Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach back then
Many likely purchasers of this set will still own a few of the sumptuously produced, heavy, Archiv mono LPs bought in the 1950s and 60s. They may also have bought the 1947 - 1967 Archiv / Walcha project celebration LP. I recall being mesmerised by the flowing inevitability of the Trio Sonatas (BWV 525 - 30) and haunted by the `Schubler' Chorale Preludes (BWV 645 - 50). I...
Published on 4 Nov. 2010 by Galtee More

versus
5 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars literally rubbish
this went straight in the garbage bin i wouldnt even give this to charity in case someone heard it! the sound ranges from that of a smoke alarm to well worn screeching car brakes but somehow more unpleasent, actually sonically painful. the shrill organ is on many records from classical to reggae to r&b soul etc why? just tone it down please chaps and avoid the top quarter...
Published on 30 Aug. 2009 by D. Howe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach back then, 4 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.S. Bach: Organ Works (Audio CD)
Many likely purchasers of this set will still own a few of the sumptuously produced, heavy, Archiv mono LPs bought in the 1950s and 60s. They may also have bought the 1947 - 1967 Archiv / Walcha project celebration LP. I recall being mesmerised by the flowing inevitability of the Trio Sonatas (BWV 525 - 30) and haunted by the `Schubler' Chorale Preludes (BWV 645 - 50). I only heard Walcha's Dminor Toccata and Fugue (BWV 565) when I got the 1967 re-issue and I recall being bowled over by the dash and energy of the playing of this blind man from the 1940s: mono or not it's been my benchmark recording ever since. When he remade the cycle in stereo Walcha was not as neat fingered and it's good to hear that he really could negotiate the `Wedge' fugue (BWV 548) in his earlier days.
Listening now on CD the limitations of the recording technology are more apparent than on vinyl - it's not historic tuning but tape flutter that occasionally afflicts the later (1952 / Cappel) recordings, and undoubtedly the pedals at Lubeck sometimes need more space than the engineers allow, but some of it stands up remarkably well. You hear a door open in the background at one point and the mystery clatters during Trio Sonata No.1 now prove to be Walcha's shoes on the organ pedals.
The Stellwagen organ at Lubeck has a piquant, reedy brightness which resonates into the spaces of the church and - even in mono - the effect is quite grand, for example in the Cmajor Prelude and Fugue BWV 547 and the conclusion of the Choralpartita BWV 768. While it may be a more evenly voiced instrument the sound of Schnitger organ in Cappel (originally built for a larger church) fills the (barrel vaulted) building too easily and overwhelms it in some of the big finishes.
In this set rather than being presented as recitals the pieces are grouped by category, so a listener playing through a whole disc will get maybe four or five Preludes and Fugues or twenty five Chorale Preludes in succession, possibly on the same organ. Eventually one may stop paying full attention which is a shame because the music making is too thoughtful and accomplished to be treated like this.
At super budget price one hardly expects documentation and there's at least one slip when the the `Schubler' Chorales are wrongly listed as having been played on the Cappel organ although the dates are those of the Lubeck sessions; but if you want an economical way of owning all these landmark recordings this is as good as it's likely to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Content Information, 23 July 2011
This review is from: J.S. Bach: Organ Works (Audio CD)
CD 1

Sechs Sonaten für 2 Manuale und Pedal (Triosonaten) / Six Sonatas for Two Keyboards and Pedal (Trio Sonatas)

Nr. 1 Es-Dur, BWV 525 / No. 1 in E flat major, BWV 525

1. I. (Ohne Satzbezeichnung / without movement heading) 3:04

2. II. Adagio 3:50

3. III. Allegro 4:01

Nr. 2 c-Moll, BWV 526 / No. 2 in C minor, BWV 526

4. I. Vivace 3:46

5. II. Largo 3:22

6. III. Allegro 4:40

Nr. 3 d-Moll, BWV 527 / No. 3 in D minor, BWV 527

7. I. Andante 4:35

8. II. Adagio e dolce 5:57

9. Vivace 4:07

Nr. 4 e-Moll, BWV 528 / No. 4 in E minor, BWV 528

10. I. Adagio. Vivace 2:42

11. II. Andante 4:58

12. III. Un poco allegro 2:52

Nr. 5 C-Dur, BWV 529 / No. 5 in C major, BWV 529

13. I. Allegro 4:59

14. II. Largo 5:51

15. III. Allegro 4:25

Nr. 6 G-Dur, BWV 530 / No. 6 in G major, BWV 530

16. I. Vivace 4:07

17. II. Lento 3:46

18. III. Allegro 3:52

Total Time: 75:02

Aufnahmen / recordings:

1947 (1. - 3., 16. - 18.)

1950 (4. - 6., 8. - 12.)

1952 (7., 13. - 15.)

Orgeln / organs:

Lübeck, St. Jakobi (1. - 3., 16.-18.)

Cappel, St. Peter & Paul (4. - 15.)

CD 2

1. Präludium und Fuge C-Dur, BWV 531 / Prelude and Fugue in C major, BWV 531 6:20

2. Präludium und Fuge D-Dur, BWV 532 / Prelude and Fugue in D major, BWV 532 10:29

3. Präludium und Fuge e-Moll, BWV 533 / Prelude and Fugue in E minor, BWV 533 4:33

4. Präludium und Fuge f-Moll, BWV 534 / Prelude and Fugue in F minor, BWV 534 9:30

5. Präludium und Fuge g-Moll, BWV 535 / Prelude and Fugue in G minor, BWV 535 7:35

6. Präludium und Fuge A-Dur, BWV 536 / Prelude and Fugue in A major, BWV 536 6:37

7. Präludium und Fuge G-Dur, BWV 541 / Prelude and Fugue in G major, BWV 541 8:06

8. Präludium und Fuge a-Moll, BWV 543 / Prelude and Fugue in A minor, BWV 543 11:17

Total Time: 64:30

Aufnahmen / recordings:

1950 (2. - 8.)

1952 (1.)

Orgel / organ:

Cappel, St. Peter & Paul

CD 3

1. Präludium und Fuge h-Moll, BWV 544 / Prelude and Fugue in B minor, BWV 544 13:45

2. Präludium und Fuge C-Dur, BWV 545 / Prelude and Fugue in C major, BWV 545 6:02

3. Präludium und Fuge c-Moll, BWV 546 / Prelude and Fugue in C minor, BWV 546 12:37

4. Präludium und Fuge C-Dur, BWV 547 / Prelude and Fugue in C major, BWV 547 10:15

5. Präludium und Fuge e-Moll, BWV 548 / Prelude and Fugue in E minor, BWV 548 14:23

6. Präludium und Fuge G-Dur, BWV 550 / Prelude and Fugue in G major, BWV 550 6:29

7. Präludium und Fuge a-Moll, BWV 551 / Prelude and Fugue in A minor, BWV 551 5:07

Total Time: 68:39

Aufnahmen / recordings:

1947 (4.)

1950 (2., 3., 5.)

1952 (1., 6., 7.)

Orgeln / organs:

Cappel, St. Peter & Paul (1. - 3., 5. - 7.)

Lübeck, St. Jakobi (4.)

CD 4

1. Toccata und Fuge "Dorisch", BWV 538 / Toccata and Fugue "Dorisch", BWV 538 12:53

2. Toccata und Fuge F-Dur, BWV 540 / Toccata and Fugue in F major, BWV 540 15:02

3. Toccata, Adagio und Fuge C-Dur, BWV 564 / Toccata, Adagio and Fugue in C major, BWV 564 15:02

4. Toccata und Fuge d-Moll, BWV 565 / Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565 9:16

5. Toccata und Fuge E-Dur, BWV 566 / Toccata and Fugue in E major, BWV 566 6:17

6. Passacaglia und Fuge c-Moll, BWV 582 / Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor, BWV 582 13:54

Total Time: 72:26

Aufnahmen / recordings:

1947 (3., 4.)

1950 (1., 2.)

1952 (5., 6.)

Orgeln / organs:

Cappel, St. Peter & Paul (1., 2., 5., 6.)

Lübeck, St. Jakobi (3., 4.)

CD 5

1. Fantasie und Fuge c-Moll, BWV 537 / Fantasia and Fugue in C minor, BWV 537 9:17

2. Fantasie und Fuge g-Moll, BWV 542 / Fantasia and Fugue in G minor, BWV 542 13:10

3. Fantasie c-Moll, BWV 562 / Fantasia in C minor, BWV 562 4:28

4. Fantasie G-Dur, BWV 572 / Fantasia in G major, BWV 572 8:40

5. Fuge g-Moll, BWV 578 / Fugue in G minor, BWV 578 4:23

6. Canzona d-Moll, BWV 588 / Canzona in D minor, BWV 588 5:58

7. Allabreve D-Dur, BWV 589 / Allabreve in D major, BWV 589 5:00

8. Pastorale F-Dur, BWV 590 / Pastorale in F major, BWV 590 9:48

Total Time: 60:46

Aufnahmen / recordings:

1950 (1., 3., 8.)

1952 (2., 4. - 7.)

Orgel / organ:

Cappel, St. Peter & Paul

CD 6

Orgelbüchlein, BWV 599-644 / Little Organ Book, BWV 599-644

1. Nun komm der Heiden Heiland, BWV 599 1:44

2. Gott, durch deine Güte (Gottes Sohn ist kommen), BWV 600 1:05

3. Herr Christ, der ein'ge Gottes-Sohn (Herr Gott, nun sei gepreiset), BWV 601 2:05

4. Lob sei dem allmächtigen Gott, BWV 602 0:53

5. Puer natus in Bethlehem, BWV 603 1:03

6. Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ, BWV 604 1:32

7. Der Tag, der ist so freudenreich, BWV 605 1:50

8. Vom Himmel hoch, da komm' ich her, BWV 606 0:41

9. Vom Himmel kam der Engel Schar, BWV 607 1:06

10. In dulci jubilo, BWV 608 1:39

11. Lobt Gott, ihr Christen, allzugleich, BWV 609 0:49

12. Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 610 2:53

13. Christum wir sollen loben schon, BWV 611 2:12

14. Wir Christenleut', BWV 612 1:29

15. Helft mir Gottes Güte preisen, BWV 613 1:08

16. Das alte Jahr vergangen ist, BWV 614 2:17

17. In dir ist Freude, BWV 615 2:50

18. Mit Fried' und Freud' fahr ich dahin, BWV 616 2:21

19. Herr Gott, nun schleuß den Himmel auf, BWV 617 2:30

20. O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig, BWV 618 3:48

21. Christe, du Lamm Gottes, BWV 619 1:33

22. Christus, der uns selig macht, BWV 620 2:29

23. Da Jesus an dem Kreuze stund, BWV 621 1:24

24. O Mensch, bewein'dein Sünde groß, BWV 622 4:30

25. Wir danken dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 623 1:22

26. Hilf Gott, daß mir's gelinge, BWV 624 1:33

27. Christ lag in Todesbanden, BWV 625 1:21

28. Jesus Christus, unser Heiland, BWV 626 0:59

29. Christ ist erstanden, BWV 627 4:52

30. Erstanden ist der heil'ge Geist, BWV 628 0:45

31. Erschienen ist der herrliche Tag, BWV 629 1:21

32. Heut' triumphieret Gottes Sohn, BWV 630 1:39

33. Komm, Gott Schöpfer, heiliger Geist, BWV 631 0:56

34. Herr Jesu Christ, dich zu uns wend, BWV 632 1:14

35. Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier, BWV 633 1:57

36. Dies sind die heil'gen zehn Gebot', BWV 634 1:31

37. Vater unser im Himmelreich, BWV 635 1:38

38. Durch Adams Fall ist ganz verderbt, BWV 636 2:28

Total Time: 69:37

Aufnahmen / recordings:

1950 (22., 34., 37.)

1952 (1. - 21., 23. - 33., 35., 36., 38.)

Orgel / organ:

Cappel, St. Peter & Paul (1. - 38.)

CD 7

Orgelbüchlein (Fortsetzung) / Little Organ Book contd.

1. Es ist das Heil uns kommen her, BWV 638 1:13

2. Ich ruf' zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 639 2:18

3. In dich hab' ich gehoffet, Herr, BWV 640 1:13

4. Wenn wir in höchsten Nöten sein, BWV 641 1:53

5. Wer nur den lieben Gott läßt walten, BWV 642 2:28

6. Alle Menschen müssen sterben, BWV 643 1:43

7. Ach wie nichtig, ach wie flüchtig, BWV 644 0:49

Sechs Choräle von verschiedener Art ("Schübler-Choräle"), BWV 645-650 / Six Chorales (Schübler Chorales), BWV 645-650

8. Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645 4:01

9. Wo soll ich fliehen hin (Auf meinen lieben Gott), BWV 646 2:00

10. Wer nur den lieben Gott läßt walten, BWV 647 3:11

11. Meine Seele erhebet den Herrn, BWV 648 1:50

12. Ach bleib bei uns, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV 649 2:51

13. Kommst du nun, Jesu, vom Himmel herunter, BWV 650 3:04

Achtzehn Choräle von verschiedener Art ("Leipziger Choräle"), BWV 651-668 / Eighteen Chorales (Leipzig Chorales), BWV 651-668

14. Fantasia super: Komm, Heiliger Geist, BWV 651 6:07

15. Komm, Heiliger Geist, BWV 652 7:20

16. An Wasserflüssen Babylon, BWV 653 5:20

17. Schmücke dich, o liebe Seele, BWV 654 7:40

18. Trio super: Herr Jesu Christ, dich zu uns wend, BWV 655 3:46

19. O Lamm Gottes, unschuldig, BWV 656 8:30

20. Nun danket alle Gott, BWV 657 4:46

Total Time: 72:11

Aufnahmen / recordings:

1947 (8. - 13.)

1950 (2., 3., 14., 18. - 20.)

1952 (1., 4. - 7., 15. - 17.)

Orgel / organ:

Cappel, St. Peter & Paul

CD 8

"Leipziger Choräle" (Fortsetzung) / Leipzig Chorales contd.

1. Von Gott will ich nicht lassen, BWV 658 3:08

2. Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 659 3:50

3. Trio super: Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 660 3:34

4. Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland, BWV 661 3:00

5. Allein Gott in der Höh' sei Ehr', BWV 662 5:59

6. Allein Gott in der Höh' sei Ehr', BWV 663 7:44

7. Trio super: Allein Gott in der Höh' sei Ehr', BWV 664 5:11

8. Jesus Christus, unser Heiland, BWV 665 5:21

9. Jesus Christus, unser Heiland, BWV 666 3:18

10. Komm, Gott Schöpfer, heiliger Geist, BWV 667 2:41

11. Vor deinen Thron tret' ich (Wenn wir in höchsten Nöten), BWV 668/668a 4:13

Dritter Teil der "Clavier-Übung" / Part III "Clavier-Übung" (Clavier Exercises)

12. Präludium Es-Dur, BWV 552 / Prelude in E flat major, BWV 552 8:59

Choralbearbeitungen (für große Orgel) / Chorale Arrangements (for Large Organ)

13. Kyrie, Gott Vater in Ewigkeit, BWV 669 3:26

14. Christe, aller Welt Trost, BWV 670 4:14

15. Kyrie, Gott heiliger Geist, BWV 671 4:33

16. Allein Gott in der Höh' sei Ehr', BWV 676 4:18

Total Time: 73:35

Aufnahmen / recordings:

1947 (12. - 16.)

1952 (1. - 11.)

Orgeln / organs:

Cappel, St. Peter & Paul (1. - 11.)

Lübeck, St. Jakobi (12. - 16.)

CD 9

Dritter Teil der "Clavier-Übung" (Fortsetzung) / Part III "Clavier-Übung" (Clavier Exercises) contd.

1. Dies sind die heil'gen zehn Gebot', BWV 678 4:43

2. Wir glauben all' an einen Gott, BWV 680 3:07

3. Vater unser im Himmelreich, BWV 682 6:57

4. Christ, unser Herr, zum Jordan kam, BWV 684 5:05

5. Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir, BWV 686 5:42

6. Jesus Christus, unser Heiland, BWV 688 3:57

Vier Duette (für Cembalo) / Four Duets (for Harpsichord)

7. Duett e-Moll, BWV 802 3:22

8. Duett F-Dur, BWV 803 4:20

9. Duett G-Dur, BWV 804 3:21

10. Duett a-Moll, BWV 805 3:14

Choralbearbeitungen (für kleine Orgel) / Chorale Arrangements (for Small Organ)

11. Kyrie, Gott Vater in Ewigkeit, BWV 672 1:39

12. Christe, aller Welt Trost, BWV 673 1:26

13. Kyrie, Gott heiliger Geist, BWV 674 1:34

14. Allein Gott in der Höh' sei Ehr', BWV 675 3:19

15. Fughetta super: Allein Gott in der Höh' sei Ehr', BWV 677 1:11

16. Fughetta super: Dies sind die heil'gen zehn Gebot', BWV 679 2:09

17. Fughetta super: Wir glauben all' an einen Gott, BWV 681 1:12

18. Vater unser im Himmelreich, BWV 683 1:31

19. Christ, unser Herr, zum Jordan kam, BWV 685 1:15

20. Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir, BWV 687 4:12

21. Fuga super: Jesus Christus, unser Heiland, BWV 689 3:59

22. Fuge Es-Fur, BWV 552 / Fugue in E flat major, BWV 552 7:12

Total Time: 74:37

Aufnahmen / recordings:

1947 (1. - 6., 22.)

1950 (11. - 21.)

1951 (7. - 10.)

Orgeln / organs:

Lübeck, St. Jakobi (1. - 6., 22.)

Cappel, St. Peter & Paul (11. - 21.)

Cembalo / Haprischord (Ammer), Hamburg (7. - 10.)

CD 10

1. Partite diverse sopra: Sei gegrüßet, Jesu gütig, BWV 768 21:42

2. Einige kanonische Veränderungen über das Weihnachtslied "Vom Himmel hoch, da komm' ich her", BWV 769 / Several Canonic Variations on the Christmas Carol "Vom Himmel hoch, da komm' ich her", BWV 769 11:06

Variatio 1: nel canone all'ottava

Variatio 2: alla modo, nel canone alla quinta

Variatio 3: Canone alla settima

Variatio 4: per augmentationem, nel canone all'ottava

Variatio 5: L'altra sorte del canone al rovescio (alla sesta, alla terza, alla seconda e alla nona)

3. An Wasserflüssen Babylon, BWV 653b 5:09

4. Fuga sopra: Vom Himmel hoch, da komm' ich her, BWV 700 2:20

5. Herzlich tut mich verlangen, BWV 727 2:21

6. Fuga sopra il Magnificat, BWV 733 4:24

7. Nun freut euch, lieben Christen g'mein, BWV 734 2:10

8. Valet will ich dir geben, BWV 736 3:41

Total Time: 52:57

Aufnahmen / recordings:

1947 (1.)

1950 (2. - 4., 6. - 8.)

1952 (5.)

Orgeln / organs:

Lübeck, St. Jakobi (1.)

Cappel, St. Peter & Paul (2. - 8.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WONDERFUL MEMORIAL TO WALCHA, 30 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.S. Bach: Organ Works (Audio CD)
I cannot agree with the previous reviewer. A wonderful set at a bargain price. Remastering is astonishing. Above all it shows Walcha as the great artist he was. I was moved and now want to hear his stereo set (which sells for a great deal more than the very modest cost of this mono set).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach by God himself, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.S. Bach: Organ Works (Audio CD)
I am no religious person, but in encounters with nature and great music I feel as if I had some kind of religious experiences. Listening to Walcha's survey of Bach is a homecoming to me as I learnt to dwell in music as teenager listening to Bach. Those distant memories of those days in Kannelmäki when I was around 16 or 17 when I dwelled not only in Bach but also in my math homework and was hopelessly in love with one girl or another. Now I can appreciate that that period of my live with such agonising state of mind of a growing wannabe-intellectual, spirited young man was in fact so happy that it is worth idolising.

Oh, where were I? My relationship with Bach organ music has been somewhat off for 25 years, but now Walcha had returned me to the fundamental truth. Only now I can appreciate why the Preludes and Fugues are often considered his prime achievement with the organ; here and elsewhere, Bach's music is never robbed off its continuity. Every single peace forms a perfectly rounded universe by itself. This is the ultimate human achievement in music and so real that I almost cried from the outset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Budget Survey, 30 May 2011
By 
Robert Brook (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.S. Bach: Organ Works (Audio CD)
This set is a real hidden gem compared to Walcha's later Bach set on DG Archiv.

The eat may take some getting used to the dry sound, often in mono, but don't stop listening. Many have argued that this is Bach played the way Bach may have played it. Take for instance the curious yet sparkling registration is the 'Great' A Minor Prelude and Fugue (BWV 543) or the fantastic build up in the Fugue of the B Minor (BWV 544).

Although incomplete, this survey is a great introduction to Bach's organ music or a useful pedagogical tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars helmut walcha plays bach, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.S. Bach: Organ Works (Audio CD)
Picked up this 10 CD set for less than £8 on Amazon. I've read comments on the sound of the organs used but despite the Cds being in early mono I have no problem in getting a realistic sound picture on my Stereo. I am no expect in Bach organ interpretations but consider that some of the popular pieces which I have been able to compare, the G minor fantasia and Fugue, the famous tocatta and fugue used in fantasia, and the C Minor Passaccaglia and Fugue do not seem to lack impact. Whilst it is a fair argument to say that bach, had he been resurrected in the twenty first century, would have utilised everything that modern instruments could offer and would not limit himself to what was available when he actually lived, there is no harm in listening to authenticity occasionally. And I speak as one who prefers oistrakh and menuhin in Bach to Standage.

So I suggest that this set is a great way of getting to know some wonderful music at a giveaway price. Pity about the absence of notes, and also the Concerto Transcriptions, but it is unfair to cavil at the price. Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.S. Bach: Organ Works (Audio CD)
I knew very little of Bach's organ music before I bought this - the D minor Toccata and Fugue, the great C minor Passacaglia and Fugue, and a few chorale preludes. On the whole, I found organ music a bit indigestible. But hearing Walcha play part of the Art of Fugue with a light, clear sound which really let the music speak, convinced me to buy this set. This is a feast of great music. I can't compare Walcha's interpretations with those of other organists, but for me, he has lit up a whole field of music which I'd never explored before. Of course, it doesn't include the Art of Fugue, which wasn't written expressly for the organ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars don't hesitate......, 12 Jan. 2011
This review is from: J.S. Bach: Organ Works (Audio CD)
After reading the (single) negative review of this set, I hesitated. However, on the basis of the many positive, reasoned reviews I bought the set and have now listened to most of it.

I grew up with Walcha playing Bach and this set takes me back with great pleasure. The clarity, pacing, phrasing, varied registrations, all shine through the old recording and the re-mastering is excellent. The age of the recording does not detract from the pleasure this playing offers.

At the ridiculously low price (I paid well under £1 per disc, delivered), it is a 'no-brainer' - don't hesitate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Value for money box-set, 28 April 2011
By 
K. K. Jakubczyk "Sofa King" (Subversive Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: J.S. Bach: Organ Works (Audio CD)
I've been after a copy of Walcha's Bach recordings since the late 90s but, as others have pointed out, the cost (of the stereo box-set) demands careful consideration...

Consequently, I was very pleased to receive this set as a Christmas present from my wife. Whilst the sound quality isn't the very best, the recordings are, in my humble opinion, still very good. Personally, I like to dip into sets like this at random - I've found these recordings highly enjoyable. If you like Bach's organ works this set provides good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was amazed to see some of the recordings were from 1947, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: J.S. Bach: Organ Works (Audio CD)
Bowled over by the sound and the interpretation. I was amazed to see some of the recordings were from 1947 . Not only just 2 years after the war ended but 2 years before LPs .Were these really recorded on 78s or were they recorded on very early tape and later released on LP? The results are so convincing I suppose I don't care but I am curious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

J.S. Bach: Organ Works
J.S. Bach: Organ Works by Helmut Walcha (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews