Customer Reviews


227 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing visuals, AI, almost everything
Yes the game does involve pretty much level after level of shooting people and in that sense is repetitive. However, this is clearly not something that makes it a bad game. Any genre of game is the same. A first person shooter will always be primarily shooting people and to use this as an excuse to rate the game badly is purely wrong and useless to someone wishing to buy...
Published on 21 Mar 2009 by MB2009SX

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a good solid game but not as blow away as people make out!
This is a good solid First Person shooter game, one which i got with my PS3 as part of a bundle. It's got a good story-line but there's no excitement nor any "blow away sections". You'll have more fun playing Resistance 2 over this campaign wise and get more kicks playing Call of Duty multi-player wise.

I have never understood the high rating people give this...
Published on 8 Aug 2012 by MrE


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing visuals, AI, almost everything, 21 Mar 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killzone 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Yes the game does involve pretty much level after level of shooting people and in that sense is repetitive. However, this is clearly not something that makes it a bad game. Any genre of game is the same. A first person shooter will always be primarily shooting people and to use this as an excuse to rate the game badly is purely wrong and useless to someone wishing to buy this.

The game levels are nicely designed to offer changes of scenery, and frequent uses of different tanks, mounted guns, mobile weapons and vehicles breaks the gameplay up and it almost always feels fresh. The visuals are simply amazing, the effects and graphics superior to any current console game on either Xbox 360 or PS3.

Fanboy arguments aside, this is simply an excellent game and had it been available on the Xbox 360 it wouldn't be getting so many false reviews claiming bad handling etc from people who are obviously Microsoft fanboys or employees.

If you don't believe the hype, try the demo first and then buy when you see how amazing the visuals and gameplay is right from the opening level, where it is very difficult to see where the cutscene ends and actual game play graphics begin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 STARS. ENOUGH SAID, 24 April 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Killzone 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Action-packed. Incredible graphics. Better atmosphere. Not much of a story, but who cares? Before even starting you know this will be a death orgy - the opening, with the game's incredible dubbing, puts you into place.
Pros:
-It may be because I haven't that much time to play, but it's turning out to be MUCH longer than what I expected. I thought I was near the end when I realized I was only 53% through!
-Even if the story and the main game DOES get short, the fun only goes on with it's near flawless online game.
Cons:
-I've heard many complaints on the controls, and, honestly, I've never had a problem. Try turning round fast with a 2 stone gun in your hands! And besides, you can always tune up the turning speed...
-Apart from that... ummm... NONE! Get it NOW.
A PS3 doesn't deserve the lack of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killzone 2 - The pinnacle FPS?, 30 Nov 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Killzone 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
In answer to the title question, I would have to say no; there is still room for improvement. This review focuses exclusively on the single-player campaign.

Firstly, many of the good points of Killzone 2 have been discussed in previous reviews thoroughly. It is a fantastically immersive, gritty FPS and looks superb. The AI is breathtaking and something which has to be experienced in my opinion - each and every Helghast soldier is more than capable of shooting you from a decent distance and seriously damaging your health. You have to be alert and accurate to make it through this game, as well as tactful, particularly on the harder difficulties.

I never had a problem with the controls or aiming - yes it isn't made easy but it's supposed to be like that. You really do tense up when you've unloaded a whole clip into inefficiently downing 2 Helghast, to have to reload while more storm in through a doorway. It's fantastic stuff.

So why 4 stars? Well, I played and adored the original Killzone game, which generally didn't seem to be met with the praise I thought it thoroughly deserved. What I loved about the original were the varied and sometimes gorgeous environments, from a shopping centre to an idyllic park populated with Helghast to pick off. Killzone 2, however good-looking it is, simply doesn't have environments that are as impressive. I understand it is purposefully dark and gritty as it is set on the Helghast's wrecked homeworld of Helghan, but the problem is despite being effective it just doesn't make the game as fun to play!

Another fairly major issue is your teammates' AI. The Helghast take cover, pop up, jump away from grenades, charge you, etc. Your teammates, unfortunately, don't seem blessed with the desire for self-preservation and so often stand in the open to get mown down it can be very frustrating. Even the other members of your squad do this and fall in terribly exposed locations, so that you have to run out under heavy enemy fire to revive them and benefit from their added firepower. If the squad members' AI were much better, this would make the game feel truly incredible.

Another few more minor points. The music, which was at times superb in the original Killzone, is largely unmemorable and ultimately disappointing. Great video game scores can turn an average game into a good one and a good game into an excellent one, as developers are increasingly realising. Further, some of the battles in Killzone 2 are excellent, but others do seem a little annoying in their difficultly, particularly on hard. For gamers like me who enjoy standing back to pick off enemies efficiently and being able to utilise all sorts of cover, being exposed to a ton of Helghast with little help from teammates in an enclosed arena can be frustrating.

Overall, I've written this review to emphasise the negative points of this game. Don't get me wrong, though, it is still an excellent game with great action, challenging enemy AI, superb graphics and some good battle scenarios. For any PS3 owner I would say this is a game you almost definitely should own - just don't expect the world from it. 88%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breathtaking Experience, 1 Mar 2009
By 
D. M. STEANE (Kirkcaldy, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Killzone 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Killzone 2 delivers in almost every way on the hype that has built up over the past year or so, and so the way we play First-Person Shooters may have been changed forever. From the superb and high quality campaign, to the simply amazing and unique online multi-player experience, which could steal many COD players from 'World at War' and even 'Modern Warfare'...It's opening video is truly unique, and although the game is broadcast in 720p, the graphics are second to none, with each level having it's own astonishing setting and landscape. Put simply, the visuals in Killzone are superb.

Gameplay may take some getting used to, but for veterans of FPS's (who I'm sure the game is aimed at, hence the 18 rating) it shouldn't take long, and then you are soon left drooling over many hours of a simply unforgettable experince. This is more than continued in the online multi-player, which can take players to a whole new level of gaming. FYI, there is NO offline split-screen in K2. Though this could be called a flaw, it's hardly a letdown to the experience. In my opinion, K2 online is a mixture between Resistance and COD, with it being mainly related to the latter. Although the ribbons and medals are similar to that of R2, they are much more thoroughly thought out and well-presented. Presentation is also one of Killzone's very strong points. Simple, yet still enough to give you what you need to know.

Overall, Killzone is a PS3 exclusive simply not to be missed. Unique in almost every way, this FPS is most certainly the future for all gaming. Sony, I salute you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full Campaign Review, 28 Feb 2009
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Killzone 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Exclusive titles come under the most intense scrutiny. If this were a multi-format release, the majority of players would admire what Guerilla has achieved here. Similarly, if PS3's immediate future didnt rest soley with Killzone 2, expectations would be more realistic. Admittedly the developers havent helped their situation.
The now infamous 2005 video lodged Killzone 2 high on wish lists. Whilst the visuals don't match that remarkable CGI film, it comes respectably close. It is the most attractive game on PS3, and aside from shelling out thousands on a PC capable of running Crysis, it's the prettiest shooter ever made.

The biggest surprise is the fact there's some real substance behind those stunning good looks. Killzone 2 takes the full bodied realism approach to the next level; it feels slow at first, but everything moves deliberately, with weight and purpose. Throwing a grenade, reloading and even movement takes longer than usual. It lends Killzone 2 an element of tension usually absent from shooters, and is much better for it.
The cover system works like a dream; differentiating itself from similar set ups, but remaining intuitive and relaible. Although controls can't be specifically mapped, theres a wide selction of schemes available. Alt 2 moves the gun sight to L1, which is far more instinctive, as Call of Duty addicts will agree.
Movie clips are done with the in-game engine, and are spectacularly directed. Its also impressive that Guerilla has managed to squeeze some new ideas out of the exhausted space marines concept. Somehow, Alpha squads story feels involving and (in places) unpredictable.
Variations in combat are brilliantly done. Controlling an exo-skeleton is a real highlight. Manning a battle cannon to defend the ISA fleet is also superbly handled, both visually and mechanically. Subtle touches, like rotating the loading screen picture, make presentation top notch. Six-axis controls for planting C4, and turning cranks, are also brilliant innovations.

But Killzone 2 isnt perfect. Headshots rarely count, and when overwhelmed, proves frustrating. The game also jerks violently when loading the next section. The optimum HD display is only 720p, which was surprising to find no 1080 options. Not that the visuals need improving. Only being able to carry one weapon (as well as a pistol), can also lead to unintentionally difficult moments. Yet makes combat brutally realistic.
Minor flaws however. This feels like the most exciting, genre defining shooter since Call of Duty 4. It really is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a good solid game but not as blow away as people make out!, 8 Aug 2012
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Killzone 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a good solid First Person shooter game, one which i got with my PS3 as part of a bundle. It's got a good story-line but there's no excitement nor any "blow away sections". You'll have more fun playing Resistance 2 over this campaign wise and get more kicks playing Call of Duty multi-player wise.

I have never understood the high rating people give this game because after play it there are many that come first. Crysis, Battlefield, Medal of Honor to name a few. Killzone 3 is much better and worth playing but this is a slight let down and the campaign is boring after a while

PROS: graphics look good, weapons are cool, audio and cinematics are great, story-line is good

CONS: multi-player sucks in my view and the game does get boring after a while.

VERDICT: Good to play once or twice but i would honestly recommend you skip this and just get Killzone 3 instead as that is by far a better game!

It's OK but i would rent before you buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 11 Sep 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Killzone 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
One of the best shooters on the ps3. The graphics in this game is top notch one of the best i've seen for fps shooters and gameplay is solid, 10/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the zone again, 24 Jun 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Killzone 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Thanks to the hype surrounding the release of Killzone 3 I found myself finally picking up and dusting off Killzone 1 and 2 recently. Killzone 1 was a solid FPS on the PS2 which some believed was the best game of its kind on that machine, I actually preferred Black but that's another review.
After completing Killzone I waited a short while before trying out Killzone 2 and considering this was on the more powerful PS3 I was expecting big things and to some degree I wasn't disappointed. It does all the things that a major title is supposed to do with regards to providing entertainment as its is easy on the eye and still one of the better looking PS3 games to date and it has quite a high excitement factor. The campaign mode has a solid story set a few years after the original instalment but there are new characters introduced along with a couple of the older familiar faces for fans of the first game.
For fans of the first game you will see that the action set pieces have been ramped up a notch form their already crazy level. Most games have an absolutely mental action scene maybe once at a push twice throughout the whole game (yes COD franchise I'm looking at you) Killzone 2 is one big crazy action set piece and leaves you wondering when the next rare quiet patch is going to come. This is good for fans of shoot first ask questions later approach but if you are a fan of a stealth approach then you might not enjoy this title as there is none of that going on here.
The AI as on the first title also make life difficult as they tend to range from suicidal to just random running around all while shooting at you with a scatter gun approach. Not a negative as it does keep you on your toes as they don't stick to a repeated plan of attack.

Sounds all good so far right, but this title is far from perfect and suffers in the following areas -
The loading almost every few steps is a bit annoying and is my major gripe with the game as when it loads there is a split second of a pause, rather than causing any significant impact on your game it is just annoying and I expect better on the PS3.
My second major gripe is your squad members AI is poor considering how good the Helghast AI is ... the amount of times that they randomly run into your line of fire or just stand in your way will get even the most patient player wanting to throw their pad in frustration. This is also not taking into consideration the amount of times you will have to revive them as they run blindly into an enemy attack.

Overall this is a good game and for a budget price well worth a look if you fancy something different from your FPS. I will eventually get around to Killzone 3 to see if its improved on this fairly solid effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killzone 2, 30 Aug 2010
By 
Bruno Macedo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Killzone 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
I've played Killzone 1 in PS2 and i had to buy this one.
Even tough i'm not in the mood to play shooters, i have to confess that this one is a good one.
It's also good cause you can found it cheap everywhere. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but enjoyable, 14 April 2010
By 
Mr H (Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Killzone 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
If you enjoy a full is action packed shoot em up then this game is definitely worth a play . Lots of Helghast 'soldiers' in a dark alien world environment. Not that much choice in the way of enemy tactical attack, just hoards of them time after time, getting quicker to move in on you as the game progresses. The landscape is finished nicely but is often Sev (the player you represent) lurking in amongst shadows and darkness. Weapon choice exists but not massive. I enjoyed it, but won't play again or keep, it will be traded in for something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killzone 2 (PS3)
Killzone 2 (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews