Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Welsh
Welsh actor Richard Burton had one of the greatest voices ever captured on record. Dylan Thomas was one of the finest poets ever to emerge from Wales. Put them together and you have one of the most joyously beautiful recordings you can hope for. Burton was always a wonderful reciter of poetry, and his readings of 15 of Dylan's poems on this CD are amongst his very best...
Published on 25 Aug. 2006 by Katinka Broersen

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The recording is not very clear and the volume is ...
The recording is not very clear and the volume is substandard requiring the volume to be turned up high, subsequently when the next CD in the unit comes on it blasts your ears requiring that volume returned to normal.

In all i would have preferred to pay extra and received a quality recording.
David Wheeler
Published 5 months ago by D A Wheeler


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Welsh, 25 Aug. 2006
By 
Katinka Broersen (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard Burton Reads Dylan Thomas (Audio CD)
Welsh actor Richard Burton had one of the greatest voices ever captured on record. Dylan Thomas was one of the finest poets ever to emerge from Wales. Put them together and you have one of the most joyously beautiful recordings you can hope for. Burton was always a wonderful reciter of poetry, and his readings of 15 of Dylan's poems on this CD are amongst his very best work. He reads them with passion, wit, love and reverence. His reading of 'Fern Hill' is my personal favourite, but all of them are wonderful.

The CD also includes two of Thomas's short stories, read by Hugh Griffiths and Emlyn Williams. I cannot recommend this recording highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing, 10 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Burton Reads Dylan Thomas (Audio CD)
You MUST MUST MUST buy this album.
If the poet and the poetry was not already legendary then the voice of Burton makes it one of the great works of recorded literature.
a voice like sticky molasses running down a golden teaspoon.
It send shivers up and down your spine. The only way you can fail to be moved by this collection is if you are already dead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richard Burton reads the Poetry of his friend Dylan Thomas, 22 Sept. 2011
By 
Malcolm (Edlesborough, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Burton Reads Dylan Thomas (Audio CD)
Those who are poetry lovers will already be familiar with Dylan Thomas written word, but here we have selected Thomas favourites read by the late great Richard Burton.

In My Craft and Sullen Art, Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night, And Death Shall Have No Dominion, to list but three of the most chosen of Thomas works by radio listeners are read here by Richard Burton. 15 tracks in all, with two bonus tracks, Return Journey - excerpt by Hugh Griffith. A Visit To Grandpa's read by Emlyn Williams taken from Homage to Dylan Thomas recorded at the Globe Theatre, London in 1954.

Although these recordings are old ones, ( Thomas died in 1953 ) and his drinking pal and close friend, Burton, ( died in 1984 ) they are still of favourable quality with Burton's mellifluous tones bringing them from the page and giving them a life of their own.

If you like to hear your favourite poems as well as read them, then this is a must buy for fans of Dylan Thomas and Richard Burton alike.Two welsh buddies united in death.
When Burton died in 1984 he was buried with a copy of Dylan Thomas Collected Poems, perhaps he still reads them aloud in the afterlife!
The CD has a playing time of 73 minutes. Regis Records 2006
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven, 24 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Richard Burton Reads Dylan Thomas (Audio CD)
Divine, last listened to the recording in 1962 on an old scratched vinyl "portable" player strapped that travelled around Wales on my motorbike. Thanks "Old Ramrod"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have not heard this, you lack something., 3 Nov. 2009
By 
M. Taplin "mikekoi" (Weston-super-Mare, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Richard Burton Reads Dylan Thomas (Audio CD)
I knew, I had heard, I had seen dramatised versions of the works of Dylan Thomas. Richard Burtons voice is superb at setting the scene and taking you through the scenarios. Very special. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burton's voice, 16 July 2013
By 
Mrs. Vivien Mumford (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Burton Reads Dylan Thomas (Audio CD)
Richard Burton's voice is perfect, reads perfectly, It wouldn't matter what he read, but the fact that he reads the wonderful Dylan Thomas's work is heaven. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Richard Burton the voice of Wales, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Burton Reads Dylan Thomas (Audio CD)
Burton at his best, reading Thomas, what more could you ask for , a classic, and should be compulsive to the education of our children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars made in wales, 28 Feb. 2009
By 
K. Axton "kim" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard Burton Reads Dylan Thomas (Audio CD)
ive read both other reviews and take the negative point of quality in one and agree wholely with all the positive in the other.i forgive the negative for this stunning piece.enjoyed over and over.the whole of under milk wood recorded by burton,an open fire,my terrier and an old glass of port.heaven
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The shouting boy, 12 Jun. 2014
By 
Brian Pickering "bpick" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Burton Reads Dylan Thomas (Audio CD)
There is no better example of poetry declaimed than the performance of Dylan Thomas reading his own work. I do not like it much. Richard Burton had range, the permanent threat of extreme passion poised to invade our imagination but always with a little in reserve just to show you who is in control and the promise of tranquil beauty heightened by the contrast. The combination of Thomas' words and Burton's resonance is irresistable . This is how it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect combination, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Richard Burton Reads Dylan Thomas (Audio CD)
Both Thomas and Burton are acquired tastes but it is a perfect pairing. Both have a fine delight in the sounds, the rythms and the meanings of words. Both squandered their talent in ultimately fatal self-indulgence. It is interesting to compare Burton's reading with Thomas's own old-fashioned declamatory style. Burton makes every word punch its weight which is what they deserve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews