Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now, before it's too late!, 8 Oct 2002
By 
Mr. T. P. Hiscock "Tim Hiscock" (Crewe, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All the Young Dudes (Audio CD)
All The Young Dudes represented a major turning point for Mott The Hoople, following a string of respected but poor selling albums, none of which are generally available any more. Mott had already decided to call it a day when David Bowie tried to persuade them to give it one last try, and offered to write a song for them. "Suffragette city" was turned down, but "All The Young Dudes" was to be the band's saviour, and pave the way for a string of hit singles and successful albums.
"Dudes" stands apart from the later albums, carrying many of the hallmarks of their earlier material, spiced up with some quirky production from Bowie and some experimental effects. Aside from the title track, highlights include a spendid version of Lou Reed's "Sweet Jane", the instantly catchy "Jerkin' Crocus", "One of the Boys" which typified the material that earned the band their 'fathers of punk' reputation, Mick Ralph's tasteful "Ready for Love" (which he tried again some years later with Bad Company - with much less success), rounded off by the delicate ballad 'Sea Divers', representing some of the despair which Ian Hunter felt at the time of the band's apparent demise.
That so much of the early Mott material is now unavailable is truly a tragedy. Anyone who enjoyed their later material should buy this album before it's too late, and get an idea of how much you have already missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kiss Of Life, 8 Mar 2012
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: All The Young Dudes (Audio CD)
Prior to Mott The Hoople being given the kiss of life by David Bowie, in his support and decision to offer Mott (by far) their most successful hit record in the Bowie-penned title song, this great band were on the verge of calling it quits, early in 1972. That they didn't is a true musical blessing, not least for yours truly, who was then able to witness them live - my first ever gig (in 1973), and supported at the legendary Chatham Central Hall(!) by (the much inferior) Queen. By the time of the gig Mott had, unfortunately, dispensed with the services of legendary guitarist (and songwriter) Mick Ralphs (who went on to play in - the also much inferior - Bad Company). In his place appeared Ariel Bender (I kid you not with the name!), a mindblowingly extravagant (and technically brilliant) guitarist, visually straight out of Sweet, but actually straight out of band Spooky Tooth (who incidentally also provided drummer Mike Kellie to later punk band The Only Ones).

For me, Mott The Hoople produced two masterpiece albums, this one, and the follow-up, Mott. I have a slight preference for All The Young Dudes, but both are essential in the record collection of anyone who appreciates the 'glam rock' (an unfairly, much derided and belittled term) greats that were David Bowie, T.Rex, Roxy Music, Lou Reed and their ilk. Whilst this album does contain one or two journeyman songs in Sucker and, arguably, Momma's Little Jewel, it is otherwise a collection of masterful songs. As well as the brilliant title song, Mott also produced a superb cover of Lou Reed's Velvets-era song, Sweet Jane, featuring Ralphs' semi-acoustic guitar opening and Ian Hunter's impassioned vocal. Other inspirational band-penned songs include One Of The Boys, Ralphs' own Ready For Love, Hunter's superb Bowie-inspired Jerkin' Crocus and keyboard player, Verden Allen's psychedelic Soft Ground.

Perhaps the album's masterpiece, however, is the closing sub-three minute, sublime gem of a song that is Sea Diver. With orchestral arrangements by Mick Ronson, this song competes with all those heavenly, near-perfect pieces of music such as Lady Grinning Soul, Perfect Day, Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want, A Beard Of Stars, Reno Dakota, Welcome To The Working Week, Ride A White Swan, etc. It was also one of Morrissey's Desert Island Discs! Incredibly, Hunter is still performing this masterpiece live at the age of 70!

As extras, the CD also includes various demo versions of songs from the album which are of moderate interest.

A highly recommended listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bowie Saves The Day, 17 May 2011
This review is from: All The Young Dudes (Audio CD)
About to collapse after a string of badly written albums, Mott The Hoople made a great comeback with "All The Young Dudes." Although not their usual sound, David Bowie's massive influence over the songs does not necessarily make it bad. In fact, he gave them the perfect songs to cover: "Sweet Jane" and "All The Young Dudes" (one of Bowie's own).

Although some material is not as strong, Mott came back as a band fighting fit again, as they would try to continue on their own after this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not third best!!, 7 Nov 2010
By 
R. Stradling "Pintofhsb" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Young Dudes (Audio CD)
'All the Young Dudes' is often critically placed lower than 'Mott' and 'The Hoople'. To me all three are classics of the early 1970's and essential purchases for Mott the Hoople and Ian Hunter fans. I was guilty of only knowing Motts singles at the time and foolishly ignored the albums until quite recently. The excellent 'Mojo Presents Mott the Hoople' gave me a new insight into some of their album tracks and led me to purchase the originals. I was also drawn by the Bowie connection being a huge fan.
There is not a weak track on the album and the bonus tracks are brilliant. I won't list the attributes of every track but my personal faves are All the Young Dudes, Sucker, Jerkin' Crocus, One of the Boys, Are You Ready for love, Sea Diver (Hunter's still performing this live) and from the bonus tracks All the Young Dudes where Bowie and Hunter share the vocals (in itself an essential purchase for Bowie fans) and an amazing live version of Sucker (6:28) introduced by Hunter as a Des O'Connor number (HA HA).
Don't pontificate - buy this album...best 6 ever spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "…Gotta Work…" – All The Young Dudes by MOTT THE HOOPLE, 1 April 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: All The Young Dudes (Audio CD)
After three albums on Island between 1970 and 1971 that saw constant touring, critical acclaim but little chart action ("Mad Shadows", "Wildlife" and "Brain Capers") – Mott The Hoople were about to throw in the towel when they finally hit paydirt with the David Bowie assisted "All The Young Dudes" LP in the heady days of 1972 (the height of Glam Rock in the UK). With the mercurial Bowie a fan and his star exploding everywhere – the timing and the song was perfect.

The 9-track "All The Young Dudes" vinyl album was originally UK released in September 1972 on CBS Records S 65184 – and this April 2006 Columbia/Legacy CD reissue runs to a generous 72:57 minutes. The album was originally produced by David Bowie (also plays Sax on some tracks) and this CD reappraisal offers up fans 7 properly excellent additions that actually warrant the moniker 'bonus tracks' - a rare single edit of "One Of The Boys", 4 previously unreleased demos and two incendiary live versions recorded at the Hammersmith Odeon in 1973.

It has to be said that the 8-page booklet is disappointingly slight with a centre spread liner notes by Ben Edmonds, recording details and precious little else…. But the meat and potatoes lies in a fantastic new remaster by tape wizard VIC ANESINI whose credits include Simon & Garfunkel, Stevie Ray Vaughan, The Jayhawks, Elvis Presley, Carole King, Hall & Oates and Santana to name but a few.

It opens with a great cover of Lou Reed's "Sweet Jane" (lyrics above) where Mick Ralphs puts in some fantastically fluid Guitar playing. The muscle on the piano and guitar of the "Don’t Stop!" Intro to "Momma's Little Jewel" is just great as is Verden Allen’s slightly Prog Rock organ soloing throughout. It’s the first properly cool Hunter song on the album (co-written with Bass player Overend Watts).

I’d have to admit a possible travesty here – I’ve always loathed the title track – it seemed hammy to me then and still does now – and it hung around the band's musical neck for decades. But at least it got the job done. Fat better is the menace of "Sucker" and the fabulous snotty British Rock 'n' Roll of "Jerkin' Crocus" (a B-side to the USA 7" single of "Sweet Jane"). It's back to Prog Organ for Verden Allen's "Soft Ground" where he unwisely ruins the song by taking Lead Vocals. Better is the Mick Ralphs double "Ready For Love/After Lights" where you can 'so' hear the beginnings of Bad Company (Hunter and Ralphs share vocals on this one). It ends on a short but poignant Ian Hunter piano balled "Sea Diver" – for me a real highlight - and like "Trudi's Song" on 1974's "The Hoople" – a hidden gem in their catalogue.

The bonus tracks are shockingly good – especially "Black Scorpio" which is a pumping Rock Demo Version of "Momma's Little Jewel" and "Ride On The Sun" which is an equally delicate demo of "Sea Diver" but with different lyrics. It's still odd to hear David Bowie actually sing "All The Young Dudes" - but it actually suits him more. In fact what a single this previously unreleased duet between Bowie and Hunter would have made (as a double credit perhaps?). The reissue finishes with the huge guitar punch of "Sweet Jane" - a track that will thrill fans of the Lou Reed live classic "Rock 'n' Roll Animal".

So there you have it – a great album and a properly fab trip down Rock’s Memory Lane. It's a real shame that the booklet doesn’t celebrate "Dudes" a bit more (an Indie label would have splashed out 20-pages or more) but what is on offer is sonically brilliant - a fantastic remaster by Anesini.

With principal song-writer and singer Ian Hunter still at the helm – the band would go on to even better things with the beautifully presented "Mott" album in 1973 and the underrated 6th LP "The Hoople" in 1974 (see reviews).

Now in 2014 - this remastered Mott The Hoople CD is cheaper than a stick of eyeliner at Boots. Get this nugget into your home right away...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still great!, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's been over 30 years since I last heard this and have only now added it back into my collection. It still sounds great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than it Ever was..., 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Young Dudes (Audio CD)
I won't waste everybody's time waxing lyrical about what a great album this is - you should know that by now. What I will say is that the digital remaster gives the whole thing the pristine crispness and life that my crackly old vinyl disc only ever hinted at. So, the only thing you really need to know about are the bonus tracks. These are always something of a contentious issue for me - for every diamond in the dust there are a couple of doggie doo-doos tagging along. The first three bonus tracks are demo versions of One of the Boys, Black Scorpio (Momma's Little Jewel) and Ride on the Sun (Sea Diver). These are great but already available on the excellent Two Miles From Heaven rarities compilation. What's really worth the price of admission alone here are the next two tracks though - All the Young Dudes (David Bowie - lead vocal) and the UK Single version of One of the Boys. With Dudes you still get Ian Hunter's vengeful rant at the end as well as a surprise faded in 'fade out'. Fabulous. And the single version of One of the Boys has a really beautiful and deceptive guitar intro. So much better than the tedious extended album version. Even the 'Country Honk' demo version is better than the album version! Last up are two live tracks - Jerkin' Crocus and Sweet Jane. I'm not a big fan of the live tracks at the end of the album thang but they are good sound quality and it's good to hear Luther Grosvenor tearing it up on lead guitar. Like I said, I have a thing about bonus tracks - these are really well worthwhile but couldn't we have had them on a separate disc?? All The Young Dudes ends with Sea Diver as far as I'm concerned and that's how it should always be...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What A Great Album, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Young Dudes (Audio CD)
Although this superb album rarely appears in those top 100 all time lists, it really should. Yes we all know how great the title track is and of course who composed it, but the whole CD is a fantastic collection of songs and well worth getting hold of if you are a fan of Mott. If not, you are certainly missing out on a fine chapter of British rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Mott!!!, 13 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Young Dudes (Audio CD)
If you love Mott The Hoople, you'll love this. It's a classic. As well as the title song, the stand out tracks include the excellent One Of The Boys, Ready For Love/After Lights and a cover of The Velvet Underground's Sweet Jane. There's also 5 bonus tracks including David Bowie's original lead vocal on 'Dudes'. So what's stopping you from buying this superb album at a bargain price?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Fifth MTH Album, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All The Young Dudes (Audio CD)
The turning point in MTH, most enjoyable, with some classic Mott tracks. a must for any MTH/ Ian Hunter followers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All The Young Dudes
All The Young Dudes by Mott the Hoople (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews