to make it really atmospheric.

The basic story for the first game's missions (because it's 2 games in 1) is you are Jack Carver, a guy with a shady history who comes to the Jacutan Islands in Micronesia to escape his past. He buys a boat and uses it take tourists around the islands but one tourist is looking for more than just a picture and goes ashore. Your boat then gets blown up by hired militia and you have to escape onto the island. In your desperate search to find a way off the island you attract the attention of a disillusioned scientist and you become his test subject. The drug he gives you, gives you the powers of a predator and you must use these to find a way out.

The basic story for the second game's missions basically follows on from this and you are framed for something you didn't do, which annoys a few unfriendly pirates. Don't be fooled though - they don't all carry swords and parrots!! These pirates carry big guns. But beware, there is more to this than first appears.

Next, the gameplay. This is another big plus-point for the game. It's fun, action-packed and moves smoothly. You can also choose how to go through the game; blast your way through it, sneak through stealthily or have a combination of both.

Next, the sound. Nothing special about this unless you're playing with surround sound and even then it isn't jaw-dropping, but it's good enough. Bullets hitting trees, water, stone, earth etc sounds decent enough and the sound of the weapons firing is quite good too. The sounds of wildlife and your surroundings though are outstanding.

Next, the multiplayer and map-maker. The map-maker is a brilliant feature. You can create your own maps from scatch using different themes and scenery. It is probably the easiest map-maker ever and boasts a lot of detail. You can then play on these maps with your mate on multiplayer or submit the map to xbox live and let everyone experience your genius!

Lastly, the lifespan. This is perhaps the game's biggest attribute. Because this is the 2 games from the original xbox (Far Cry Instincts & Far Cry Instincts: Evolution) combined, (both of which were long games in themselves) this becomes one of the longest games I have ever played on. You don't get bored either, due to the brilliant variety in gameplay which means that this game is unbelieveably good value for money.

The only reason that I gave this game 4 stars instead of 5, is that it does not give anything more than the original xbox versions, it does not have any extras for the 360 and the graphics are barely improved.

If you played the games on the normal xbox don't bother with this game, THEY ARE VIRTUALLY IDENTICAL! however if you didn't, and can appreciate a good game, then you would be mad not to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Far Cry Predator - The Honest Review, 5 Feb 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts: Predator (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Hi everyone my second honest review for you all
(after my gears of war 360 review) ok today i wanna tell you about Far Cry Predator for the 360 so lets get to it.

Far cry predator is another of Ubisofts FPS games based on survival in the jungle and as the name suggests instincts.

STORY:
If you have played the 2 add ons for the original xbox ( insticts and evolution) then you already know what this game is about as its the two combined. However for those who have'nt the story is about Jack Carver a mercenary/tour guide who is out with a client towards the start of the game on a famous island, Jack has been to this island in the past (
Far Cry PC). Whilst napping on his boat a group of enemy soldiers attack jacks ship and force him to defend himself, abit further into the game jack is captured and given an injection that makes him superhuman i wont go on because i dont want to spoil the plot.

GAMEPLAY:
Far cry predator is an FPS game set in a jungle environment you may be thinking ooo yay open terrain to hunt in unfortunatly no :( invisible walls and narrow maps are present here and can really be annoying.
Being a game based on survival Jack must set traps to get rid of his enemies and avoid detection as he attempts to escape the first half of the game can be very intense or very boring depending on your style of play. But when you get the animal/feral instincts you should be kept entertained for a while longer.

In all fairness due to the terrible AI and choppy graphics i did prefer the original two games on the original xbox as they are basiclly the same thing and abit easier and will be cheaper than paying full whack for this, but if you are new to the whole far cry scene or jsut want a 360 game for cheap then this is not a bad purchse i wouldnt pay over 15 for this though it can be a very boring game and isnt the best a 360 can do.
The AI and difficulty are the real low points of this game if an enemy see's you and you engage him in a fire fight he's most likely to gun you down first :\. One of the best features of this game has to be the map maker in which you can create your own jungle islands and use them in multiplayer with access to the many veichles the game has to offer.

GRAPHICS:
Ok now the graphics, they are only slightly improved no tweaked than the original xbox version but this doesnt mean they are bad, they are average but eye pleasing unless you want the best out of a 360. Water effects are good in this game and improved over the original 2 versions and the character models have been smoothed out abit. The jungle looks impressive but the foilage looks very un detailed up close.

MULTIPLAYER:
This is no dout the BEST feature Far cry predator has to offer, the single player campaign is nothing special at all but being able to create and use your own maps and face opponents online is a deffinite plus.
The game modes are great here to with teams playing as humans and feral creatures each with their own abilities really adds to the fun factor and will add a few hours of fun and want you to come back for more.

OVERALL
id just like to say to finish up that Far cry predator is by no means bad it's average a good fps shooter but only rewarding if you have xbox live this is'nt to say the single player is terrible its just shallow and frustrating at times compared to other great games out there such as bioshcok. If you have played instincts and evolution on the original xbox then you wont want to buy this as it's the two combined. i would suggest renting this game before buying it as it only offers limited thrills and will only appeal to fans if your a pc gamer i reccomend the original Far Cry game as the AI and gameplay are incredible its just a shame this isnt as great as the original.

Thanks for reading hope this was helpful

by Jay *Sniper Wolf 1989*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite Poor, 3 April 2006
By 
Ben Stephenson (Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts: Predator (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've played the game and instantly, I disliked it. The movement isn't particularly fluid, graphics are not sharp (Microsoft do not use this as an advertisment for next-gen graphics), and the plot feels half-done and flaccid. The main problem stems from the aiming, I wasn't actually aiming at one of the enemies, pulled the trigger and he went down like the proverbial sack of. The AI also seems pretty poor, you can walk up quite close behind the enemy without them being aware of you. I don't think I am being too harsh, as has been proven by other games on the 360, there is so much more that can be done. It feels like a simple Xbox port. I don't recommend Far Cry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In parts can be the most fun xbox game I've played, 26 Jun 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts: Predator (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Now, I had the Original Far Cry for the PC and that game was fantastic. Great gameplay, gorgeous environments and a large sense of freedom. First Person Shooters had always been about dark and gloomy factory corridors and other boring environments. It gave you fun gameplay in an environment that you'd naturally want to explore and play in regardless.

Skip to Far Cry Instincts: Predator. A port from the Original xbox game, as it failed to meet the backwards compatibility list. Taking the Far Cry core mechanics and adding a bunch of feral powers such as Extreme running, tracking by smell and a lethal claw attack. These additions can be huge amounts of fun both on/offline. The game includes the original Instincts storyline and adds a second story mode called evolution. This extends the life of the game and gives you quite a lot for your money.

The Online mode is pretty fun. Predator mode, where one person is a feral beast with all the powers against a group of helpless mercenaries. Included with depth map editor that can be a lot of fun to use online, aswell as the actual building.

To sum it up..

I loved the original Far Cry. This game doesn't quite feel like the original, it loses something in the process. BUT it adds so much more and can be great fun just like the original. If you had the original xbox game, there isn't enough here to have paid the full release price, but for a cheaper price is worth checking out. Are you a fan of FPS games? If so you owe it to yourself to play this game. It's been a highly underrated xbox 360 title and I would advise anyone to make their own decision about it, rather than accepting some of the dire reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars give it a chance...., 8 May 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts: Predator (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I purchased this game having never played the original game on the xbox and so was eager try was named 'the defining game of the last generation'. I have to say that I was pleased with the quality the game had to offer; the single player, whilst lengthy and potentailly bordering on tedious, does has have a truly compelling storyline that engages you with the hero. The multiplayer is equally fun to play, although it can suffer from some lag, but I enjoyed this just as much as perfect dark and would definately recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but no cigar - Water looks good though!, 6 April 2006
By 
Mr. I. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts: Predator (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought this game on release, and i have to say its actually quite good. I was put off the original Xbox version due to slow down and some poor graphics compared to the PC game out late 2003/04. So what's the 360 version like, well to be fair its not that much of an improvement and in my opinion still isn't as much of a looker as the PC game. But on the good side graphically some of the textures have had an increase in detail but only some; you'll still find some old Xbox graphics thrown in between the bushes and in 1080i resolution (which does make an improvement i have to say) and this does make you feel its an EA style re-release with a slight increase in draw distance and gun models and a HD sticker on it. The mercenaries models are lacking all the texture shading and generally graphics that the original game made itself on, if you own a 360 you will probably played either quake 4, call of duty 2 or PDZ and will notice the game characters have a good level of detail on them, sadly this is all missing in this game with the mercs looking just as they did on the Xbox. Still the game itself is quite a lot of fun, you start off as a normal jack carver killing mercs not to dissimilar to the original PC game, but you get captured and get some funky stuff injected into your body, now here the game really starts. As the game progresses your body adapts with the environment and gives you new abilities such as powerful hand to hand attacks with instant kills, night vision, sent vision, speed and super jumps all add to make this game incredibly fun and hectic at times. I would recommend this game to those that either hasn't played the original (PC & Xbox versions) and isn't really expecting a full "next-gen" effort on this game.
Good game but just doesn't look special any more. If it had more time and bit more effort into the graphics and it would have been in a different league of its own instead of "okay'ish Xbox rehash games" ala THAW, Gun, Burnout and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a JUNGLE out there!!!, 3 April 2006
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts: Predator (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is everything the previews have promised.
Two words: TOTALLY REALISTIC.
I've played the original PC FarCry to death(Pun ALERT!). But the previews I've seen for FCIP are the reason I've purchased the XBOX360. At last! console gaming is better than the PC.
The graphics are excellent, better than the PC (even when set on Ultra High.) The realism of the enviroment is totally accurate: shadows, lighting effects, water surfaces, it's all good, in fact there will be times you have to remind yourself this isn't a film.
Controls are intuitive, and easy to master. (A LOT easier than the PC keyboard/mouse arrangement).
The gameplay itself is HUGE, not totally free-roam, but there are loads of ways to approach each merc', each camp, each area. (No Spoilers in this review!)
The weapons' and vehicles' capabilities are much more realistic than on the PC game.
E.G.: PC; the sniper rifle gives scope magnification up to 18x which increases again when you hold your breath, so a 1000m headshot is easily achieved.
Xbox360; the scope has 2 settings: 3x and 7X , when you hold your breath all that happens is the rifle stays still. Perfect! Much more realistic.
This makes for more strategy, which gets you more involved in the game than normal "shooters".
If sniping and stealth are your thing, then real fieldcraft can be used to full advantage.
Or, if you like to frag the jungle to pieces and take every one out with as much mayhem as possible then you can but don't expect the enemy to sit still and take it!
The AI is just as canny as before which of course is the trademark of FarCry. These guys WILL send for reinforcements, they WILL work together and they WILL beat you if you think you can stand there with a heavy MG and mow them down: think again!
The jungle is as lush as before, the water is unbelievably realistic, and this time salt water really does get in your eyes, so as you come out the water 100% vision takes a couple of seconds to return.
AS I've said, FarCry Instincts Predator for the XBOX360 is the reason I've decided to switch from PC to console, and I'm glad I did. Ubisoft have done a great job in stepping up to the Next Gen level.
Purchased at 11.00 am on Fri, Amazon delivered it Sat morn', great service again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Worthwhile Purchase, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts: Predator (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I owned this game about 4 years ago and I absolutely loved it. I can't remember why now, but I sold it year or so later. I regret selling it, but I'm glad I had the opportunity to buy it again.

Far Cry was always a great series. It's the kind of first-person shooter you just don't see around anymore. A solid campaign and really fun split-screen multiplayer, even more enjoyable when playing online. The level design in campaign is superb. It's not an open world game, but it certainly feels that way. You never really feel confined or limited as you make your way through a level. There's plenty of opportunity for stealth, while also catering to those who rather go in all guns blazing.

The multiplayer is incredibly fun. I much prefer this system of multiplayer - no classes or preset loadouts. Everyone starts the same and must use the guns available on-map instead. Vehicles in mutliplayer makes for a far more entertaining experience too. And with a creative community utilizing Ubisoft's powerful map-maker, there are plenty of maps to keep you occupied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 22 Aug 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts: Predator (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having played farcry 2 before buying instincts predator I went into the game expecting a lot.
Having completed both stories and played a fair amount of online I have to say that this is a great game. I was somewhat disappointed by the lack of free roam compared to 2, however it still does have very large detailed levels which you will enjoy travelling. The gameplay is smooth and enjoyable with only a few minor oversights and the combat is visceral and extremely enjoyable, however it can be quite tough in places especially to new gamers. Compared to current games the graphics are not mind blowing, but are extremely pretty and can't really be faulted. The map maker is not as simple as in farcry 2, but compared to the very few other map makers I've come across is very simple and can be used to make great and very creative maps to battle on. Finally the multiplayer is very enjoyable and a good mix of fast paced fun and challenging combat, however finding a game is a matter of luck and doesn't seem to happen often, my advice is to play split-screen if you want to play with others. This is a great and very enjoyable game with a few minor kinks but definitely a must have to fans of shooters and/or the farcry series. I hope this helps someone considering buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What life was like before online gaming!!, 19 Sep 2010
By 
N Thompson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Cry Instincts: Predator (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a game with many faults. The aiming system is way off, the vehicle controls are generally pretty poor, and the controls are clumsy. So you could be forgiven for wondering why such a poor looking game that was originally released on X-Box is now getting re-released on a next generation console. Interestingly, the first few levels are difficult to the point of off-putting, but once you unlock the feral ability to re-heal things become a lot more bearable. Its then that the fun begins, and all the frustrations forgotten, as you become immersed into the gameplay. Both campaigns are generously long too, of course the game stemming from the days when games didn't rely on online modes for longevity, so those looking for a good old fashioned lengthy shooter are going to enjoy the experience providing they are willing to overlook the shortcomings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far Cry Instincts: Predator (Xbox 360)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews