Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

'fab four suture' is another fantastic Stereolab compilation, one that's related to earlier compilations ('Switched On', 'Refried Ectoplasm', the 'Oscillations' box-set)taking in the 'Lab's singles releases in 2005 (7" joys for those who still care). It is in effect a new Stereolab album for people like me who don't have the singles and like many Stereolab releases, it's utterly fantastic and a joy to have them around still. Stereolab are one of those prolific alternative acts like The Fall, Sonic Youth, the Brian Jonestown Massacre, Julian Cope, Low, Yo La Tengo & The Flaming Lips who not only have a sizeable back catalogue, but a consistently great one.

The central songwriter pair Laetia Sadier & Tim Gane are still present alongside long-term member Andy Ramsey - the newer members regenerating the band. Let's face it, Stereolab are Stereolab and you can't really go wrong, a blend of chanson, electronica, krautrock, pop with the kind of complexity that becomes apparent to the attentive listener. It's all fantastic...it's all Stereolab, though personal highlights include the squelchy krautfunk of 'Interlock', the gorgeous 'Visionary Road Maps' & the alien-pop stomp 'I Was a Sunny Rainphase', one of those parallel world hits like 'French Disko', 'Ping Pong' & 'The Noise of Carpet.' I don't think Stereolab have really made a bad record, though unlike many I think their strongest releases were from 'Emperor Tomato Ketchup' onwards - 'fab four suture' certainly keeps to that standard. & what great artwork! The perfect compilation as Spring shifts to Summer - Stereolab a band whose music reminds you how great it feels to be alive: heartbeats and breathing, bleeps and pop-swoons. Worth for the price of entry alone for the song-titles 'Excursions into "oh, a-oh" and 'Kyberneticka Babicka.'
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2006
This is a superb collection that should re-ignite the imagination of those who drifted off during the 'Cobra Phases' album era. It demands repeated listens but rewards in spades. Destined to reach those parts that only 'Peng!' could reach. They are the new originals. They are Stereolab.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2006
The Lab release another gem.

Being a long time fan the danger is taking their inovation for granted, as something we come to expect once a year.
This album itself stands alone as a great selection of their recent duophonic singles.
Stand out tracks for me have to be "Interlock" ,"Vodiak" and "Get A Shot Of The Refrigerator".
It's all good !
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2006
It's been suggested by other reviews (here, and elsewhere) that Fab Four Suture does not present the listener with a new evolution of the Stereolab sound that we have come to expect with each new LP. I suppose this is true, pretty much (the Philip Glass tribute Kybernetika Babickta being the obvious exception), but this album is yet another finely crafted masterpiece. It's upbeat & positive with strong melodies and plenty of twists, but my personal fave is "Excursions into oh-a-oh", the throbbing & pulsing outro offering a glimpse of the low-fi Groop of old. This illustrates very well how th'Lab have matured over the years. After one and a half decades and between 11 and 16 albums (depending on how you count them), the word "matured" sums up the 2006 vintage Stereolab very well. Hardly punk rock, but reason to be proud.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2007
I only became a follower of the groop little more than a year ago. I'm constantly amazed at how different they are to most "current" bands both in terms of the style and quality of their music. I didn't warm to this album instantly but it's such a grower and just seems to get better each time I listen to it. The only problem is that a lot of your music collection will sound, quite frankly, plain old pants after this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2006
It must be tough being a quintessential 90s band in 2006. But I doubt Stereolab care - they've long since disappeared into a vast musical universe of their own making, almost entirely divorced from passing fads & fashions. If you are a non-believer "Fab Four Suture" will seem like the umpteenth redundant recapitulation of what they've being doing since "Emperor Tomato Ketchup"; if you are a convert it will be yet another addiction-satisfying variation on the formula. The album is framed by Kyberneticka parts 1 & 2 - a Phillip Glass style march with Laetitia as valkyrie, but otherwise it's business as usual: silly titles, peculiar syllable stress & yes Tim G is still on his "let's take two completely different songs & splice them together" kick. There's lots of jaunty riffs & melancholy melodies. Not so smooth & detailed as last album "Margarine Eclipse" but maybe a little more invigorating. Moments of sublime beauty include Plastic Mile & Whisper Pitch. Lyrics seem more personal & confessional than usual. Vodiak is a bit post-punk & Excursions starts out nondescript but suddenly shifts into a throwback to Velvets/Krautrock phase. Embarrassingly prolific, this album is being passed off as a low-key round up of recent odds & ends, but don't be fooled - it's this month's new Stereolab album.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
This collection of singles definitely works as an album and is my favourite of all their releases
I've played it countless times over the past 7 years and love it so much i thought i would add
this review

I always listen to this album in its entirety when possible because its beautifully bookended
by Kyberneticka Babicka Pt. 1 and 2

Sandwiched in the middle is Joyous track after track and not a single duff one

The BBC review above is bang on its a joyous album

If you are just getting into stereolab buy this one - you wont regret it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2006
Not sure whether to treat this as a proper album as such, being as it compiles a series of tunes the band have recently released as downloads/7" singles. That will perhaps excuse the fact that this CD doesn't hang together particularly well as a cohesive album, and is perhaps best consumed as a bunch of EP tracks.

Theres some very good stuff on here, but its all rather understated and low-key. Only on a few moments such as 'Excursions in Into the Oh a-Oh' or the gorgeous coda that ends 'Whisper Pitch' do they really achieve lift off. Elsewhere its all rather Stereolab by numbers. A shame since normally each new Stereolab release heralds a little twist or turn to their basic aesthetic.
Fans will perhaps enjoy this best consumed as a mini-LP like '...Space Age Batchelor Pad Music', a nice little interim release and hopefully something more substantial will be in the offing later on. New listeners should start with the BBC Sessions (the nearest thing to a 'Best Of').
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
I love Stereolab's music but I'd never heard this record but was not expecting too much when I bought it. Initially I found the songs hard to get into but after a few listens I realised that this is a brilliant piece of work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
Arrived quickly and well packaged.

Bought as a present for my wife, she loves this band. Not my cup of tea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)