Customer Reviews


213 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British Comedy
I saw this movie in the cinema and laughed all the way through it. It is one of the best movies I have seen this year. Rowan Atkinson and Maggie Smith are brilliant, as is Patrick Swayze, who plays the pervy Golf Instructor.

Rowan Atkinson plays a village priest, who is so busy dealing with his parishioners and his work that he does not realise his wife is...
Published on 11 May 2006 by G. M. Petzl

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny but flawed
I tend to agree with those reviewers who say that this film ALMOST works. The black side of the humour is developed rather uneasily and leads to an ending which is meant to make you shiver and grin at the same time - but which actually makes you think "Hang on - they're soon going to realise that these people are missing and then everything will fall apart." (I won't...
Published on 24 Oct. 2006 by Alan Sturgess


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British Comedy, 11 May 2006
By 
G. M. Petzl "Gaby" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this movie in the cinema and laughed all the way through it. It is one of the best movies I have seen this year. Rowan Atkinson and Maggie Smith are brilliant, as is Patrick Swayze, who plays the pervy Golf Instructor.

Rowan Atkinson plays a village priest, who is so busy dealing with his parishioners and his work that he does not realise his wife is feeling neglected and thinking of starting an affair with her golf instructor, his son is being bullied in school and is daughter is turning into a bit of a tart. In comes Maggie Smith as Grace, the families new housekeeper and as soon as she arrives, she starts fixing the families various problems in her own 'special' way.

A very good story line with a twist and a very funny ending.

A must see movie. You will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British Comedy, 3 May 2006
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
What an excellent film! I have just watched it and i laughed through most of it- it really epitomised subtle, British comedy. The cast are excellent, Rowan Atkinson shows his talent as a serious actor and Dame Maggie Smith is her usual resplendent self (I'm not sure there are any actors in the new generation who will ever come close to the calibre of her or Judi). I recommend this film to those who like a bit of classic, dark commedy involving village curtain-twitching and making cups of tea. Actually, igore that, i challenge anyone not to enjoy this film. It's such an antidote to the tiresome american blockbusters featuring Tom Cruise and Will Smith saving the world from aliens (again) and I entirely enjoyed it. Even my grumpy better half who did'nt want to see it laughed his way through it. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macabre Mary Poppins, 21 Nov. 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
Walter Goodfellow (Rowan Atkinson), the vicar of a small village in England is too preoccupied and befuddled with his job to pay any attention to his wife (Kristin Scott Thomas), so she has an affair with her golf teacher (Patrick Swayze) while his kids are lost and in trouble. Then a new housekeeper (Maggie Smith) enters their lives and all their problems seem to disappear.

I didn't know what to expect from this movie and was puzzled in the beginning but ended up liking it. It's a dark comedy that's exceedingly dry and subtle, more sinister than comedic, and very British in tone. The cast, led by the marvelous Maggie Smith, is superb and they hold your interest even when the story is at times odd and confusing. The location photography is gorgeous. This is definitely not a laugh-out-loud comedy, but is ultimately sweet and clever. 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black Comedy Drama; One Step From Farce, 28 Dec. 2012
By 
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
There are four central characters to this film: the frustrated wife (with adolescent daughter), a sex crazed golf pro, mysterious house keeper and the vicar. put them together in a sleepy little village and the scene is set. The roles are played admirably by Rowan Atkinson, Kristin Scott Thomas, Maggie Smith and Patrick Swaze who each add their part to the free flow of the story as the plot unfolds. The film drifts between drama and comedy effortlessly and Maggie Smith is simply superb. I find it difficult to put this film into a clear category of its own and there are even times it verges on becoming a farce. This takes nothing away from the fact though that it is still a very enjoyable watch. It has a steady pace throughout and keeps its secrets as long as possible. It has a couple of small drawbacks however, that prevent it being 5 star entertainment. 1. Unless you own a wide widescreen TV, you can easily miss the text at the beginning that reads "43 years ago" as it is cropped and reads only "3 years ago". Knowing the time frame is highly important to grasp the hook of the film. 2. The conclusion at the end is quite short and purely visual, blink and you'll miss it. In spite of these two short comings it's still a very good film though and well worth a view. Rowan Atkinson is a natural in the role of vicar with troubled family, Kristin Scott Thomas quietly sizzles at times but for me, it's worth a watch just for the stunning Maggie Smith performance. Good value for money and definitely worthy of a place in my film collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP BRITISH COMEDY!, 3 April 2006
By 
Carine Michiels (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
I have enjoyed watching this hilarious movie. This really is a top British comedy. Rowan Atkinson, Kristin Scott Thomas and Patrick Swayze are at their best here, but the woman who really steals the show is Maggie Smith. The way she is dressed alone immediately put a smile on my face. The movie contains some great scenes and I can heartily recommend it to everyone who likes a good laugh. This is one movie that fans of British humour must have in their collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suberbly Dark, 27 Mar. 2008
By 
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film a few days ago in Film Studies at college, and while I am used to the kind of "laugh-out-loud" comedy, I was chuckling all throughout this movie.

It is the perfect combination of brilliant actors (Rowan Atkinson, Kristen Scott-Thomas, Maggie Smith, Patrick Swayze), amazingly in-depth characters (the bumbling but good-natured vicar, the neglected wife, and, most importantly, the polite, loving housekeeper with a secret dark side and disturbing motives for making peace to the family), hilarious one-liners ("That's what my Doctor keeps telling me. It's the one thing we can never agree on", "Can I get you some?" and "That flower-arranging commitee will be the death of her") and just an overall funny, carefree but dark atmosphere throughout.

Undoubtably a must-have for any fans of dark comedy, or even just comedy in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great cast, with plenty of laughs ensured!, 28 May 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
'Keeping Mum' is a very funny black comedy. I am not usually a great fan of Rowan Atkinson, but I have to say that the was excellent as the hard-working, well meaning Vicar, oblivious to his wife's infidelities. Not only that, but his daughter, who appears to be following in her mother's foot steps.

That wonderful veteran actress Dame Maggie Smith is perfect as the pivotal character of a house keeper in the shape of a sweet grey haired old lady, only for it to transpire that this frail looking figure has a most unusual (not to mention sinister) way of solving problems. I was also delighted to see comedy favourite Liz Smith pop up throughout the movie as a nagging congregant.

I thought that 'Keeping Mum' was beautifully written, and had such a unique plot that it remained fresh, witty and unpredictable from start to finish. Set in a quiet but beautiful suburban area, the viewer quickly finds out a lot about each character and one just can't help but love them.

'Keeping Mum' is one modern British comedy which kept me entertained throughout, which has been quite a rarity of late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Black Humour, 19 Jan. 2009
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very slick film with a great cast that ends up as a (very) dark version of `Mary Poppins' - Maggie Smith steals the show as the Housekeeper with a past who brings her own touch to family affairs and sort out the problems of those dear to her. Some very funny lines and wonderful subtle acting by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT WHAT I WAS EXPECTING., 6 Oct. 2007
By 
L. Wilson (Natal South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
When I first heard about this film I was very dubious, Black Adder 1&2 were brilliant and Thin Blue Line extremely funny but Mr.Bean left me disappointed as did Black Adder 3. Other movies in the Rowen Atkinson stable such as Four Weddings and a Funeral and Jonnie English have proven to be talking points if nothing else.
Therefore, I was pleasantly surprised as this superbly clever and very, very funny film unfolded, Maggie Smith can do no wrong for me, she is one of the best actresses of the current era and is not afraid to take on any part.
I will not submit spoilers and so you will have to watch this one, it is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic British Comedy, 2 Mar. 2014
By 
B. D. Compton "Gettysburg" (Johannesburg,South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeping Mum [DVD] (DVD)
What a wonderful surprise on DSTV Television in South Africa when quite unheralded they showed 'Keeping Mum' on their Action Channel and described it as a Horror story. Because i saw that Maggie Smith was in the film and thought i can't imagine her in a horror story, i decided i would watch it and how glad i am that i did.

This film is a little gem and don't know why i have not heard of it in the last nine years(It was made in 2005). I was hesitant about seeing Rowan Atkinson in a feature film but he is excellent as the vicar of the country village of 'Little Wallop', while his wife played by Kristin Scott Thomas ('The English Patient', a film that i did not appreciate) is equally as good, while Maggie Smith as the housekeeper!!!!! is her usual superb self. Patrick Swayze, as the golf instructor, in what must have been one of his last roles before he died of cancer(You can see he is not a well man) plays his role in the plot with aplomb. The rest of the supporting cast also perform really well.

The storyline (well documented) by Amazon and previous reviewers is really excellent, the photography, music where applicable and the whole production out of the top drawer. I wish they would make more comedies of this calibre such as 'Passed away' with Bob Hoskins, they help to make the world a brighter place in these difficult times.

Give yourself a treat and see this little British gem, you will not regret it and the ending of the film is so beautifully crafted. Well done to all those involved with this production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keeping Mum [DVD]
Keeping Mum [DVD] by Niall Johnson (DVD - 2006)
£4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews