Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars103
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2015
Great photography ,acting and a wonderful story line.Funny and sad in turn.british TV at its best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
I loved the books on which this series is based and really enjoyed the tv dramatisation in 1987. Even though it is now 23 years old, the series is just as good as ever, maybe the colour and the quality are not quite as clear as HDD, but in every other respect it's so wonderful that you don't notice. The story is ostensibly about the marriage of Harriet and Guy, played by very young Emma Thompson and Kenneth Branagh, but its more about a set of characters set against the backdrop of war than a narrative of events, and they are all beautifully developed and brilliantly acted. The only frustrating thing about it is that you want more when it is finished!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Excellent value
and service!
Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this on TV years ago. Doubly enjoyed seeing the young Emma Thompson and Kenneth Brannagh, as well as excellent performances from so many well known actors. Captures the mood of the books so well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Arrived quickly and safely, many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
I cannot think of anything about this DVD that could have been improved. The first-rate story, the acting, the photography and the characters themselves - quite perfect for me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
A 'modern' period drama from a time I am old enough to remember; superbly acted as the quality of the actors would suggest. Highly recommended, quality entertainment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
I confess I was looking forward very much to watching these discs.
What could go wrong? I had read the excellent trilogy of novels, the cast list was excellent, the locations superb, the scriptwriter renowned. What did go wrong was that Robert Louis Stevenson's maxim about the only art being the art of omission was totally ignored. The novels are incident packed, but the novels had space, probably about a thousand pages of space. Yet there was barely an episode that wasn't faithfully included. The result:- no cohesion, no tension, no involvement by the viewer.
It seemed a sure-fire one-star washout after the first two episodes. If it hadn't picked up later, I doubt I would ever have finished it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Very well acted. In particular, the actor who played Prince Yaki - superb acting. They make it look so easy that you forget they are acting a part.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
amm now a fan of Kenneth branagh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)