Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars63
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2002
Back in 1976 a young unknown called Sylvester Stallone shocked the world with his phenomenal and ground-breaking sports film Rocky, which detailed a similarly unknown boxer's shot at the Heavyweight Championship Of The World, but in spite of the film's other assets, it was nothing without the outstanding soundtrack of Bill Conti, with classic tunes such as "Gonna Fly Now". Throughout the late 1970s and early 1980s the Rocky series grew and grew, gaining the praise of many fans and critics, and Bill Conti was the man behind the soundtracks of the first two sequels. However, in 1985 Stallone made Rocky IV, the defining film in the series where Rocky must travel to Russia to defeat a fearsome opponent (played by Dolph Lundgren in a breakthrough role), and for the first time Conti was not the man behind the music. This time it was Vince DiCola with the tunes, and he was responsible for what must be the most inspirational music, let alone movie soundtrack, of all time. What you have on this CD is a testament to the spirit of man, with rocking 80s classics such as Robert Tepper's "No Easy Way Out" and James Brown's "Living In America" paving the way for Survivor's legendary "Eye Of The Tiger" and Vince DiCola's own masterpiece "Training Montage", before the track which is beyond all reasonable doubt the most inspirational tune of all time - John Cafferty's "Hearts On Fire". If ever you need pieces of music to help you in physical training or to help you re-instill your faith in human spirit and strength, this is it. You are missing out if you do not experience this.
11 comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2003
I had this album on cassette as a child and after watching the film recently I was reminded what a cracking soundtrack this is.
There's no easy way out is the obvious highlight for me, a song which has at times moved me to tears during my more fragile periods.
Burning Heart is notable for it's lyrical genius and Vince DiCola does a great job on the incidental pieces in place of Bill Conti.
If anyone has recently lost someone close, is struggling with the rigours of life or is training for a boxing match, they should find great comfort and inspiration from this remarkable collection of tracks.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2004
im a great fan of the rocky films and decided a while ago to purchase the soundtrack to number 4. but every where i went, it was either out of stock or way out of my price range. so i looked on amazon, got it real cheap and one word sums it up - WOW!
Every track is brilliant and will take you back to fighting ivan drago! Survivor songs are just breath taking and each song is how i remember the film. i have many soundtracks but this is top of the list!
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
put this on whenever im doing my weights...really gets me going.
great album, great artists and great songs...enough said really...only slight annoyance is that the version of sweetest victory s not the heavy version you get on youtube etc but has been slightly..disco-fied but it still kicks ass so BUY THIS ALBUM!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 August 2006
This collection will take you back!! The cold war, USA v USSR, The Italian Stallion, Rocky Balboa v The Siberian Express Ivan Drago!

I'm quite a big fan of the Rocky movies and the music that accompanied them. No one can deny the almost inspirational Theme tune (not in this compilation) or the great songs by Survivor and Vince DiCola.

I can say, hand on heart that I have listened to this CD more times than I can remember and I still love it! Its also the one CD that most of my mates look to borrow when the see it on the CD rack.

If you liked the Rocky movies then I suggest you invest in this little gem.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2000
A great soundtrack with the highlight being Eye of the tiger, a classic hit of all time. To complement this, other tracks to listen to our another by Survivir- 'Burning Heart' and also a hit from the Godfather of Soul- James Brown with 'Living in America'.
Altogether a great compliation with plenty of music to get you pumped up!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2006
Hearts on Fire and No easy way out combine with the training montage music herein to make this a very favourable experience. The songs are perfectly attuned to the pictures they accompany; luridly colourful, punchy,muscular...bombastic is a good word, sneezy and grumpy. The vocals by Robert Tepper and John Cafferty im sure were very much felt and meant at the time of the recording,and that comes across. Some of the lunatic speed keyboard intermissions are humourous to the point of being profound, these songs have gravitas and are bursting with a very intense and desperate machismo somewhat lost with the passing of the eighties.

The smoochy songs on this disc are really rubbish.

This c.d is great for training ,driving or just having fun to.

I hope you dont pull something.
22 comments6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
Epic soundtrack for a simply amazing set of films. If you are struggling to get motivated for the gym just put the training montage on and you will be set
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2012
just dont get titanic. ha ha. enuff said. rocky tunes r brill in every way shape and form. unmissable. a must buy for me
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2006
This album is a must have for those of you out there with soul, and in fact with a character whatsoever, whether you have seen any of the the Rocky films or not. This is particularly good for usage whilst driving, especially in the countryside, in hilly areas, it really gets the adrenaline running and you really feel the music, which perhaps is even dangerous to an extent. This album, I say again, is a MUST HAVE! Buy it now!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.