Customer Reviews


279 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


101 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest review
Hype is hype, people get drawn in and then are dissapointed as soon as they play the game because it's not the "simply perfect" in every way game they were promised. Of course the game isn't perfect. But if you love GTA then there's no question you will love this game.

The positives?

Well the map is great. Graphics are fantastic, I did find the city...
Published on 4 May 2008 by Matt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for fans of San Andreas
Okay lets start with the posetives, some of the animations are improved from previous GTA games and we have a new storyline and characters. Rockstar have given everything that they promised but is that enough? no because so much is lost which was in San Andreas.
Firsty you earn money for doing jobs, however there is nothing but weapons to spend your cash on. This...
Published on 7 May 2008 by R. A. Kinsey


‹ Previous | 121 22 2328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overhyped, 17 May 2008
By 
NAR (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
If i had reviewed this game when i first got it, i would have probably given it 5 stars, but the appeal wears off quickly. The graphics are improved, yes, but thats about the main thing you notice thats different when playing. There are quite a few things new in this game, but there not good enough to have made this game as popular as it is. Yes this is not an awful game but its nothing special either, online is fairly fun nothing compared to COD4 though. You can do free roam online which in my opinion, is the best one, going around the whole of liberty city/new york with yours friends, definietly the most appealing to me!

The reason for the two stars is because its nothing new in my opinion, if your looking for some new GTA missions and some online fun then yeah get this, but don't expect anything more, except better graphics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DISAPOINTED!!!, 1 May 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
Resolution is quite bad! Not HD Quality!
Gameplay doesnt feel as good as GTA 3!
Driving cars has become mad hard. Fighting seems to have lost some of its edge also!?
GTA 3 was groundbreaking on a new console.
GTA 4 nothing great for new console, although there are a few nice touches to it, being a lifelong fan of GTA, I was quite disapointed with this version of the game.
How it got 10/10 for everything is beyond me????
Too much hype! Think I will stick with CoD 4 (Truly amazing gameplay)..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 30 April 2008
By 
Lee Dailly "heartsfanno1" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
This has to be the best GTA yet. I know some of you would disagree but i feel more in touch with the story and inviroment (sp) than san andreas and although the in car problems can be annoying at 1st if you've played GT5 prologue then its a hell of a lot faster than that piece of crap!

Go and but it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most overrated avergage game ever, 6 Dec 2009
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
Not being a fan of gta - i played san andreas on xbox and got fed up with the controls - the aiming in particular was really bad so i gave up. I thought i would give it another go with the fourth gta - and it is a improvement on the controls - not bad - got around 60% in, and then it just gets really really really dull - go here, talk to gangsta type (i began skipping the cutscenes as i got really bored with the tedious, non existent storyline) go drive across town (or get a taxi) and kill someone(s) repeat infinity+1 = who cares? this is up on fleabay as we speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a huge world and a lot of fun, 8 May 2009
By 
Metin Uyanusta (Turkey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
you have a huge world on ps3
guns, women, fun everything is included
if you don't play this game you must cry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars G.T.A.. Go Trade Away!!!!!, 30 May 2008
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
one of the most boring frustrating games i have ever played....
like thousonds of people i couldnt wait for this game to be released, so 6 years on it finally comes out and i buy it on day of release and whack it straight on my ps3... after about what felt like half hour of installing and loading i was finally ready to sit back and enjoy.....well... i sat back.. and .... well that was it.
incredibly dull graphics.. had to muck about for ages with the contrast and brightness just so i could see my character (in daylight) then i had to put up with the ridiculous handling of the car... (killed about 40 pedestrians in the space of 10 minutes) AND THEN... the sound fx... oh the sound fx.... i had to stop driving just so i could make out a word that was being said, and even then i had to put my ears right up to my 1200 watt surround system..... appaling. u might aswell just have the sound on mute and then just follow the green line to the destination.
cut scenes are tedious.. some of the longest ever, in which nothing even happens... yhen on you go for the mission,,, (what mission?) you drive somewhere do somethin and err thats it. and when your sick n tired of doin the missions u start lookin about for somethin else to do but u soon realise that theres jack all to do, no rampages no properties to buy just time wasting untill u can b bothered to do another 3 minute mission!! you can however take your girl on a date, erm how can i some this dodgy part of the game.. well dodgy i suppose, dont take her to play pool, you'l ened up playin that longer then the actual game, only bcoz u cant pot a flippin ball. dont go bowling its crud dont take her out for dinner as, as soon as u walk in U WALK STRAIGHT BACK OUT and r told to take her home. this games NO diffrent to any other GTA well apart from the fact that this ones crap! its a HUGE step back for me and i wouldnt reccomend it unless your easily pleased!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearance games, 30 April 2008
By 
J. Machen "arghazombiebitme" (lolszille) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
Don't buy from clearance games, it is a massive hassle, the games are apparently not the uk versions and may not work on the network, look at the clearance games gta forum for more info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandest Theft Auto?, 2 Jan 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
The hype for this game was immense, in the lead up to its release no other game was being talked about, every gaming mag had its own GTA4 feature and the gaming world was gripped.

Upon release it became the biggest selling videogame of all time, but was this rightly so? Or is there something not so Grand about this installment of the esteemed GTA series?

Well the simple answer is no. Other than a few little niggles the game is sensational.You play as an Eastern European immigrant called Niko Bellic, arriving on a boat in Liberty City, searching for the American dream and from there an epic adventure begins. The graphics are phenomenal, the gameplay enjoyable and refined, the soundtrack as good as ever and you constantly feel immersed in the sandbox environment in which the game is set.

It is apparent as soon as the game's first cutscene kicks off that this is a new breed of GTA. The graphics are definitely next gen. and brilliantly detailed. For a series that usually concentrates on scale over graphical excellence it's a huge achievement. The game is also more serious on the gameplay front. Cars handle realistically, movement is scarily human and the characters have a very movie-like feel about them this time round.

The controls have been overhauled too. With L2 aiming, R2 firing and R1 for taking cover behind things, it fixes the previous games' clumsy lock-on combat. Driving uses the typical next gen. racing game control setup. There has been some complaint about cars being too hard to drive but I think it's more of a case of the older GTA's vehicles being too easy to. Realism is the focus of all the gameplay aspects and with a little time and practice, they're all easy to get to grips with.

The attention to detail is astonishing. You feel as if you're in a living, breathing city when you play it and I found myself just driving round looking at everything in awe of what Rockstar have achieved. They've done something which few games have ever done; made people care. You'll care about the characters, the city and all. You'll want to finish the game just to play through it again and make different decisions during the morale choice moments, to see where the story goes.

Attention to detail is on another level here. There is a useable subway system, taxis, bars, clubs, fast food joints, flying rats to shoot, easter eggs to find it's simply astonishing. Dialogue is rarely repeated and the character's are all believable and brilliantly voiced.

It all adds up to one of the greatest gaming experience ever and although it may not be on the same scale as San Andreas it makes up for it in atmosphere and realism. Some of the silliness is missed, but this is still a roaringly fun game.

However the only blip on the game's flawless record is multiplayer. This should have been a must play online experience but unfortunately it just falls short. There are times when it's a joy, trying to do backflips off jumps on your faggio or as you cruise the streets with your mates in Infernuses is unmatchable by any other game out there. But, when you sit frustrated for ten minutes as you search for a server then find one only to get dumped back to the menu within seconds, cancels out all the fun you could be having. With a few patches this can be fixed but it still feels like a major let down from such a great game.

Overall, contrary to many people's beliefs this is not an overrated game. Believe the hype, GTA4 was worth the wait and is a must have and a shoe in for game of the year without a doubt. This is a 9.5 really but I don't do halves so as nothing can be perfect:

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GTA4 is the game GTA3 wants to be., 4 Jan 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm annoyed. Since May I've been playing this game. It's set in a huge, massively detailed city, full of characters, full of life. In the middle of the story is the most rounded and real character in video game history. A story that would put some Hollywood movies to shame. In gameplay terms there's nothing wrong with it, the targeting is tight and the driving is perfectly balanced. For a game of it's scale, the graphics are stunning, there is no pop up and the framerate is solid through out...even in the superb online mode.
Sounds great, what is this game...this game is Grand Theft Auto 4.

I'm annoyed because everyone except the people who've bought it, think it's a masterpiece. All I'm hearing is "You can't do what you can do in San Andreas!" or "After the story, there's nothing to do!". These are the same people who said 4 years ago "There's too much rubbish, in San Andreas". I ask you, how many of you have completed this game (or any of the others) 100%? Because I haven't and nor have most of the people who've bought it. There are a huge percentage of 360 owners slating this game, for not having anything to do, so you won't be buying the DLC then? This game is huge, even without the online.
Here's some news for people...San Andreas was (in many respects) an awful game, awful story, awful graphics, awful targeting and some awful moments of farce. But your nostalgia remembers this massive game where you flew around on jet packs and "Isn't it great to get lost in the million square miles of nothing?!". Getting fat is not what I want in a game.
The other thing I hear is "It's not as good as GTA3". So what in GTA3 can you do, that you can't do in GTA4? Is there "Most Wanted" or "Assassination" missions in GTA3? Can you fly, ride bikes, target, swim, can you see a car that's 100 yards up the road, can you watch a cop chase some random bloke down the street, can you turn a car over without it exploding, do the cars slowly burn from the engine block to the rims and then explode, making random people run around on fire, does it have the Euphoria Engine which makes every animation unique, is there auto save, can you play against 15 other players across the whole of Liberty City??? NO!!! Other than "Rampages" I'm struggling to find one thing that GTA3 has over GTA4...?

GTA4 is the game GTA3 wants to be.

Those who say that the game has nothing extra and it's not Next Gen, think of this. GTA2 had gangs and GTA3, a next gen game, did not. This is because when the next generation of console is released you get alot more video game newbies. So a video game series like GTA (that runs across generations) needs to be more of an introduction at the start of a new generation. So you can't be adding loads of stuff that could alienate and new fan base.

And as for it not being Next Gen...16 players fighting it out over the whole of Liberty City, that's just the very definition of Next Gen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the Best Game Ever, 8 Jun 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
I agree with many reviews that this game has been totally overhyped. Though personally believe I have had my money's worth and was really keen to finally complete a GTA to 100% - upon finding all i had left to do was kill LOADS of pigeons and some unique jumps I just gave up. None of my friends who have the game have even finished it. Nonetheless I think that it's worth buying - yes much is the same but that's what we love about GTA IV, there would be just as many complaints if this or that was removed. I liked the inclusion of the mobile phone, graphics are top notch, was glad that helicopters are still included, and think that the producers have done a great job with the city. It's a lot more lifelike and vibrant, from the joggers and people doing stretches in Middle Park to the tramps trudging about in the sprawling industrial estate on Alderney. It was little things like this rather than massive changes that impressed me. Can't comment on the online mode as I've not tried it, but I can see the arguments of getting bored. The story is a lot more serious but manages to be humurous still in some parts, hand-to-hand combat is awful, driving is a lot more realistic and the soundtrack isn't anywhere near as good or varied as San Andreas' or Vice City. That said, you will really enjoy this game and the 'choices' of which ending to have and suchlike allow for replayability. Don't believe the magazine reviews, this isn't the best game ever, but it is a very good one nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 121 22 2328 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3)
Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) by Rockstar (PlayStation 3)
£10.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews