Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood favourite returns in colour
To see my favourite film from my childhood in full colour is amazing. The original black and white version was very indistinct, being set mainly in the dark corridors of Rugby. Although the characters do suffer from green lips on occasion, the whole experience is much less dated.

If you love the book, I would recommend this film wholeheartedly as the version...
Published on 9 Oct 2007 by Louise Treleaven

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Colourized doesn't always mean an improvement in video quality.
I was initially very excited to receive this colourized version of Tom Brown's Schooldays. I was totally unprepared for the dreadful transfer. The video on this DVD looked like it had been taken directly from the VHS master. Verging on unwatchable on my widescreen LCD television. That being said, the colourization is really quite good, but the image is just too fuzzy...
Published 21 months ago by Vic M.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, 27 July 2013
By 
Marc Fleury (Cuenca Ecuador) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
No problem its an old movie but we liked it, sorry but do not know what else to say, OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Brown's Schooldays, 6 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
Remembered this film from years ago so we were delighted to get to see it again. The author lived near to my childhood home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tom browns school days, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
one of the old classics a must see film.a timeless piece of nostalgia and reminder of what life was like in public shools then.prompt delivery service.good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars coloured views, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen both the black and white version on VHS and the colourised version on DVD I can honestly say that the colourised version is not a patch on the original. Why spoil the contrast ? Would anyone want to watch a colourised Fred Astaire movie from RKO. One only has to look at colourised versions of Scrooge and Yankie Doodle Dandy to see what a disaster movie really looks like. For whom are these colourised versions intended ? Certainly not for the film buff. John Howard Davies, who died only recently, makes an appealing victim, while Robert Newton, who had great problems, not only with alcohol, but with shaking off the image of Long John Silver, is moodily magnificent as Thomas Arnold, headmaster of Rugby. Public school films are all about victims, whether they are teachers or pupils. Someone always gets a raw deal. For a good public school film watch 'The Browning Version' or 'Goodbye, Mr Chips'. For a bad one watch 'The Guinea Pig' where an adult Richard Attenborough gives a ludicrous interpretation as a 13-year old. Flashman would have got short shrift from him. But if you can get Tom Brown in black and white, then it's eminently watchable. Why, incidently, is the 'skinny-dipping' in the lake scene omitted from the coloured version ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming melodrama, 14 Jun 2011
By 
Nicholas Gill "Jazz Critic" (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
A seriously cracking yarn with a strong theme of fair play and the moral integrity of the under-dog verses the anarchic futility of the bully's oppression. In spite of this didactic view of the character-building process, the film is by no means psychologically naive, and we get a good insight into the creation of the heroic psyche and what insecurities cause people to become bullies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the Past, 22 Dec 2010
By 
D. Sivyer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this recall from my youth. The quality is scratchy due to the age of the TV series however its one of those nostalgic moments from yesteryear. Flashman is as nasty as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute classic, 6 Sep 2010
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best of all the film/TV versions of the story I've seen. Yes I would have preferred the non-colorised version, but no complaints here. Well worth buying!! 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
excellent film for the era, a must for the 50s film buff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 July 2014
By 
Maz (Romford UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent love this film. Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
Great transaction! Fast shipping, quality, great experience all round! Buy with confidence! Thanks so much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD]
Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] by Gordon Parry (DVD - 2006)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews