Customer Reviews


262 Reviews
5 star:
 (137)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest review
Hype is hype, people get drawn in and then are dissapointed as soon as they play the game because it's not the "simply perfect" in every way game they were promised. Of course the game isn't perfect. But if you love GTA then there's no question you will love this game.

The positives?

Well the map is great. Graphics are fantastic, I did find the city...
Published on 4 May 2008 by Matt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing but gets boring
Its amazing game, very detailed, great graphics, great soundtrack (the music on the radio stations) and quite good storylines too.
But it does start to get boring after a while
Published 13 months ago by Oluwaseun Fadipe


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 111 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest review, 4 May 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
Hype is hype, people get drawn in and then are dissapointed as soon as they play the game because it's not the "simply perfect" in every way game they were promised. Of course the game isn't perfect. But if you love GTA then there's no question you will love this game.

The positives?

Well the map is great. Graphics are fantastic, I did find the city a little dark for me and my tv so I simply changed the in game brightness to a level my eyes liked.

If you have played GTA before you will know the mission layouts. Go somewhere and kill a guy or two. We all know that. But Rockstar have tweaked things a little this time. The missions can overlap, some take time to complete. In that time you can choose to go off and do a different mission. Also at times in the game you are given personal choices to make on who lives and who dies, sometimes that choice can be a pretty tough one too! There is also an alternate ending to this game, depending on what choice you make in the last mission.

The main thing I have enjoyed so far is the storyline itself. The common theme of GTA games is to start from the bottom and finish at the top. This is still the same but it's not so easy this time to get from one to the other. You will suffer setbacks along the way and at one point you are actually in a worse position than when you started. I liked that.

The social aspect of the game has been hugely improved. You can still take your girl out on a date like San Andreas. But this time round you can take your friends out. As you progress you pick up a fair few friends and taking them out for a drinking session or perhaps a game of darts can really benefit you. Get your friends to like you enough and you will unlock their special talent. One friend will sell you guns at cheap prices, another will provide you with a few goons for back up if you need it.

The mobile phone! I love this new way of connecting with the GTA world. You can do everything via your phone. Call your friends for nights out, call them for jobs, call them for guns or back up like I said above. You may also use the internet. You can apparently date girls off networking sites (haven't dabbled too much into the net myself). But I love the way I can prepare for a mission by calling my man Jacob up and requesting him to meet me somewhere so I can buy a collection of guns and grenades off him.

An if you haven't got a car to go meet Jacob with? hail down a taxi. This is actually something I find myself using alot more than I would have thought. They really are a great way of getting around. You can skip the taxi journey by pressing X. Also in the early days when your bank balance is not so large you can call your cousin Roman up and ask him to send you one of his cabs to pick you up and take you to your destination for free, as he owns a taxi company.

The cover system is a great addition too. It takes getting used to. But give yourself time and you will be using it very effectively. Shooting itself has been improved too. Also if in a gunfight or just beating up a poor bystander you can leave them half dead. What I mean by this is you can beat them up until they have only one bar of health left and then sit back watch them as they stagger this way and that and then fall over in a heap. They don't die until you finish them off but it can be a great feeling playing out a mission, chasing a guy all over the city, killing all his goons and then have him half dead in an alleyway, unable to move and just begging to be shot one last time. Maybe I'm just cruel.

Multiplayer!!!! Finally GTA has the ability to go online and it's pretty damn good on first impressions. You can choose different gametypes etc. You've got deathmatch, team deathmatch, cops and robbers just to name a few. I went straight into a team deathmatch and loved it. We were able to go anywhere on the map and cause as much chaos as we liked. You generally start off with an uzi gun and have to search for other types. But don't worry about that as there are plenty of weapons around every corner. The team deathmatch can be summed up by the vision of a team mate pulling up his car to pick you up, you get in and go commit a drive by shooting on the nearest enemy on the map. Great stuff. Also I got a thrill out of playing "cops and robbers" and the racing was interesting lol

Positives? man I feel like I've forgotten some. Oh yea, the games are quite good. Darts, bowling and pool all serve as nice additions.

OK negatives.

Business owning. I always loved having a business make money for me in the past GTA game. It's not been put into this one so I'm a little dissapointed with that and I'm kind of left thinking there is less to do after completing the missions, compared to previous GTA's where I never felt bored of the game even after completion. There is a feeling of "well what do I do now?" once you have completed the game.

Safehouses - Now I've done all the missions I'm a little confused as to why I don't have more safehouses than I do. After San Andreas where you have houses all over the map. That's not the case here and you never really achieve that mansion style house we all want.

Driving? This to me isn't a negative. But I'm going to put it in the negative pile because I think most people won't enjoy the driving on this one (until they get used to it). It's basically more realistic. You can't fly round a corner so easily. You have to slow down and turn with caution. The cars themselves are fantastic. They take damage brilliantly and the "flying through the windscreen" is a nice touch. Also people will get killed in car crashes now, just tonight I hit a car side on at full speed. I was ok but the other driver slumped out of his car door and died on the pavement.

Review long enough? lol overall a great game. Definately worth buying and I have had no problems with bugs at all. I think after completing the missions there may be an issue with if there's enough in the game to keep you playing. But it seems Rockstar have sacrificed that for a very good online multiplayer. So if you do play your console online that's where the longetivity will come from I believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...but does it live up to the hype?, 13 May 2008
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
GTA IV- arguably the biggest game of all time delivers in almost every way.
Just don't get swept up in the hype, this isn't the best game ever made, not even the best in the series. But there is lots to love, though somehow it never meets the scope and variety that San Andreas had so much of. It took 45 hours to complete the main story and begin to get bored, which is large enough.
But unlike past iterations, the desire to go back and finish EVERYTHING just wasn't there. Then again, GTAIV has an online mode to rival anything else available, with a nice selection of game types and a refreshing amount of freedom.

It was inevitable that reducing the customisation options would disappoint some fans. Admittedly, most of it was pointless anyway.
Yet it does feels like every new addition has replaced something else. Tattoos and casino gambling would have fitted perfectly with the realistic tone. Disappointingly, theres also no car modding, despite street racing being available.
But these are small gripes, and when GTA IV gets so much right they are easy to dismiss. The shift in focus towards realism is admirable. The relationship system works, but does feel like the dating game from San Andreas. Build friendships for rewards, like gun toting thugs, police bribery and car bombs. Most of these are genuinely useful, and this whole aspect is worth perservering with, despite the repetition.

The audio in IV is certainly the best ever. Theres around 20 radio stations to suit all tastes. Favourites include Liberty Rock playing classic Rock & Roll, Electro Chocs Dance, hosted by Francois K. The Vibe plays Soul/RnB, playing my favourite tune to perform a drive by; Criticise by Alexander O Neal. There are even 2 talk stations, and an Eastern European channel! The humour is darker and more satirical; with nothing escaping Rockstars savage sense of humour. Designer babies, prostitutes and Rockstars competiton all get torn apart, amongst many others. Broadcasts after missions describing your actions are as good as ever. The new Zit text service, which sends the artist and title of any track, is a brilliant addition. The way character dialogue changes after repeating a failed mission is ingenious.
The TV programmes are also sensational, and genuinely funny. The advert for Piswasser beer had me in tears of laughter. Ricky Gervais even makes a guest appearance with a stand up comedy act. It all adds to the illusion this is a living, breathing city.

The apparent glitches which have unfairly dragged this games score down, were virtually non existent when I played. Graphics do glitch occasionally, particularly upon entering a building. But this doesn't make the game a one star. I've seen far worse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 176 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey everyone i think youd like some REAL info about this game, 29 Jan 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
Niko can use a mobile phone to recieve calls and phone his contacts. He can also use it to call taxis and purchase weapons. The options presented on the phone's LCD are Phonebook, Messages, Organizer, and Camera.
Pedestrians smoke cigarettes, read books and newspapers, drop litter, talk on mobile phones, walk in and out of buildings, and generally act like any normal pedestrian would.
Mobile phones are a big part of Grand Theft Auto IV's gameplay. It is possible to climb and descend telephone poles, and exterior fire escapes.
There are many different animation sets for breaking into cars. One of these involves Niko smashing the side window with his elbow, climbing into the car, and then hotwiring it.
Niko is able to manage his funds at ATMs.
GTA IV features multiplayer, but it's "not a massively multiplayer game," according to Rockstar's creative vice president Dan Houser.
It is possible to surf the internet in GTA4 via internet cafés. It is available from any computer in the game, and provides a hub for all sorts of interactivity within Liberty City.
The camera angle behind the car is closer than it has been in previous GTAs. This allows you to see more detail on the cars, and more of the verticality of the city.
The euphoria package provides unique game moments for players. In GTA IV, you will gain a police wanted level for any crime that you commit, providing there are witnesses present. The police can only chase you if they know where you are, and they need to see you to know where you are. If you escape the search area marked on the radar without being spotted, your wanted level will disappear.
In terms of scale, GTA IV is about the same size as GTA: San Andreas, but the map size is considerably smaller. This is mainly due to the fact there is no desert or countryside in Liberty City. Liberty City in GTA4 is the biggest city R* have ever created.
Every street in Liberty City contains a street sign with a name on it.
It is possible to do more than one mission at a time. For example, some missions take place over several days and may involve waiting for phonecalls or attending interviews, and you are free to carry out other business during the waiting period.
The story can be told in a number of different ways. Rockstar are trying to give people greater freedom and sense of control over their destiny. You now have a lot more choice in what you want to do.
hey i just coped and pasted this cuz amazon needs some new info
all credit goes to the men that wrote this from Gta4.net :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyed, 8 May 2014
By 
Mr. M. J. Bowyer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
I didn't play this on release, but as I've asked for GTA 5 for my upcoming birthday, it seemed time to get in the right mood by playing GTA 4. One big advantage is that I missed out on all the hype. Any big game release is going to leave some people feeling disappointed after months of sneak peaks and rumours.

It is certainly a much grittier "real" world you step into compared to titles such as Vice City, but Rockstar have done a wonderful job of turning New York into Liberty City. I had to tweak the contrast and brightness a touch which made things much easier to see and brings out the detail of the city. The main Story Mode sees you as an arriving immigrant, expecting the streets of Liberty City to be paved with gold after hearing of his cousins wonderful life there. Finding his cousin down on his luck and in debt, the reality is very different to the letters sent back home.

The story really drew me in with some interesting characters to meet. The crazy story lines have gone, but I must say I prefer the new approach. The basics are still there, go meet someone who gives you a task to do, with game play jumping in and out of cut scenes as the story demands. They seem very easy to start with as you are introduced to the controls and your mobile phone which you always carry, but as you progress you have to be smarter to take down the bad guys. There is often more than one way to go about your mission, so when an all out attack fails you start looking for safer ways to achieve your goal.

As ever, much of the fun comes between missions with shops, restaurants, bars and clubs to visit. In a similar fashion to Red Dead Redemption, you can also take part in games with darts, pool and bowling on offer. You have more reason to explore these thanks to the new friendship feature. Spending time with people you meet away from the main story builds a relationship that often results in some benefit. For example, a call to a new friend can remove a low wanted level to get the police off your case or they might call round with weapons for sale.

Driving seems more difficult this time round when you first start to play, but you actually have great control once you get used to the driving physics. Drifting the back end out round a corner in an American muscle car is a joy to behold! Damage is nicely modeled and accidents can even cause you damage. Hit something head on at a high enough speed and your character, Niko, is sent flying through the windscreen. Bikes have some odd handling quirks, although this is addressed in the expansion Episodes from Liberty City if you do want to spend a lot of time on 2 wheels.

You are also faced with a number of choices as the story unfolds, when Niko has to decide between different views of the situation. There are some tough choices which might set you thinking along with others where one option is obvious, tempting you into the possibility of doing the opposite.

Overall I enjoyed the story and was genuinely surprised by some of the twists. The graphics are very nice with different boroughs very well detailed. The run down neighbourhoods, with their potholes in the road and gun carrying gang members give way to the bright neon of Star Junction where business people mingle with tourists.

I spent around 70 hours over a few weeks to complete the story, about half of the side missions and generally enjoying the experience, so that's pretty darned good value! I don't tend to play console games online so I can't really comment, but there is a good mix of options available for online carnage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
This has good graphics and is worth playing first before going for the next game out. Definately reccommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Chrissy "Mcilhone" (Newcastle ( South Shields )) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
this was a fun game until i went online and it was glitch'y as! and people hacking the games and putting mods in. then the ranking up was a loonngg ddrraagg but other all the game was great to play with your friends ! dont get me wrong, was a fun game. LOVED THE SINGLE PLAYER MOSTLY THO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars GTA 4verrated, 20 July 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
Ignore IGN, GAMESPOT and metacritic. This was an overrated game all the GTA 3 era games were better than it (3,VC,SA) plus Ballad of Tony, it only beats TLAD. It would be wise to get Episodes of Liberty City for a better experience as this one is boring and extremely overrated.

Negatives:

-No customisation, planes, very few cheats like pedestrians riot etc, boring missions, boring recreations to not add impact in the game.

-No replay value.

-Smaller vehicles and size to San Andreas and not as fun as GTA 3.

-No tank, army.

Positives:

-Best graphics with Episodes Liberty City(Not including GTA 5)

-Detailed Story and less profanity than San Andreas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing but gets boring, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
Its amazing game, very detailed, great graphics, great soundtrack (the music on the radio stations) and quite good storylines too.
But it does start to get boring after a while
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely, now, this must be considered alongside the highest form of art., 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
I have been to New York, and the journey you take into Liberty City is just as breath-taking, awe-inspiring, frenzied and characterful as the real deal. The epic proportions of detail bestowed upon this masterpiece of not only gaming but 3D rendering and of story-telling, are utterly masterful.

Even besides the thrilling and challenging missions, just driving around, you will encounter a living city, walking, working, chatting, bickering, police-evading individuals fill every sidewalk, road and park, hooting you as you cut them up or run lights, dropping their cells to dive out the way of your screeching tyres, there is something happening all the time and it is so involving as to pursuade you of an alternate reality in which you must strive for survival and success.

Anyone could enjoy this game. My dad just loves skipping red lights adn cutting traffic queues, he could do it all day!

If you haven't experienced this game you can buy it now, for 15, it won't depreciate, you can sell it second hand for 15, so what's the problem? Take out the stree of everyday life on fictional beings in a simulated environment, it's the safest way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy!, 21 Sep 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) (Video Game)
Probably the craziest game I have ever played. You can literally do anything in this game, you can kill anyone, you can steal any vehicle and drive it anywhere. I swear that if you play it long enough you'll lose your mind. The latest addition to the GTA family brings a whole host of sweet cars, ridiculous weapons, and downright crazy missions plus there are extra missions like kill all the pigeons and steal all the cars that can literally make you end up playing this game for weeks at a time. It's definitely the kind of game that you can lose a whole day playing if you're not careful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3)
Grand Theft Auto IV (PS3) by Rockstar (PlayStation 3)
11.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews