Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars45
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2013
The definitive account conducted by the composer, but styles of singing have evolved in the last 50 years as witnessed by the latest version brilliantly performed at the 50th anniversary in Coventry Cathedral in 2012.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
An honest performance showing Britten with his best clean scoring The work's plan is both original and successful for me. The vocal content I find satisfying, to relax and meditate with...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
Bought the original recording on vinyl when it first came out (I still have the vinyl but no player) so delighted I could still get it on CD - still as wonderful as ever
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
This is the definitive recording of the War Requiem as originally imagined by the composer. Not that this is the only way of doing it, as others have shown, but the performance here is absolutely stunning as is the recording by John Culshaw. It still sounds fabulous after 50 years. What genius Culshaw was!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 March 2012
I first heard this version during the late 1980s on LP and was very impressed with not only the recording, but more importantly the performance. Now recognised as a classic work of a great composer, this version can never be surpassed. I have also heard another version recorded by Sir Simon Rattle with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Elisabeth Soderstrom, Robert Tear and Thomas Allen being the soloists. This dates from 1983. I enjoyed the performance, but the recording was terribly unbalanced with the soloists being too far forward and the orchestra barely audible at times. This version, produced by John Culshaw is wonderfully balanced throughout, with the soloists being clear and the orchestra and chorus sounding just right, never too loud, or too soft. It is an extraordinary work, profoundly moving at times, depicting the horrors of war, rather than glorifying it. The poems of Wilfred Owen, who was killed in action barely a week before the armistice in November 1918, bear the testament of a lost youth, 'My subject is War, and the pity of War. The Poetry is in the Pity. . . .All a poet can do is warn.' Supreme words indeed.

Benjamin Britten in his wisdom, had composed a work of genius by interspersing nine poems of Owen along with the Latin text of the Requiem Mass, thus creating one of the great choral works of the 20th century.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
There is plenty for others to add in new recordings but the original is priceless. The addition of the recording of the rehearsals is quite revealing too: interesting to hear Britten's unqualified enthusiasm for Vishnevskaya's voice and his dry sense of humour. So much has been said about this recording that there's nothing for me to add. No serious collection should be without it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Wonderful to have this legendary recording to accompany the B&H Masterworks score.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
This recording is the definitive recording of this music. The three soloists that this music was written for, with the composer conducting. It's deeply moving.
Everything is here working together to make the idea of this marvellous music alive.
I would especially point out the Fischer-Dieskau and Pears parts where two extremely intelligent singers understand what they sing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
Very moving - good to hear the original so well produced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
I listened to the original broadcast way back in the 60's and was very impressed then and still get the same feeling hearing it again The voices are quite beautiful as is the whole concept of the production Although I am no real music buff ,I certainly can understand the message B B was sending.Quite brilliant
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£21.36
£14.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)