Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Before London Swung
This is a selection of Rank documentaries that were made to be shown at British cinemas before the main feature came on. Every Brit aged over 55 will recognise the stuff immediately. However, the title Swinging London is a con. Only one of the films is about London in the mid-sixties, and it's a collectors' gem, a Quant-um leap into that era. The rest are about London in...
Published on 15 May 2008 by mondial

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the films - one star for the duplications
These are all great five star films. For 'baby boomer' nostalgists, this whole series is just what the doctor ordered. Unfortunately, it contains duplications from another 'Look at Life' set. I first purchased 'Look at Life: Swinging London'. Inspired by this, I then bought 'Look at Life: Volume 5 Cultural heritage'. Imagine my surprise when I found that at least EIGHT of...
Published 12 months ago by Stephen Fox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Before London Swung, 15 May 2008
This review is from: Look At Life - Swinging London [DVD] (DVD)
This is a selection of Rank documentaries that were made to be shown at British cinemas before the main feature came on. Every Brit aged over 55 will recognise the stuff immediately. However, the title Swinging London is a con. Only one of the films is about London in the mid-sixties, and it's a collectors' gem, a Quant-um leap into that era. The rest are about London in the late 50s (including the coffee bar scene, another gem) and early 60s. Buy this to see Britain just before it swung and you'll be happy; buy it for Swinging London and you'll be sorely disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, 16 Oct 2007
This review is from: Look At Life - Swinging London [DVD] (DVD)
What a captivating collection of short films these are.
I don't think there is a dull one. almost like purchasing an album by your favourite band and enjoying all the tracks.
Interesting, enjoyable and thoroughly engrossing...more please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL!!, 13 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Look At Life - Swinging London [DVD] (DVD)
An absolute must for anyone who remembers the days before so-called 'Swinging London'. Superbly filmed, this really is a gem and the next best thing to one's own personal Tardis!

There's so much packed into these films that you'll want to watch them again and again - activity in the backgound is often as interesting as the main action.

A must for any contemporary historian - and how it all was before Kengestion Zones, red-braced City boys, Boris bikes and the like.

Thank you, Rank - more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for the films - one star for the duplications, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look At Life - Swinging London [DVD] (DVD)
These are all great five star films. For 'baby boomer' nostalgists, this whole series is just what the doctor ordered. Unfortunately, it contains duplications from another 'Look at Life' set. I first purchased 'Look at Life: Swinging London'. Inspired by this, I then bought 'Look at Life: Volume 5 Cultural heritage'. Imagine my surprise when I found that at least EIGHT of the films in 'Volume 5' also appear in 'Swinging London' (I stopped counting at eight). It's about time that consumer laws were changed to enforce producers to clearly label products like these, 'contains duplications from other works'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1960's documentary time capsule is a gem, 30 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look At Life - Swinging London [DVD] (DVD)
Look at Life' - Swingin' London is not a gritty critical appraisal of contemporary London in the late 1960's, but a glimpse of the capital at the height of its power as a worldwide cultural force. The fourteen short films are a thoroughly engaging view of the optimism for the future that characterised that decade. This is epitomised in the film, 'Rising to High Office' which depicts a new corporate high-rise HQ which seems to offer it's employees a Utopian working environment where they can take advantage of free food, sports activities and even hairdressing all under the same roof.

Shopping by the ton looks at the old Covent Garden market before it was colonised by chic shops and street performers and for those who are interested in meat, Smithfield Market and its cast of characters comes under the scrutiny of the Rank Organisation cameras.

Anyone who wants to understand what makes the 1960's so different from 2010 should view 'In Gear' about the King's Road and Carnaby Street and listen to the mocking tone of the commentary which is both condescending to young people yet cynical enough to recognise the economic value of the British fashion industry.

A word here about the quality of the the transition of the 35mm film to DVD which is superb in sharpness, contrast, clarity and colour, nouns which coincidentally can equally be applied to the world of 1960's Swingin' London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Look at London in the the late 60's, 17 Sep 2007
This review is from: Look At Life - Swinging London [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic DVD compiled of fourteen of the Rank film organization's "Look at Life" feature-et films that were shown in the cinema in-between and before the main feature film, all the films are about ten minuets long and are filmed no later (I'd say) than 1969, a fantastic look at London in the late 60's, recommended by Danny Baker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic footage, 23 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look At Life - Swinging London [DVD] (DVD)
This has got to be my best DVD of the year 2008. I found this by accident and thought it looked interesting so I bought it. The picture and sound are absolutely astounding! The colour footage of Piccadily Circus is breathtaking and that goes for every short film in this compilation. If you're a classic car fan you will surely not be disappointed in this DVD as there is an abundance of old vehicles both cars and commercials to be seen. Morris LD vans as used by the post office were always my favourite and there's plenty to be seen in the vintage street scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant snapshot of the sixties !, 26 Nov 2009
By 
Natalie Morgan (Addlestone, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Look At Life - Swinging London [DVD] (DVD)
This is great......several short films covering 60s life,plus two extra short films.
My favourite is the one about Shellmex House in London and all the perks the staff get....excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good - but many of the films are duplicated elsewhere., 2 May 2013
By 
Mr. R. Webb (Sheffield, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Look At Life - Swinging London [DVD] (DVD)
The Look at Life series is excellent and I enjoyed these films even though I didn't think I'd find them particularly interesting. However, if you're thinking of collecting the whole series then don't buy this DVD because many of the films are included on the Volume 5 - Cultural Heritage set issued by Network. This DVD is from a different producer and not part of that series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes you back to the 60's, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Look At Life - Swinging London [DVD] (DVD)
What a great collection of shorts. I remember seeing these at the Odeon in Southend in my youth. Each one is a little gem. A slice of the London that used to be. I will be buying the others in the collection. If you are an old cinema fan try the Scales Of Justice set ther also great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Look At Life - Swinging London [DVD]
Look At Life - Swinging London [DVD] by Look at Life (DVD - 2010)
£7.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews