Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great live album from world's most under-rated band
Eels are a great band with a string of fine albums under their belt. Electro Shock Blues, their 2nd album, is a classic and 2005's Blinking Lights started to at last bring Eels the sort of critical acclaim they deserve. This CD is a live show from NYC on the tour that showcased the Blinking Lights release, although the songs have been re-worked with a string quartet...
Published on 28 Feb 2006 by Lumpster

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars With strings would be better
I've been an Eels fan for a number of years and saw them live in Manchester on this tour. It's not Eels' best efforts and the DVD is certainly better than the CD, but as an introduction to Eels, most people should find this CD easy to listen to. E is an amazing musician and doesn't get anywhere near enough credit as he should. I prefer Eels with strings though!
Published on 4 Mar 2007 by SMB Metal


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great live album from world's most under-rated band, 28 Feb 2006
By 
Lumpster (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Strings: Live At Town Hall (Audio CD)
Eels are a great band with a string of fine albums under their belt. Electro Shock Blues, their 2nd album, is a classic and 2005's Blinking Lights started to at last bring Eels the sort of critical acclaim they deserve. This CD is a live show from NYC on the tour that showcased the Blinking Lights release, although the songs have been re-worked with a string quartet. There is a smattering of old material, plus some new covers, and all work well with the atmospheric string and acoustic backing. Not many bands could pull this off, but with the genuis of frontman E and some fantastic musicians, the album works - it could have been a disaster in musical experimentation, but it really flies. The only warning is that if you're into Eels' livlier songs, one of the studio releases may be a better starting point, as the songs on this CD are among the more atomspheric from the Eels back catalogue and, even then, they have been slowed down somewhat (apart from a couple of exceptions, such as Hey Man!). Overall, a great combination of fine songwriting and good musicians and quite unlike any other release you'll listen to in 2006. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars E's a jolly good fellow, 11 Mar 2006
By 
possessed.by.a.lemon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: With Strings: Live At Town Hall (Audio CD)
A worthy and welcome release that captures the magic of an Eels with strings live show. It's not a complete set but what we are given is an hour of brilliance and eccentricity from E and his ensemble. Highlights include the much-loved It's a Motherf***er, I Like Birds and covers of Pretty Ballerina and Dylan's Girl From the North Country. The audience shows its appreciation between songs while remaining unobtrusive during them, helping to make it a great album in its own right. Whether the tracks are reworked, 'stringified' interpretations of less obvious tracks like Flyswatter and My Beloved Monster or faithful renditions of the more obvious selections, it works each and every time.

However, the DVD is a superior document of a terrific tour and Electro-shock Blues is completely ignored, which will disappoint those who correctly consider it Eels' masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 May 2011
This review is from: With Strings: Live At Town Hall (Audio CD)
You are never sure what you gonna get with an Eeels album but this is a classic..Most of the songs will be familiar to Eels fans but the way they are done is totally different.The strings add a different dimension to the songs and the "Live" performance translates the heart and soul of Mr.E into your living room,car,outhouse or wherever you be listening..the version of Dylans Girl from The North Country is one reason for buying this album..there are 21 others..Brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All time great, 30 Sep 2009
By 
Mabu "Mabu" (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: With Strings: Live At Town Hall (Audio CD)
I swear, E is one of the greatest musicians of our times.
I did see him live on this tour and own this cd, but actually think his music is so perfectly created and produced that it is better on CD. I would never normaly say that. This CD is definitely worth 5-stars to his existing fans, but if you are buying your first music by E then I would recommend Daisies of the galaxy, Shootenanny or his extended masterpiece; Blinking Lights and Other Revelations. They are more easily appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction (for me at least), 14 Sep 2009
By 
J. Styles (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: With Strings: Live At Town Hall (Audio CD)
I'll admit the Eels are a band that I'd heard snippets from and about via friends, but had never previously sat down to listen to. I picked up this album entirely on a whim, as a mate of mine used to cover I Like Birds in one of his acoustic sessions. I was also listening to a lot of string-backed stuff at the time. And, having listened to the album, the Eels do strings a lot better than most. Flyswatter sounds like something off the soundtrack for There Will Be Blood, which is a great thing as far as I'm concerned. Frontman E does things with Girl From the North Country that remind you what a great song it really is. The strings really work to bring out the yearning, melancholic poetry of the lyrics, especially on My Beloved Monster and Poor Side of Town.
I'm really glad I started with this album rather than one of the studio releases, not because I think it'll be better than them, but because I'm really looking forward to hearing some of these tracks from another point of view (if that makes any sense). Also, buying a "best of" album might be the obvious thing to do, but it always suggests to me that if you've got the best right there you won't be tempted to dig any deeper. For an introduction that doesn't give everything away and leaves you plenty of places to go, you couldn't do much better than this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of his best, 5 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: With Strings: Live At Town Hall (Audio CD)
I'm a die hard Eels fan, so will admit a bias. But I really enjoyed this and would recommend it to other fans. Anybody new to the band would probably do better buying the 'best of' CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars With strings would be better, 4 Mar 2007
By 
SMB Metal (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: With Strings: Live At Town Hall (Audio CD)
I've been an Eels fan for a number of years and saw them live in Manchester on this tour. It's not Eels' best efforts and the DVD is certainly better than the CD, but as an introduction to Eels, most people should find this CD easy to listen to. E is an amazing musician and doesn't get anywhere near enough credit as he should. I prefer Eels with strings though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

With Strings: Live At Town Hall
With Strings: Live At Town Hall by Eels (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews