Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God bless Charlie Simpson, he got there in the end
Right, so Fightstar are uncool because the lead vocalist is Charlie Simpson and he used to be the bushy-eyebrowed one in Busted.

Wrong.

Okay, so Fightstar make really bad music then.

Wrong.

So why does everyone hate them?

Because they are too scared to come out and say they love them.

Unlike me...
Published on 2 Feb 2007 by Lucas Jacobellis

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is big, but it's not entirely clever.
Following on from their tentatively, but ultimately well-received EP, Fightstar finally give us a full scale look at what they're all about: namely big, meaty chords; big, meaty vocals (from Simpson at least); big meaty production and, frankly, lackluster lyrics.

The band's talents are shown to their fullest on 'Grand Unification Pt 1', 'Paint Your Target' and...
Published on 1 May 2006 by Bebbet_2k


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God bless Charlie Simpson, he got there in the end, 2 Feb 2007
By 
Lucas Jacobellis "Jack" (South Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Grand Unification (Audio CD)
Right, so Fightstar are uncool because the lead vocalist is Charlie Simpson and he used to be the bushy-eyebrowed one in Busted.

Wrong.

Okay, so Fightstar make really bad music then.

Wrong.

So why does everyone hate them?

Because they are too scared to come out and say they love them.

Unlike me.

Grand Unification is the only album I have ever listened to which made me, after the last track finished, open the curtains just so I could make sure the earth was still there.

It isn't death metal, and it isn't emo, it's just damn good rock. From the soft Track One (To Sleep) that lures you into a false sense of security before dropping into Track Two (Grand Unification Pt1), the epic and truly magnificent Mono and even Charlie Simpson's incredible scream on Waste A Moment, this album is so good it hurts. And I mean, really, really, hurts.

Charlie Simpson should have been celebrating when Busted finished their first live performance on tour. And he was celebrating. But only because he and his bandmates from side project Fightstar had just completed a nine-track EP, most tracks of which made it to the main album.

So don't go thinking Fightstar is something CS did in desperation when Busted broke up. He was with them even before he was with Busted, and used them as a stepping stone to their recording contract. Wrong, yes, but very, very clever, and I'm sure his bandmates appreciated the sacrifice he made by getting up on a stage and singing the theme tune to the latest Thunderbirds film in front of thousands of girls barely out of training bras. Not many of us would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 31 Mar 2006
By 
J. Batabyal "Jimzilla" (Caterham, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Unification (Audio CD)
My cousin was a HUGE Busted fan, to my shame, so when he sent me a couple of Fightstar's songs, I wasn't too impressed, thinking it would be a poppy, rubbish attempt to resurrect Simpson's career.
However, I listened to them, and was immediately gripped by the strong sound and powerful vocals. So I bought their Album, and I have to say I'm very glad i did. The CD starts very melodically, and then explodes into the single Grand Unification (Part 1)
The brand new songs are interspersed with re-recordings of songs from their EP "They Liked You Better When You Were Dead" (The re-recording of Hazy Eyes I especially liked as I had only ever heard a live recorded version before)
There is a good blend of heavier, more metal material combined with softer, less hardcore Emo tracks. The disc finishes with Wake Up, a new song that bridges with a choral repetition of the title, a very good ending to an excellent album
My recommendations would be:
Grand Unification (Part 1)
Waste a Moment
Build an Army
Hazy Eyes
Last Conversation (Here Again)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album of 2006., 13 Mar 2006
This review is from: Grand Unification (Audio CD)
This album is pure brilliance. Fightstar's sonic, tight and full sound is put to the test, and it scores full marks. There are no weak songs, and the production quality is perfect, which makes the highly emotional and heartfels songs even more epic. Charlie and Al's contrasting voices fit together perfectly, when trading lines and harmonising, and the interesting vocal lines and harmonies make the songs interesting and diverse.
The guitars, when both clean and distorted, are always huge-sounding and melodic, while the basslines are always hearable and complex, without sounding confusing. The huge, epic drums perfectly compliment the riffs and more often the bass.
This album is absolutely excellent, and I challenge anyone, even if they are not a fan of the genre, to try it and not like what they hear. Top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album I Have Heard In A Long Time!, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Unification (MP3 Download)
This album for me fell nothing short of amazing! If you like rock music in the style of Finch, Funeral for a friend etc then look no further this album will blow you away! 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can They Get Any Better?, 31 May 2007
This review is from: Grand Unification (Audio CD)
This is a review for Grand Unification, Fightstars debut album and i must say what an album.

So the album starts off with the opening track of To Sleep and this an acoustic guitar thing, that i actually like and if you listen carefully i think you can here Charlie's voice. The album then bursts into the massive dropped tuned guitar simulator that is Grand Unification Pt. 1. Then slowly venturing into the third song on the album Waste A Moment which is the best screaming i have ever heard from Charlie on this album. Fourthly we have Sleep Well Tonight which is a good song and starts of really cool from violins then some massive guitars. And the best track (I Think) on the album, the extremely catchy Paint Your Target, this is an amazing song with one flaw; Charlie's screaming, it's a bit off to be honest with you it's a bit bad but atleast it fits. Then the stand out track Build an Army, it's a massive track with Alex and Charlie doing some combined vocals on this song, there is nothing wrong with it, this track is flawless. Then We have Here Again (Last Conversation) is a good track but probably one of the weakest tracks on the album and for Grand Unification that is very rare. Slowly into the dropped C (Guitar) tuned Lost Like tears In Rain, this is a very catchy, also with the biggest chorus i have ever heard. Then into the soft Open Your Eyes which is a track that does not sound anything like Fightstar but it is great. Then moving into track 10 we have the slow ballad Mono which is a good song with some heavy parts at the end. Then we have the amazing Hazy Eyes, this is one of my many favourite songs on the album and it has a good intro. Then we have the piano lead, narrated song that, Grand Unification Pt. 2, which to be honest is a rubbish track and the only rubbish track on the album. Then swiftly moving fast into Wake Up which i think Fightstar wanted to be a collection of all the songs on the album which makes it really good...

So this album has some of the best tracks i have ever heard in my life, believe me. It is great and that is the reason i gave it 5 stars. I don't think Fightstar can get any better but lets see what they can do with their follow up album "One Day Son, This Will be All Yours" i hope that will be as good as this as they had to switch record companys, which is always hard. So i would reccomend this album to Funeral For A Friend and Taking Back Sunday, and even Sepultura. So buy this album and you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Near perfect, 8 Feb 2006
This review is from: Grand Unification (Audio CD)
The debut album from Fightstar, and a wonderful mix of melody and power.
There's an obvious reason why some people don't like this band, but those people are pondlife.

A few songs from the e.p made it onto this CD and were given the re-recording treatment and some little changes were made, which I'm not sure I like (compared to the original) but thats just because I listened to that E.P to DEATH!

This album full of epic choruses and in some places - heavy breakdowns which altogether make for a future CLASSIC british rock record, not a million miles away from FFAF's Casually Dressed.

Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Unification (Audio CD)
I don't think there is a song I don't love on this album, but 'Waste a Moment' is my absolute favourite. It's worth buying it just for that in my opinion. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok...., 15 May 2007
This review is from: Grand Unification (Audio CD)
After the EP, I was expecting a grittier sound from Grand Unification. However, despite my expectations, this is a relatively good album. The melodies and musical arrangements complement Charlie and Alex's vocals very well. Songs to die for: Build an Army, Waste a Moment

Avoid: Grand Unification part 2.

Overall, not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fightstar.........Just Listen, 20 April 2006
By 
M. DEACON (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Unification (Audio CD)
Okies, for all the busted haters out there i first of all want to say that this is doing charlie alot of good since he left. All i've heard from people about fightstar is negative comments but i have to say i brought palahunuiks laughter single and ever since then i have been nothing but impressed with them.

This album is a great peice of work and the boys should be very happy with it. full of hard riffs that any band would be proud of and i have to say the best tracks on there are paint your target, here again and build an army. You cannot miss this album so pick it up today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique!, 7 Oct 2006
By 
B. D. Taylor "Tayls" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grand Unification (Audio CD)
Fightstar bring a fresh and unique sound to this genre of rock, The album is great from start to finish. Grand Unification has a good balance of heavy rock and the more chilled out side, for example tracks like grand unification pt 1 and paint your target stand out whereas the more chilled out tracks like mono, grand unification part 2 and wake up hit the spot.

This album may not grab you at first but give it a while and you'll think its the best investment you've ever made.

Some great tracks that you won't find on this album like amethyst and palahniuks laughter can be found on the "They liked you better when you were dead" album.

Anyways buy fightstar-grand Unification and if you like it buy their first album (typed above)

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grand Unification
Grand Unification by Fightstar (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews