Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sing Hosannah...
...I SHALL have minibites this Christmas...AND BEYOND!!!

At last! The greatest TV comedy sketch show in recent (or ancient) history, is finally available on DVD. Words can't really do justice to the freewheeling, anarchic genius of this truly glorious show. Its funny, I never really liked the Big Night Out, and Ive not enjoyed much of Vic and Bob's output...
Published on 15 April 2006 by Steve

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gibberish
God knows what people ever found funny about these two and this series. Wacky? Ireverent? Painfully unfunny and typical of the waste of money that went into some "comedy" in the 1990s.
Published 2 months ago by smudge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sing Hosannah..., 15 April 2006
By 
Steve (By DUNDEE Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Smell of Reeves & Mortimer - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
...I SHALL have minibites this Christmas...AND BEYOND!!!

At last! The greatest TV comedy sketch show in recent (or ancient) history, is finally available on DVD. Words can't really do justice to the freewheeling, anarchic genius of this truly glorious show. Its funny, I never really liked the Big Night Out, and Ive not enjoyed much of Vic and Bob's output since, but I think that's because I remember watching the first series of Smell.. as a kid, and was so knocked out by it that nothing they've done since could ever come close to it.

The first series was crammed full of more great ideas than probably every other TV sketch show in history put together. Vic and Bob positively filled the comedy cup to the brim with delriously brilliant daftness, then let it overflow, just for good measure. Further, it was a musical, as much as a comedy treat. The intro songs were catchy, lyrically inspired and brilliantly choreographed. And unlike the Big Night Out-where Bob was a mere sidekick- here he is a proper comedy partner. Indeed Vic and Bob's love-hate relationship has never been more brilliantly captured than here. Also, whereas the BNO was more or less straightforward vaudeville, here the feel is much more cohesive- the sketches and gags segue into one another in an almost dreamlike way which suits the show's total absurdity.

There are too many highlights to mention in the first series. There's the priceless interview with "Lovejoy" (aka Bob talking in a cod-Red Indian accent), there's the exploits of Gregory Mitchell and "Corky." There's the Reeves and Mortimer products sketches, (Such as "Quack-quack and alco-comb," and the "Convex boundary fence tax-evasion system"), and of course, the sheer lunacy of Uncle Peter, a character who makes you wonder if he's acting, or whether he genuinely has been released from a lunatic asylum. The show seems to teeter on the edge of anarchy at times, and yet, like all great comedy, there is method to the madness.

Like Im Alan Partridge (the only other recent British comedy show which has made me laugh till I almost died), the first series was significantly better than the second. But its worth having series 2, if only for the spoofs of Masterchef ("Its a shoe-cake. A cake-a-shoe, cake-like-a-shoe"), Stars in the Their Eyes, and "Bob's Organ" ("New York, Madrid, HULL- the whole world!")

The scandalous thing is, nobody I know watched the first series of this veritably prescious cultural artefact. So do yourself a favour and rectify the sitauation now- after all, its a Reeves and Mortimer product -"and that's about as good a guarantee of satisfaction, as you can get." (wink)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 18Nickington8, 29 April 2006
By 
Stu M (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Smell of Reeves & Mortimer - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
When Vic and Bob moved from Channel 4 to the BBC, it wasn't obvious how they could better themselves from the superb Big Night Out. The pair introduced mainstream surreal humour, and were the first comedians to move away from the 'alternative' scene that had dominated the 1980s with the Elton/Fry/Mayall set.

Smell Of is more Big Night Out humour, with a clearer bigger budget and a little more mainstream aim. Did it come off? Totally. Although, in my opinion, Big Night Out was (by far) the funnier, this is still Premiership comedy. Vic and Bob started 'impersonations' in this series, though the term is used loosely - check out Bob as Noel Edmonds - not a real attempt at the man but something that is even funnier than your standard 'close as you can get' mimic.

The more surreal bits are the funnier. The Black and White scenes with the foodstuffs are brilliant and blinding. Jack Dent and Eric Potter are hilarious (Eclair Application Unit being my personal highlight of the series).

If you were a fan of V&B or even just surreal humour as a rule, you should get this. It's not dated at all, and watch out for earlier appearances of Steve Coogan and Rebecca Front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WARNING THIS IS CUT!!! But it's still good., 18 April 2006
By 
A. Allen "AndrewMerthyr" (Merthyr Tydfil, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Smell of Reeves & Mortimer - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
If you already have this on VHS in the Red & Blue editions that came out a few years ago, be prepared to be a little disappointed as this has been cut back to the original TV versions.

If you've never seen the extended versions then it's not a problem, but remembering the bits they've cut out is a bit distracting at times.

Also be advised that there are NO extras whatsoever on the discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SWEET SMELL OF SUCCESS, 20 May 2006
This review is from: The Smell of Reeves & Mortimer - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
How sweet it is that, during a time of mediocre, tidy-bearded comedy, this was ever even commissioned by the BBC. Talking Cockney dogs, songs about loose muesli and Bergerac's laundry sack, pants Lovejoy impressions, untucked cowboy boots... it's got everything. Simply magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I...LOVE the smell of this!, 13 May 2008
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Smell of Reeves & Mortimer - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Barmy. Mental. Surreal. Hilarious. Those are only a VERY few words to describe the true, one-of-a-kind, creative genius that is Reeves and Mortimer. I remember so clearly watching The Smell of Reeves and Mortimer when I was a child and just rolling on the floor laughing my head off. And that's something I'm NOT ashamed to admit, as it is clearly justifiable. Thirteen years after the final episode was broadcast back in 1995, this series remains as funny as ever.

Big Night Out, Bang Bang, Shooting Stars and Catterick were all staggeringly brilliant, but personally, I consider The Smell Of to be Vic and Bob's best work. Filled with awesome intros, classic sketches, unforgettable characters, superb adverts, great songs and literally non-stop laughter, every episode is virtually perfect.

This DVD set features every episode ever of The Smell Of. There are twelve in total which make up the two series, spread across the two discs. No extras, unfortunately. But there is an episode/scene selection, along with subtitles. On the back of the DVD case, the BBC does warn the purchaser of variation of sound/picture quality, which is really unnecessary. I've watched every episode on this 2-disc set and the quality is all-round excellent. In terms of both picture and sound, I can't fault it in any way. The transfer has come off so smoothly.

Each episode does NOT dissappoint. Every single half-hour installment is absolutely packed with vintage Vic and Bob absurdity and genius, and the laugh factor is off the scale. Expect to see classic sketches based on popular TV shows (such as Country File, Stars In Your Eyes, and the outstanding Master Chef sketch), adverts for all kinds of bizarre products (like Dietboard, Dogs And Their Hats and Jefferson's Eye Correcting Fluid), products from the Reeves and Mortimer range, and dives into that Cup-A-Soup Feeling with Slade (In Residence and On Holiday).

And then, of course, there's all the great characters Vic and Bob have created for this series. Marvel at the farting French men (Le Corbussier et Papin), comfort yourself with the soul music of Mulligan and O'Hare, get the best advice around from Otis Redding and Marvin Gaye, listen to the proposals of Councillors Cox and Evans, laugh at Pat Wright and Dave Arrowsmith (men who wear bras) and love the antics of true favourites/heroes/icons Greg Mitchell (the gorgeous, sandy-coloured Labrador), the `Booze F' Baby' Man, and of course, the one-and-only Uncle Peter.

I haven't even mentioned the special guest appearances, yet. You can expect to see the likes of Matt Lucas, Paul Whitehouse, Mark Williams, Charlie Higson and Sting (among others) in sketches that are made even more special because of their guest roles. There're also great songs, German-singing owls, the GREATEST pan fights ever in Reeves and Mortimer history...among countless other surprises that'll have you creased up in hysterics guaranteed.

There's plenty of reason why I believe this to be the best incarnation of Vic and Bob. They're all great, but The Smell of Reeves and Mortimer is number one for me. Mainly because it started it all. It was their first proper double-act/series together (unlike Big Night Out) and was truly groundbreaking in its day. Over a decade later, the slapstick violence, wicked parodies, and unmatched madness has withstood the test of time with no trouble at all. And it'll doubtless continue to do so.

At such a bargain price, and featuring every episode ever made, The Smell of Reeves and Mortimer is truly essential for all fans of Vic and Bob, and comedy in general. Now all we need is some DVD releases of Shooting Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you looking at my bra?, 11 April 2006
By 
B. Lawes (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smell of Reeves & Mortimer - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
If you are looking at this page then you are probably a fan of the wonderful Vic and Bob. This timely release comes as a generation of new talent list R&M as a major influence, reaching from Little Britain to Dick and Dom in da Bungalow.
Baffling many viewers when it first arrived on the BBC, R&M's surreal, anarchic and sometimes downright disturbing brand of comedy divided viewers, but those of us who got it were in for a treat in these two series. This is the boys at their best, before the mass appeal of Shooting Stars, and with a greater budget and ambition than Big Night Out, and sees huge numbers of comic gems whizz past, the Bra Men, Le Corbusier et Pipin, Mulligan and O'Hare, Councillors Cox and Evans, The Stotts, Marvin Gaye and Otis Reading, Slade and so on, linked by the pant wettingly funny desk chats. Frying pans have never looked the same since.
So no doubts that this is a five star DVD. For the programme.
For the DVD package it is a definite NO stars! No extra features at all and an ugly menu system that looks like it was knocked up in five minutes.
Surely this could have been a fantastic package, think of the outtakes, deleted scenes and alternate versions of sketches there must be out there. Imagine a commentry from Vic and Bob, or the host of supporting actors who appeared, or from the production crew. How about scripts, Vic's drawings, promotional goods, TV trailers? What a wasted opportunity!
If you are a fan of R&M you will no doubt get this, but don't expect anything that wasn't on the video version.
That said it is worth the asking price to enjoy two comedy greats on top form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Off the wall, 7 April 2010
By 
L. A. Pyne-edwards (Derby. England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Smell of Reeves & Mortimer - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
For me Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer can do no wrong as far as comedy goes. I have seen them live years ago and followed their progress and still think they are underated and should be up there with Morecombe and Wise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hmmmmmm.....Kent, 12 Sep 2009
This review is from: The Smell of Reeves & Mortimer - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The pinnacle of absurdity; 'Squirrel in hot bucket of trout = racial harmony'... At 16, i found Big night Out an unbelievable oddysey of complete and utter rhubarb - but that's what made it brilliant... However, the comic brilliance and consistency of Vic and Bob's Smell Sketches i doubt has ever been bettered since... You'd have to have some sort of condition not to find this funny - whatever your taste, it's just a real shame that they don't intend to write more sketches.... For me, only the superb Big Train, or the now tiresome re-runs of the Fast Show have ever come close in recent times..... I just wish they hadn't let it lie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 11 Jun 2014
By 
Christopher While "chris-while" (Huntingdonshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smell of Reeves & Mortimer - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this when it was first broadcast, still as mental as it was then. Love it, never gets old for me - as true lunacy doesn't. Mulligan and O'Hare are surely one of the funniest duos of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old school, 10 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Smell of Reeves & Mortimer - The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
These guys are as funny has I remember although it is clear they must of been on some form of illegal substance . Irony is possibly the funniest form of humour and these guys gave that in an abundance . One word to overview mental !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Smell of Reeves & Mortimer - The Complete Collection [DVD]
4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews