Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British Comedy
What an excellent film! I have just watched it and i laughed through most of it- it really epitomised subtle, British comedy. The cast are excellent, Rowan Atkinson shows his talent as a serious actor and Dame Maggie Smith is her usual resplendent self (I'm not sure there are any actors in the new generation who will ever come close to the calibre of her or Judi). I...
Published on 3 May 2006 by Minty

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but flawed
I tend to agree with those reviewers who say that this film ALMOST works. The black side of the humour is developed rather uneasily and leads to an ending which is meant to make you shiver and grin at the same time - but which actually makes you think "Hang on - they're soon going to realise that these people are missing and then everything will fall apart." (I won't...
Published on 24 Oct 2006 by Alan Sturgess


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British Comedy, 3 May 2006
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
What an excellent film! I have just watched it and i laughed through most of it- it really epitomised subtle, British comedy. The cast are excellent, Rowan Atkinson shows his talent as a serious actor and Dame Maggie Smith is her usual resplendent self (I'm not sure there are any actors in the new generation who will ever come close to the calibre of her or Judi). I recommend this film to those who like a bit of classic, dark commedy involving village curtain-twitching and making cups of tea. Actually, igore that, i challenge anyone not to enjoy this film. It's such an antidote to the tiresome american blockbusters featuring Tom Cruise and Will Smith saving the world from aliens (again) and I entirely enjoyed it. Even my grumpy better half who did'nt want to see it laughed his way through it. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British Comedy, 11 May 2006
By 
G. M. Petzl "Gaby" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this movie in the cinema and laughed all the way through it. It is one of the best movies I have seen this year. Rowan Atkinson and Maggie Smith are brilliant, as is Patrick Swayze, who plays the pervy Golf Instructor.

Rowan Atkinson plays a village priest, who is so busy dealing with his parishioners and his work that he does not realise his wife is feeling neglected and thinking of starting an affair with her golf instructor, his son is being bullied in school and is daughter is turning into a bit of a tart. In comes Maggie Smith as Grace, the families new housekeeper and as soon as she arrives, she starts fixing the families various problems in her own 'special' way.

A very good story line with a twist and a very funny ending.

A must see movie. You will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suberbly Dark, 27 Mar 2008
By 
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film a few days ago in Film Studies at college, and while I am used to the kind of "laugh-out-loud" comedy, I was chuckling all throughout this movie.

It is the perfect combination of brilliant actors (Rowan Atkinson, Kristen Scott-Thomas, Maggie Smith, Patrick Swayze), amazingly in-depth characters (the bumbling but good-natured vicar, the neglected wife, and, most importantly, the polite, loving housekeeper with a secret dark side and disturbing motives for making peace to the family), hilarious one-liners ("That's what my Doctor keeps telling me. It's the one thing we can never agree on", "Can I get you some?" and "That flower-arranging commitee will be the death of her") and just an overall funny, carefree but dark atmosphere throughout.

Undoubtably a must-have for any fans of dark comedy, or even just comedy in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP BRITISH COMEDY!, 3 April 2006
By 
Carine Michiels (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
I have enjoyed watching this hilarious movie. This really is a top British comedy. Rowan Atkinson, Kristin Scott Thomas and Patrick Swayze are at their best here, but the woman who really steals the show is Maggie Smith. The way she is dressed alone immediately put a smile on my face. The movie contains some great scenes and I can heartily recommend it to everyone who likes a good laugh. This is one movie that fans of British humour must have in their collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT WHAT I WAS EXPECTING., 6 Oct 2007
By 
L. Wilson (Natal South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
When I first heard about this film I was very dubious, Black Adder 1&2 were brilliant and Thin Blue Line extremely funny but Mr.Bean left me disappointed as did Black Adder 3. Other movies in the Rowen Atkinson stable such as Four Weddings and a Funeral and Jonnie English have proven to be talking points if nothing else.
Therefore, I was pleasantly surprised as this superbly clever and very, very funny film unfolded, Maggie Smith can do no wrong for me, she is one of the best actresses of the current era and is not afraid to take on any part.
I will not submit spoilers and so you will have to watch this one, it is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming - British Comedy at its best., 20 April 2007
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was a lovely film. The cast are outstanding and the setting in a picture book English village. It is relatively predictable but that did not spoil it for my peculiar sense of humour.

I thoroughly enjoyed it and would certainly watch it again.

Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping Mum DVD, 22 Dec 2009
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
If you like typically British comedy then this is it. Dry, witty and amusing this is simply brilliant. It's one of those comedy lines that you have to concentrate on if you haven't seen it before but, on repeated viewings there is always something new... a bit like a good book really. The DVD contains lots of special features as well... directors commentary, behind the scenes interviews and extra footage. All very informative.

A great cast includes Rowan Atkinson, Maggie Smith, Kristin Scott Thomas and unusually Patrick Swayze. I found Maggie Smith's performance as Mum simply delightful. Patrick Swayze takes on an unusual role but it works well.

The film contains some adult content and language but it's sensibly rated at 15.

Great British comedy at it's best with a clever plot.
All in all an excellent buy and great value with all the extras.

Paul, Derby, UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macabre Mary Poppins, 21 Nov 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
Walter Goodfellow (Rowan Atkinson), the vicar of a small village in England is too preoccupied and befuddled with his job to pay any attention to his wife (Kristin Scott Thomas), so she has an affair with her golf teacher (Patrick Swayze) while his kids are lost and in trouble. Then a new housekeeper (Maggie Smith) enters their lives and all their problems seem to disappear.

I didn't know what to expect from this movie and was puzzled in the beginning but ended up liking it. It's a dark comedy that's exceedingly dry and subtle, more sinister than comedic, and very British in tone. The cast, led by the marvelous Maggie Smith, is superb and they hold your interest even when the story is at times odd and confusing. The location photography is gorgeous. This is definitely not a laugh-out-loud comedy, but is ultimately sweet and clever. 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Hilarious!, 21 Feb 2006
By 
Jason Walters "Jas" (Somewhere, Someplace) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film at the cinema shortly after it was released. Despite being given some bad reviews in the magazines regarding the acting and plot I found it to be absolutely hilarious! If you have any older relatives I'm sure the character that Maggie Smith plays will remind you of them, especially if they're turning a bit senile! Despite having a daughter who changes her boyfriend more often than her underwear, a son who's being bullied at school and a wife who's having an affair, Walter Goodfellow seems to be the nicest, happiest chap you could ever meet. Maggie Smith plays the part of Grace absolutely perfectly and creates many comical scenes including answering a mobile phone and having an unexpected conversation. Through some very strange ways, Grace helps to help out and make them a family again and Walter discovers that all you need in your family, is a little Grace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept my Mum extremely amused!, 27 Jun 2006
By 
james-Arundel "james-arundel" (Arundel, West Sussex, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
It was a treat to have a film starring Dame Maggie released almost alongside one with Dame Judi (Mrs Henderson presents). Each in its own way was extremely funny and moving, Keeping Mum perhaps more slapstick at times, but equally showing the frailty of human emotion. It has been said that true comedy is very close to tragedy and vice versa, and this black comedy proves it once again. Only once before in my life have I seen my mother laugh so uncontrollably as she did after Dame Maggie's turn with the shovel (watch it and see!)

Maggie Smith is superb as the sublimely dotty and ruthless Grace, capturing a perfect balance between family feeling and family values. Gloria (Kristen Scott Thomas) is stuck in the rut of a marriage to Walter (Rowan Atkinson)that is not so much loveless, as lifeless, and embarks on an affair with sleazy golfing pro Lance (Patrick Swayze). Her daughter Holly has a similarly dubious taste in the opposite sex, while her son Petey is being bullied at school. Then Grace arrives, with her peculiarly uncompromising ways of dealing with problems, and the family fortunes begin to improve. Unfortunately Grace's methods are not strictly orthodox, and there are a few other hurdles to overcome before the final twist, proving the saying "like mother, like daughter".

Strangely, Keeping Mum shares similar themes to Nanny McPhee, Mary Poppins and even The Sound of Music, in the shape of a mysterious stranger arriving amid a family in disarray, turning things around, and when the time is right (with the exception of Maria von Trapp) knowing when it is time to leave again. Although it has to be said, Grace Hawkin's methods are more unconventional than Mary's, Nanny's or Maria's!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keeping Mum [DVD]
Keeping Mum [DVD] by Niall Johnson (DVD - 2006)
9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews