Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect series and about time too!
Finally, 6 months after the US release, Hart to Hart has made it over to its second home, the UK. The series itself is a rare thing. It has all the ingredients to make the perfect viewing: Beautiful people, romance (and they're married...to each other...shock horror!), glamourous locations, a dash of mystery and adventure and a sprinkling of comedy. No graphic violence,...
Published on 16 Feb 2006 by S. J. Mitchell

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hart to Hart complete season one
Suposed to be complete season 1 unfortunatelty it does Not include the pilot episode with how they met on it.
Published on 26 July 2011 by J. E. Snowball


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect series and about time too!, 16 Feb 2006
By 
S. J. Mitchell (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hart To Hart: The Complete First Season [1979] [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Finally, 6 months after the US release, Hart to Hart has made it over to its second home, the UK. The series itself is a rare thing. It has all the ingredients to make the perfect viewing: Beautiful people, romance (and they're married...to each other...shock horror!), glamourous locations, a dash of mystery and adventure and a sprinkling of comedy. No graphic violence, adultery, gratuitous sex or bad language.

The dvd itself is everything we would expect, although, after years of watching this series on dodgy vhs, I'd have been pleased with anything! It is beautifully packaged with an assortment of images and pleasantly pleasing menus.

The extras are worth the money alone. Included with the 23 episodes (including the extended pilot) is a half hour documentary 'The Hart of Season One'. It features interviews with RJ, Stefanie, Leonard Goldberg and Tom Mankiewicz as well as some out takes. All very interesting but the gem on this dvd is the commentary featured on the pilot episode. I am a great fan of commentaries but this one beats all.

The affection that RJ and Stefanie feel for the series and each other is obvious in every comment. Tom Mankiewicz (director and sometime writer) also adds his tuppenceworth, mostly about the girls but he does also have some very interesting background information on the show and the filming. There are some great stories involving Lionel Stander (Max) and his refusal to read the script, the Malibu fire that was burning on the first day of filming and lots of other treasures which I won't spoil for you.

I can't recommend this dvd enough and can only hope that series 2 (with more commentaries please!) will follow shortly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD specifications, 15 April 2008
This review is from: Hart To Hart: The Complete First Season [1979] [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The packaging says the DVD has English and German audio when in fact it has the same as the Region 1 release, namely English and French, same for subtitles. The packaging states that it has English, German, Greek, and Turkish subtitles but unfortunately only English and French. The current 86% off Amazon deal is the sweetest and you won't find this set cheaper, not even used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait!, 3 May 2006
This review is from: Hart To Hart: The Complete First Season [1979] [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you were a fan of Hart to Hart in the early 80's when it was weekend prime-time viewing in the UK (like I was!) re-live it now with this dvd set. The extra's alone are worth the money for any fan and it's nice to hear the banter between Stefanie and RJ during the commentary on the pilot.

Roll on season 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sit back and enjoy, 8 Feb 2008
By 
Bj Lucas "saculnamron" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hart To Hart: The Complete First Season [1979] [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I have great memories of watching Hart to Hart when it aired here in England. Thanks to this season 1 DVD set, you can enjoy the magic all over again. The 2 hour pilot episode is especially noteworthy. The Harts go under cover on a health farm in hopes of discovering more about the death of a close friend. The rest ofthe season doesn't dissapoint, join the Harts as they try to help a little boy and his mother, fend off Soviet spies and and dastardly plans. Glamour, humour romance and high jinks all in one place. As ever, faithful servant and friend Max is at their side looking out for them along with cute dog, Freeway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hart To Hart: The Complete First Season [1979] [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I enjoyed watching it, it was good, but I was not bothered about watching it again.If you are a Hart to hart fan you probably would enjoy it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia! Great fun., 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hart To Hart: The Complete First Season [1979] [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Have really enjoyed seeing these again after so long. Its glamorous escapism, great settings with good story lines. Good fun plus action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, the gorgeous Stefanie Powers... and Jeremy Brett, 8 Dec 2012
This review is from: Hart To Hart: The Complete First Season [1979] [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I'm sure this used to be on television on Sunday afternoons, did it not? That's quite an obstacle for a show to overcome in the popularity stakes, to be forever associated with bath night and a last-minute stab at six lots of homework before being sent to bed before Esther Rantzen and the 'That's Life' team got cracking. But this show has enough going for it (Stefanie Powers, Stefanie Powers and... oh yes, Stefanie Powers) to be just about able to survive all that.

Now, I'm all for a spot of romance, don't get me wrong. I always walk on the outside of any lady and I would only ever break wind in front of one in the very direst of emergencies. And I can definitely appreciate the 'romance' of this programme. Jonathan Hart ('a self-made millionaire' - try saying THAT in any other voice than Lionel Stander's), together with his somewhat sinister cigar-chomping manservant, manage to ensnare the quite magnificent Stefanie Powers and convince her to abandon her hard-hitting journalistic career in order to join Jonathan in a matching 'His and Hers' bath robe set. So far, so normal. Right?

The fact that Jonathan is devoid of either personality or facial expression and yet can still get Stefanie Powers to share an en-suite with him makes me hate him and his money even more. Then again (if I can manage to control myself for ten seconds - and it's lucky I'm not watching Stefanie Powers at this moment, or else even that would be about five seconds more than I could ever hope for), the show is supposed to be fantastical. It's supposed to be glamorous and it does achieve that. The theme tune alone is a piece of seventies' magnificence.

Series One is pretty standard in terms of plots and character relationships. One or both of the Harts usually end up in a Situation Of Extreme Peril from which they are dramatically rescued, whereupon they fall into each other's arms and go in search of those matching 'His and Hers' bath robes. I must give a special mention to the episode entitled 'Death In The Slow Lane' though, since it features a lovely performance from the wonderful Jeremy Brett. Perhaps most famous for his portrayal of Sherlock Holmes in the eighties and early nineties, he also makes for a very good villain. This episode is partially set in London, although Hollywood achieves that effect not with some expensive overseas location shooting, but with a few bobbies on the beat and a routemaster tourist bus. Oh, and a black cab. Blimey, guv'nor - stone the crows.

The classic car chase, where neither vehicle seems capable of going at more than about four miles an hour, is a particular joy. As is the bit where Jonathan Hart ends up face down in the gravel. That'll teach him to steal Ms Powers from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is A hold up!! Yes it doe's, very well too!, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hart To Hart: The Complete First Season [1979] [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Brilliant!
I did not expect the level of quality of this show to be very high.

I was wrong!, a fabulous show, the picture clean up isnt so bad, mostly a remastered image and a few film issue's here an there.
I'm glad a program as this exists, its heartwarming, funny, serious when needed, acting standards of exceptionally high grade, and surprisingly great effects! The kitchen blow out scene being one.

Cute freeway.... He's A beautiful and smart dog, a real family show, a rarity, i am glad i got this, my hubsy digs it to and he had'nt seen it before.
A Perfect 10!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 13 Jan 2012
By 
Jaqueline R. Oliveira (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was looking for this DVD for so long and I find it here! Hart to Hart is one of the best TV Shows from the final 70's and early 80's! I recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hart to Hart, 17 Oct 2011
By 
Ms. D. Copley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hart To Hart: The Complete First Season [1979] [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Excellent quality DVD - was unsure whether it would look ok due to the age of the programme, but definately worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5bf4ee8)

This product

Hart To Hart: The Complete First Season [1979] [DVD] [2006]
Used & New from: 13.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews