Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
Ms. C. N. Barton-jones "CBJ" (Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satie: Piano Music (DECCA The Originals) (Audio CD)
Having listened to many different interpretations of this, I really do believe that this version by Pascall Roge is the best. Others are too slow or wooden and drag the pieces down, this keeps the humour and mystery. I really can't fault the recording - definately the one to get. The delivery was quick and the item was exactly as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satie: Piano Music (DECCA The Originals) (Audio CD)
This is a particularly sensitive interpretation of Satie's work, slightly slower and somehow more thoughtful than other recordings I have heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A master, 19 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Satie: Piano Music (DECCA The Originals) (Audio CD)
Pascal Rogé is the uncrowned king of Satie, no doubt about it. The CD features solid and beautiful playing all the way through, and Rogé really manages to catch the mood of the different pieces, i.e. the mysterious nature of the first Gnosienne. The sound is great all the way through; I have only found a bit of noise in one track. If you're looking for some Satie, this is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good performance but not the best in my opinion, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satie: Piano Music (DECCA The Originals) (Audio CD)
I am a fan of Pascal Roge, I have CD's of him playing Debussy and Ravel and they are brilliant. However when it comes to Eric Satie I personally prefer the 1968 recording by Frank Glazer (available as a US import on VoxBox). Roge seems to try a bit too hard in the Gymnopedies to infuse the music with feeling whereas Glazer plays it in a less mannered and more straightforward way which lets the music's subtle haunting beauty come out in a more natural way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic Satie performances, 28 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Satie: Piano Music (DECCA The Originals) (Audio CD)
This is a marvellous disc and. In my case it heads the list with the controversial De Leeuw performances which are very much more spaciously conceived. I enjoy and would not want to be without either disc for the totally different perspectives they throw on these extraordinary piano works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An acquired taste, 11 Aug. 2012
By 
Mariana (West Country, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satie: Piano Music (DECCA The Originals) (Audio CD)
I bought this CD to replace a very old and much used cassette. Satie's music is an acquired taste but I've liked it from the first time I heard it. If you like light piano music this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am very happy with it, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satie: Piano Music (DECCA The Originals) (Audio CD)
Exactly as described. Quick delivery. I am very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars haunting!, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satie: Piano Music (DECCA The Originals) (Audio CD)
Satie has a really original style. I bought the CD for the 2 famous pieces, and none of the others quite matches up but it is still a very good listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satie: Piano Music (DECCA The Originals) (Audio CD)
Relaxing piano pieces
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Satie: Piano Music (DECCA The Originals)
Satie: Piano Music (DECCA The Originals) by Pascal Rogé (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews