Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood favourite returns in colour
To see my favourite film from my childhood in full colour is amazing. The original black and white version was very indistinct, being set mainly in the dark corridors of Rugby. Although the characters do suffer from green lips on occasion, the whole experience is much less dated.

If you love the book, I would recommend this film wholeheartedly as the version...
Published on 9 Oct. 2007 by Louise Treleaven

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Colourized doesn't always mean an improvement in video quality.
I was initially very excited to receive this colourized version of Tom Brown's Schooldays. I was totally unprepared for the dreadful transfer. The video on this DVD looked like it had been taken directly from the VHS master. Verging on unwatchable on my widescreen LCD television. That being said, the colourization is really quite good, but the image is just too fuzzy...
Published on 5 Mar. 2013 by Vic M.

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the Past, 22 Dec. 2010
By 
D. Sivyer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this recall from my youth. The quality is scratchy due to the age of the TV series however its one of those nostalgic moments from yesteryear. Flashman is as nasty as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute classic, 6 Sept. 2010
By 
Aremess "AremessUK" (Littlehampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best of all the film/TV versions of the story I've seen. Yes I would have preferred the non-colorised version, but no complaints here. Well worth buying!! 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tom browns school days, 29 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
one of the old classics a must see film.a timeless piece of nostalgia and reminder of what life was like in public shools then.prompt delivery service.good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my school days in a aprovered school, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this actor although he died.But the movie reminded me of my school day 68 years ago 10 out of 10 for this movie
As I saw it that many years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing classic, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
timeless amazing classic, got this for my grandad for xmas, he loves the oldies an this alon with oliver twist is just up his street,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant stuff, although not quite as good as the ..., 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant stuff, although not quite as good as the previous version, but nevertheless worth a watch. Very good acting throughout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Brown's Schooldays, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
Remembered this film from years ago so we were delighted to get to see it again. The author lived near to my childhood home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, 27 July 2013
By 
Marc Fleury (Cuenca Ecuador) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
No problem its an old movie but we liked it, sorry but do not know what else to say, OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
Exactly what I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best oldies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD]
Tom Brown's Schooldays (1951) [DVD] by Gordon Parry (DVD - 2006)
£12.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Tom Brown's School Days [DVD] [1940]
Tom Brown's School Days [DVD] [1940] by Cedric Hardwicke (DVD - 2012)
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9)   
Buy new£4.74
In stock

Oliver Twist [DVD]
Oliver Twist [DVD] by John Howard Davies (DVD - 2008)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (65)   
Buy new£3.66
In stock

Tom Brown's Schooldays [1971] [DVD]
Tom Brown's Schooldays [1971] [DVD] by Iain Cuthbertson (DVD - 2005)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16)   
Buy new£79.98
In stock