Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massivily Attacking The Airwaves
Now normally i'm not really one to buy greatest hits albums but with this one i just couldn't resist.Massive Attack that helped (along with Portishead and Tricky)define the poignant trip-hop genre that was popular throughout the 90's this is a great run down of what Massive Attack are about and if your new to them this album is essential.

1.Safe From Harm -...
Published on 13 May 2006 by Phill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great
Its good to hear different versions of songs from a great band, but im not 100% sold on this album. I still feel "Blue lines" and "Protection" are what you need in your download/CD collection!
Published 15 months ago by khuggins


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massivily Attacking The Airwaves, 13 May 2006
This review is from: Collected - The Best Of Massive Attack : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Now normally i'm not really one to buy greatest hits albums but with this one i just couldn't resist.Massive Attack that helped (along with Portishead and Tricky)define the poignant trip-hop genre that was popular throughout the 90's this is a great run down of what Massive Attack are about and if your new to them this album is essential.

1.Safe From Harm - Taken from their debut 'Blue Lines' and features some great vocal stylings of Shara Nelson this is one of the highlights and one of my favourite songs overall 10/10

2.Karmacoma - This is one of the only songs im not crazy about the vocalist just seems to babble about..well nothing really it's one of the on duds on her 4/10

3.Angel - This is an interesting song it features the legendary roots reggae singer Horace Andy and the song is a rehash of his own song "You Are My Angel" its one of the most sexiest...yes this song is very sexy to me anyway and Horace Andy's vocals are fantastic this sounds great through headphones 10/10

4.Teardrop - My absolute favourite and i'm not alone here this song was not only Massive Attack's biggest hit but its the song that made them a mainstream success with the so-beautiful-it-hurts vocals by the former Cocteau Twins singer Elizabeth Fraser this is also a very sexy song it was accompanied by a very artist and ahead of its time video which till this day still leaves me gobsmacked everytime i see it this also stands as one of my favourite songs of all time 10/10

5.Inernia Creeps - A cool song with a eastern influence one of the most original songs on the CD i would say. Again the same vocalist from track 2 but this time it works and turns out to be a satisfactory song it has a very good build up 10/10

6.Protection - Taken from the album of the same name this song as guest vocals from Tracy Thorn who sang in the group Everything But The Girl this song is the longest clocking over 7 minutes its a great song and Tracy's voice is just mesmerising i played this song alot and for some reason it reminded me of Beth Orton a definate highlight 10/10

7.Butterfly Caught - The song is taken from the low-key album "100th Window" (which is great by the way) a very electronic song that honestly doesnt really do anything for me it's ok to listen to once in a while but i wouldn't say it was great the minimalistic vocals are quite good and is a song that stands out but it's a bit too dancey for me 7/10

8.Unfinished Sympathy - What can i say about this song that hasn't been said already its a musical masterpiece after being said in various music polls as the best song of all time i think there is some truth there it features vocals by Shara Nelson who sang on "Safe From Harm".This is one of those ultimate "ive been done wrong" songs this is also one of my favourite songs of all time and one of the best on the album 10/10

9.Risingson - I remember catching the video to this song a long time ago and thinking "what the hell" i used to think this song was terrible but it's actually not that bad it's got a catchy vibe but again not exactly the best song but a joy to listen to once in a while 8/10

10.What Your Soul Sings - One of the best songs from "100th Window" Sinéad O'Connor lends her ethereal vocals to this great song which stands as another favourite of mine though usually quite eccentric Sinéad gives a very Beth Gibbons performance here and it shines a wonderfully beautiful song 10/10

11.Future Proof - A spacey electronica song which some cool guitars the song itself is a bit of a miss to be honest but it's not really bad at all the vocalist deep brooding voice gives it a good atmospheric feel and perceives itself quite dark 7/10

12.Five Man Army - Again with some great vocal stylings from Horace Andy although the rap by Tricky is a bit rubbish the song is cool just coz Horace Andy is on it and the song has a strong reggae influence enjoyed this one alot 9/10

13.Sly - Is a great song that features a somewhat unknown singer Nicolette her voice sounds a bit like Billie Holliday with some Erykah Badu in there somewhere this is a great song i like the panpipes in the background and the bouncy bassline good song 10/10

14.Live With Me - Is the only new song which i wasnt really impressed with when i heard it on the radio even though it performed quite well on the charts (charting at #17) the greatest thing about this song is Terry Callier's voice after hearing his music as a child it was good to hear something fresh from him 10/10

Top 5

1.Teardrop

2.Unfinished Sympathy

3.Safe From Harm

4.Live With Me

5.What My Soul Sings

You know how great Massive Attack are even though some of the tracks are not as good as others it's a good idea to check this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars raises the bar, 20 April 2006
...for all future 'greatest hits' packages.

Whilst the single-disc version is great if you simply want all the 'hits' in one place, there is so much extra stuff on the two-disc version that it is well worth the small extra cost.

It is a cliche to describe trip-hop as sounding 'cinematic', but the tracks on disc two really do sound like the soundtrack to a film (indeed, several have appeared in movies).

There is absolutely no let up in quality on disc two; all the tracks sound great, as magnificently moody as anything on the first disc.

Add the fact that you also get all the band's videos on the second disc, and it really does add up to an absolutely essential package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 3 April 2006
By A Customer
this is brilliant, worth it for the audio side of the second disc alone. plus you get the DVD and all the old favourites on top. only one problem , disc two is not recognised in a PC (well not in the 3 ive tried) so you cant put on your mp3 player (easily), plus dont do as i did and play it in your car as the dual disc is slightly thicker and wouldnt come back out until i had the dashboard apart!! anyway enough of my Frank Spencer-isms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent 'Best of' album, 9 Nov 2006
By 
Mike J. Wheeler (Kingswinford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collected - The Best Of Massive Attack : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is an excellent 'Best of' album. I must admit that Massive Attack largely passed me by when this stuff was first out. Probably my age!! I got into listening to them when I heard 'Mezzanine'. However listening to this compilation demonstrates how inventive they were. The idea of bringing guest singers in for so many of the tracks was a definite plus as it adds variety. The music is smooth all the way through. Some of it is beautiful but always dark-tinged.

Stand out tracks are 'Angel', 'Teardrop', 'Safe from Harm' and 'Unfinished Sympathy'. I would say that the better tracks are those that have female vocals but the music all round is very good. A great introduction to Massive Attack, but you should also buy 'Mezzanine' if you haven't got it.

Good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!, 11 April 2006
By 
M. Gardner "Afro Matt" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collected - The Best Of Massive Attack : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The track listing speaks for itself really, heading back in trip-hop nostalgia to Blue Lines' beautiful opener 'Safe From Harm'. There is absolutelu no lack of classic tunes here, every track is welcome. At the top of their game, Massive Attack were untouchable. This collection succeeds in showing why. A good place for Massive Attack newbies to start. If you're a veteran, chances are you've got the albums and most of these tunes already. If you're curious then this is a perfect place to begin; a fantastic 'best of' collection. Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best!, 19 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Collected - The Best Of Massive Attack : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was given this CD as a birthday present. I had never heard any Massive Attack before and I loved it as soon as I played it. As a result, I've bought nearly all their other albums. Each track is a winner. I challenge anyone to not find something on this CD which they like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class, 9 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collected - The Best Of Massive Attack : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Groundbreaking 90's Trip Hop act Massive Attack have finally put together a 'best of' spanning 1990 - 2006. The remaining two members of the band, Robert "3D" Del Naja and Grant "Daddy G" Marshall helped compile this themselves. This collection captures the highlights of the band's career and includes: 'Safe From Harm', 'Unfinished Sympathy', 'Protection', 'Angel', 'Teardrop' and new single 'Live With Me' featuring, yet again guest vocalist Terry Callier, bringing Massive Attack back to a more soulful sound like in their early days. In fact, 'Live With Me' has the same kind of chilled out, soulful groove as Gnarls Barkley's 'Crazy'. So to sum up, a fine body of work with great artwork on the front cover, and definitely an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASTERPIECE, 20 April 2006
This review is from: Collected - The Best Of Massive Attack : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I had heard of Massive Attack, but to be honest I knew nothing about the band or their music prior to this release of their greatest hits. Among first listen, I was blown away.

This is definately not a dance collection - this is pure chill out. The songs are all beautifuly crafted and seem to send you off to another world, leaving you in a dreamlike state of mind.

I was also suprised to reconise some of the songs, such as Unfinished Sympathy, Tear Drop and Angel.

All in all, a great collection of hits. If your a big fan if the band its definately worth the purchase. If your unfamilar with the works of Massive Attack like I was, then please listen and see for yourself. If not, your definately missing out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this, 5 Dec 2013
By 
pepemia (scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collected - The Best Of Massive Attack : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Sadly have to admit I'm new to massive attack. I have heard a few of there songs over the years but didn't know who they were. When I watched Luther I loved the theme tune and this is why I bought this.
I'm very pleased I did. Dark and upbeat songs intertwine on a great selection and I listen to it regularly .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collected - The Best Of Massive Attack : Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I love this, although most of the tracks are from albums I already have (Protection, Thin Blue Line, Mezzanine). Still it's nice to have a collection of the best of the three albums to play at the same time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews