Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Willie get away? (Or Willie not!) - with apologies to the Beano.
I thought that I had seen most of Hitch's output, when Amazon directed me towards this neglected gem. I had never come across it, and drawn by the names 'Hitchcock' and 'Steinbeck' in a Masters of Cinema imprime, I figured what the hell and gave it the proverbial punt.
I am very glad that I did.
It's a wartime release, but like the excellent 'Life and Death of...
Published on 10 July 2012 by D. Parkin

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cant play it.
I sent it as cant play it . Not sure it was clear that it was region 1 when I ordered it. Sent it back as per instructions and said a replacement would be acceptable that I can play. So far I have not had a confirmation that it has been received or indeed if a replacement is on the way. About 3 weeks to a month since sending back. Not up to amazon return standards hence...
Published 14 months ago by R. J. Pallister


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Willie get away? (Or Willie not!) - with apologies to the Beano., 10 July 2012
By 
D. Parkin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought that I had seen most of Hitch's output, when Amazon directed me towards this neglected gem. I had never come across it, and drawn by the names 'Hitchcock' and 'Steinbeck' in a Masters of Cinema imprime, I figured what the hell and gave it the proverbial punt.
I am very glad that I did.
It's a wartime release, but like the excellent 'Life and Death of Colonel Blimp' (Powell and Pressburger), it does not fit the pattern of a standard flag waver. It would have been problematic at its release, not least in certain parts of America due to the sympathetic portrayal of the single black character in the boat. The characters are disparate and stereotypical, thrown together into the social melting pot of the boat by the 'master of suspense' himself (he still managed to make his customary appearance btw, although it is a little slimmed down even by his usual standards).
The performances are fine, helped by a spare Steinbeck style. Fans of Steinbeck will be rewarded in the way that the film deals with various themes that were of clear interest to the author elsewhere (small but dashed dreams, American treatment of the blacks pre-Civil Rights, etc.).
As noted by other reviewers, the film throws up some interesting moral questions, not least being what to do with a saved enemy sailor complicit in the sinking of your own boat, with its concommittent loss of life? The changing power dynamic in the lifeboat also makes for interesting viewing - you cannot help but wonder what you would have done in the same circumstances, which is a strength of the film.
I have now watched it a few times, and found it compelling each time, and repeat viewings are certainly rewarding.
The Blu-ray print is very good, with the audio as clean as you could expect. I have yet to see the two French wartime shorts included, so I cannot comment upon them, but I'm sure that they will shed further light on the evolving Hitchcock.
In sum, this represents a bit of a lost curio in the Hitchcock canon; it lacks the budget and production values of a 'Vertigo' or 'North by Northwest', but it more than stands on its own merits. Well worth a look (or three!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 96 minutes on a boat? Hitchcock gives his viewers sea sickness :), 5 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lifeboat by the master Alfred Hitchcock,

Which is probably one of Hitchcock's lesser known films, was made in 1944, and considering it's situated on a small boat throughout the 96 minutes of the Film quite a feat really keeping the viewers interested that long. A boat get's attacked by a German U-boat and lay shipwrecked, and they come across a German survivor and questions of morality come into play; should they feed him and treat him fairly as a POW or throw him off the boat? though good job it wasn't today he'd be beaten up mugged and thrown over.

The cast

Hume Cronyn as Stanley "Sparks" Garrett
Mary Anderson as Alice MacKenzie
Tallulah Bankhead as Constance "Connie" Porter
William Bendix as Gus Smith
Walter Slezak as Willi
John Hodiak as John Kovac
Henry Hull as Charles D. "Ritt" Rittenhouse
Heather Angel as Mrs. Higgins
Canada Lee as George "Joe" Spencer
William Yetter Jr. as German sailor
Hitchcock was even able to maintain his custom cameo this time appearing on a newspaper advert about weight loss, the film was generally well received but did come across some controversy showing the German as a likeable character which is true throughout the film, but Hitchcock does show that the German has something to hide and that he is not trust worthy but he does it subtly. And that works well. I mean come on if a German enemy soldier gets rescued by a bunch of Americans or English he's not exactly going to act all cliché villain. The film though is quite clichéd when it comes to the characters.

-The Blu Ray release-

well the dual edition steel book is very nice, which comes with a pretty informative 36 page booklet, special feature wise

New high-definition transfers of Hitchcock's little-seen French-language 1944 wartime films, Bon voyage (26 minutes) and Aventure malgache (31 minutes) officially licensed from the British Film Institute
Optional English subtitles on all three films
20-minute documentary on the making of Lifeboat
12-minute excerpt from the legendary 1962 audio interviews between Hitchcock and François Truffaut, discussing Lifeboat and the wartime shorts
PLUS: A 36-page booklet featuring archival imagery alongside new writing by critics Bill Krohn, Arthur Mas, and Martial Pisani
Though the picture itself won't exactly wow you, well it is from 1944 but the picture is probably the best this film will look and is not terrible, though the 4:3 screen why the two black bars at the side are very off putting.

but all in all a very good and worthy part to add to the collection .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ooh, moral posers as Hitchcock crafts experimental greatness., 8 Jun. 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A merchant ship is torpedoed and sunk by the Germans, leaving only a handful of survivors in the process. Finding a lifeboat to share, the survivors are thrown into conflict when one of the survivors turns out to be the captain of the U-boat that sunk their ship.

Lifeboat is a truly fine Alfred Hitchcock picture, it's a little undervalued, and most probably under seen due to not getting a worthy DVD transfer until the new millennium. Adapted from a John Steinbeck story, Lifeboat finds Hitchcock experimenting with a single set picture that is awash with propaganda and containing a cast that are across the bows, both endearing and totally interesting. Really tho, it's with the moral posers and quandary heart that Lifeboat becomes a great picture, different classes and oddly assorted persona's are forced to survive as one unit, but invariably a fly in the ointment could turn out to be a catalyst of sorts, not only for this group's possible survival, but in mental fortitude's and their respective capabilities under duress.

Very interesting film from the maestro director, with Tallulah Bankhead, Willian Bendix, John Hodiak and Walter Slezak turning in very enjoyable performances. Lifeboat is unusual in the sense of Hitchcock's other well known pictures, but it definitely finds him very much on form and very much laying down a marker for the genius that was to come. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tense and Unusual Hitch, 4 April 2006
By 
Poldy "Paul" (Darwen, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lifeboat [DVD] (DVD)
The first image is that of a ship sinking beneath the waves. Then, the camera shows us the flotsam and jetsam of the aftermath of the sinking. Gradually, into view comes a lifeboat carrying a glamorous, well-dressed woman. One by one, more survivors pull themselves aboard, until we have a small band of disparate people, including a member of the crew of the ship which sunk the vessel.
This, one of Hitch's most unusual films, was filmed in a watertank on the backlot at Paramount studios. The lead was the glamorous actress Talulah Bankhead, better known for her stage-work, in her only film for Hitch. The point of the film is to show how a heterogeneous band of strangers meld together, making and breaking alliances as the need arises, and finding the inner resources that reside within us all. Gradually, Ms Bankhead's character loses all that makes her what she was, until she is faced with her true self, learning about others on the way.
Rumour has it that Ms Bankhead wore no underwear when climbing into the tank; when this was brought to Hitch's attention, he said that he wasn't sure whether this was a matter for wardrobe, make-up, or hairdressing. Also, during the making of the film, Hitch went on a diet and lost 100 lbs.; when the miracle product shows up in the film, he was inundated with requests for the product.
The film is excellent, and really different from the mainstream, and the presentation of this two-disc set is really excellent. It comes in a nice-looking and solid metal case, and includes a leaflet giving background to the film. The extras include an hour-long talk with Hitch, which includes some truly fascinating snippets: what a change from modern interview technique! The interviewer, rather than fawning over the master, asks pertinent questions about his work and his modus operendi. The only downside is the truly tedious commentary from a Hitch expert - banal and repetitive and telling us nothing we didn't already know. This apart, however, the package is excellent and great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid, clever war time propaganda, written by Steinbeck and directed by Hitchcock - to discover absolutely!, 8 Oct. 2014
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lifeboat [DVD] (DVD)
This 1944 film is an interesting and unusual work of war time propaganda, but definitely better than most of such productions. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

Somewhere in the North Atlantic, during the World War II, an allied armed cargo ship and an U-Boat meet and fight - and they both go down. This fight is actualy NOT shown. The film begins after the fight is over and the whole action takes place on a lifeboat on which gathered the few survivors from the cargo ship - and the only survivor from the U-Boat, a certain Willy (Walter Slezak, an actor of Austrian origin).

This being a Hitchcock film, it was clear that it was going to be a good one - but it was made even better by the scenario written by John Steinbeck in person...

I will not say much more about the story, because you really deserve to discover it by yourself. I will also not say much about the characters, to avoid spoilers - let's just say that the people on the lifeboat, as they were gathered there by accident and pure luck, are a very diverse bunch.

Actors did very well, even if they are today almost all forgotten. Special mentions go to the most known of them, Tallulah Bankhead and William Bendix. She plays here Connie Porter, a very liberated, aging female journalist - he plays Gus Smith, a badly wounded sailor.

I cannot resist so I must repeat here something that I found in the trivias about this film. Tallulah Bankhead had to climb a ladder every day to reach the tank where the filming took place - and as she never wore underwear she regularly received an ovation from the film crew... When advised of this underwear situation, Alfred Hitchcock answered dryly "What do you want me to do? I don't even know if this is a matter for the costume department, makeup, or hairdressing."...)))

Even if all the scenes were filmed in a studio, Hitchcock insisted on realism and regularly sprayed all the cast with cold salt water (for some scenes it was mixed with black oil)... As result most of the cast went down with pneumonia before the filming was over - luckily, nobody died of it...

The realism of the film is also strengthened by the very useful reminder that, at least in the first three and a half years of the war, German U-Boats and surface raiders in the Atlantic were also efficiently assisted by supply ships, which could make cruises as long as a year, avoiding detection by allies...

I am going to end this review here to avoid any more spoilers, but I will just say this here - this is a Hitchcock film, so be ready for anything and everything. Me, I was surprised and shocked by the ending - so brace yourself...

This is a very good, unusual, original and surprising little known film. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dying together's even more personal than living together., 27 Oct. 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
What would you do if you were stuck in a lifeboat with a hodgepodge of people and limited supplies? Does this sound like one of those corporate games? Well watch this movie and see how close you come to this fascinating Hitchcock (John Steinbeck story adapted by Jo Swerling) tale. Shot in monochrome adds to the hopeless feel.

It is WWII and a ship is torpedoed and its lifeboats are shot at. Before they went down they dispatched the dastardly U-Boat.

Now an only remaining Lifeboat is being loaded one at a time with a self-centered female journalist (Tallulah Bankhead), a boisterous businessman (Henry Hull), the radio ship's operator, a timid nurse, a ship's steward, a wounded sailor (William Bendix), and an overbearing engineer. We do not stop here the next to be pulled aboard does not speak English (Walter Slezak.)

As with all mixed people movies we slowly earn about everyone's background and a few secrets. As they start picking on each other we see that the only stable person seems to be the U-Boat passenger they picked up. If it were not for him people would have dies and or got lost. Besides doing most of the thinking for them he also has to do most of the rowing.

So why is everyone so upset?
Will they make it on their limited supplies and against the unpredictable sea?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One lifeboat you'd go back to again and again., 25 April 2012
By 
R. Shore (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received my copy of the steelbook Lifeboat today. Amazon now send them in proper steelbook packaging to protect them. They even have a special box designed for that purpose. Picture, sound and packaging top notch. Euruka really are becoming the UK Criterion. You'll not be disappointed .
Please let them do Jurassic Park at some stage...

Roger Shore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anyone got a compass?, 28 Dec. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lifeboat [DVD] (DVD)
At the beginning we see a sinking ship and debris floating in the water before the camera settles on the lifeboat where the immaculate Connie (Tallulah Bankhead) is alone. The lifeboat soon fills up with characters, including Willy (Walter Slezak) the German captain of the submarine responsible for the sinking of the ship. The film follows the quest to safety in Bermuda. However, only Willy knows the way.....

The story provides suspense as we watch Willy gradually take over control of the lifeboat. He is assured and possesses all the necessary skills that are called upon including surgery, seamanship, strength and a peculiar navigational awareness.... Do we, the audience, trust him just as the other members in the lifeboat have to? He seems nice enough.

The cast are good with Tallulah Bankhead and Walter Slezak winning the acting honours. Hume Cronym as "Sparks" has a peculiar voice and John Hodiak as "Kovac" has an unfortunate array of teeth in his mouth - he reminded me of 'Bingo' from the "Banana Splits" whenever he smiled. It's quite off-putting.

It's an entertaining film, if a little long, but it's worth seeing again. I won't go into the finer details of German Expressionism versus Soviet Expressive Realism which Hitchcock manages to combine, but I will say that he makes his usual appearance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great BD copy of a great film., 12 May 2014
By 
M. Kenny (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always liked this film and the BD copy is great. Crisp clear picture and sound. Special effects (old school) look terrific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not typical Hitchcock, but it works., 8 Aug. 2012
By 
William C. Saul "Bill Saul" (Denver, CO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's definately not a typical Hitchcock film. It's more characters driven and even with the static location it works well. The blu-ray has a very good picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lifeboat [DVD]
Lifeboat [DVD] by Alfred Hitchcock (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: £7.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews