Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Blowing
What can i say. I found Rodrigo Y Gabreila's contribution to my record collection nothing less than stunning. Im a big fan of flamenco greats such as Paco De Lucia, Nino Josele and Oscar Herrero, and have grown up listening to a variety of genres including alternative, indie and samba.

You cannot 'genre' Rodrigo y Gabriela, as they are fusion musicians...
Published on 27 Dec 2006 by T. J. Alvarez

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but very repetitive
Fantastic music, but all the tunes have a very similar quality.
Couldn't listen to the whole disc at once, got bored
Published 17 months ago by Mec


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Blowing, 27 Dec 2006
By 
T. J. Alvarez "fly" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What can i say. I found Rodrigo Y Gabreila's contribution to my record collection nothing less than stunning. Im a big fan of flamenco greats such as Paco De Lucia, Nino Josele and Oscar Herrero, and have grown up listening to a variety of genres including alternative, indie and samba.

You cannot 'genre' Rodrigo y Gabriela, as they are fusion musicians expressing thier backgrounds and tastes . The untrained ear could simply brand them as another flamenco act, but they are so much more. If thier work was played on an electric guitar rather than acoustic, if wouldnt sound out of place in a heavy metal concert.

Rodrigo Y Gabriela draw inspiration from the wildest of sources, given the type of music they play. They cite metal bands such as iron maiden as influences, and its not hard to see once you give this cd a few listens. Rodrigo's fretwork is blindingly quick and sharp and Gabriela 's guitar is the perfect complement to this. Tamacun is my personal favourite, but if you just sit back and listen to the cd in one sitting, it is hard to distinguish where one song ends and another begins.

An Epic record from an epic duo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't even think of not buying this, it's mind-blowing, 1 Dec 2006
OK. So if you're reading this and looking at this album, you already know all about this pair of firebrand musicians who play the wildest style of acoustic nylon-strung guitar music that you'll ever hear. By their own admission, their playing falls somewhere amongst Flamenco, Jazz and Thrash - but it truly is mind-blowing. Meoldically superb; rhythmically astounding and yet these two people play with a modesty that totally belies their talent or impact.

As for this particular release - the DVD is a real bonus. There are only a few tracks, but if you're a guitarist you MUST, MUST, MUST buy this for the extensive and detailed tutorial which explores and explains an enormous amount about the ways in which they play.

I cannot find words effusive enough to urge you to buy this CD/DVD pairing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music has a new genre - called RyG, 26 May 2007
By 
Rishi (London, England) - See all my reviews
I came across GyR when hearing they were one of the support acts for MUSE at Wembley Stadium in 3 weeks time. Having not heard of them, i was disappointed, but then felt i needed to give it chance and listen to the album..........................am i glad i did!!!

Its something which is unique - being able to captivate an audience with no vocals and simply acoustics. I can honestly say this is the first time i have seriously enjoyed lyricless music. Its fast, intense, exciting and both Rodrigo and Gabriela are incredibly talented.

Tamacun, Diablo Rojo and Orion are my personal favourites, but then again i think the whole album is great!!

Make sure you watch them as well, seeing the way they play acoustics is an incredible thing to watch and i now cannot wait to see them at Wembley!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just amazing, 11 Nov 2006
By 
N. Edwards "nigel edwards" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rodrigo Y Gabriela (Audio CD)
This is my favorite CD of 2006. R y G play a very exciting blend of flamenco, jazz, metal, latin and even bits of clssically influenced material on acoustic guitars They manage to get a wide variety of tones and percusive effects out of them that provides more variety than seems possible. Their technique, particularly Gabriela's, is just astonishing but if that was all there was it would quickly bcome dull. Luckily, they have eclectic tastes and real musicality which keeps your attention. The original material is great but they also do covers in a way that is also really original and different, Orion and Stairway to Heaven are particular highlights, but every track is a gem. If you like this you might like Johannes Linstead and vice versa.

If you have speeding endosements best not to drive to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 20 Jun 2007
By 
Rishi (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rodrigo Y Gabriela (Audio CD)
I saw these guys supporting muse at wembley stadium and having listened to this album before, i was expecting to be amazed and i was!!!

The album is incredible, although the thought of it didnt really appeal to me when i was first told about it, but they are arguably one of the most talented and influential acoustic guitarists currently playing. You must seem them live, as they will simply wow you.

A must buy for any music lover!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this now !, 18 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Rodrigo Y Gabriela (Audio CD)
One of my son's friends lent me this album as he knows I'm a Led Zeppelin obsessive and he thought I'd be interested in hearing the Stairway cover, and it has just blown me away. I want to go round telling every-one how fabulous they are. We saw them in Glasgow a couple of night's ago, one of the best concerts I've heard. They don't fit in to any genre and don't need to ,the music is just so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 15 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. A. J. Woodford (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I ordered the self-titled album by Rodrigo y Gabriela on the basis of a 3star review i had read in a national newspaper. Being a guitarist i was interested in the album, but when i got it and listened to it i was astounded. Their sound is extremely rich and unique, a real treat to listen to! The DVD that accompanies the album is also very worthwhile. It features 3 live performances by the duo, a gallery of pictures, an introduction to how they came to make the music they make and a guitar tutorial which is extremely understandable to a guitarist of medium ability or above. A real masterpiece and a pleasure to have in any record collection. I have just ordered their previous two albums on the basis of this one....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow.., 14 May 2006
By 
Sandwiched somewhere at the bottom of the schedule for Friday's Later.. with Jools Holland were 2 likely suspects Rodrigo y Gabriela. Never heard of them, I thought. Basically the only reason I watched was because I couldn't be arsed to turn the TV over. Life-changing may be a little OTT, but watching these 2 playing only acoustic guitars at what seemed like warp speed was in turns fascinating, enjoyable, captivating.. the list goes on. Sadly Jools only gave them 1 track (the fool) - suffice to say 2 days later i have this fantastic CD (and DVD), am booked to see them live and think perhaps I should watch Later..'s lower rated bands more closely in future!

Listening to the CD you simply will not believe 2 people and 2 guitars can make such a joyful racket, it never flags and definitely gives a new twist to Stairway to Heaven. Check this out, find some more and then go see them! Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 18 Mar 2006
By 
Scotia (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was first introduced to R&G when they supported David Gray on tour last year, with an amazing performance. We bought the Live in Dublin and Manchester album after the show and got to meet Gabriela. This new, eponymous album is a must-have for anyone who appreciates virtuoso guitar playing. It's hardly been off my CD/DVD player since it arrived last week. Favourite tracks are the sublime Satori and the amazing R&G cover of Led Zep's Stairway to Heaven. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spanish Magic, 9 Aug 2006
By 
Michael J. Law "eurolease" (Teulada Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rodrigo Y Gabriela (Audio CD)
Rodrigo y Gabriela have that rare ability to draw on familiar riffs & Latin tempos, twisting them into bright and rhythmic patterns to delight a new audience. This album is a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rodrigo Y Gabriela
Rodrigo Y Gabriela by Rodrigo y Gabriela (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews