Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le Creusetastic!
I bought this when it was on a clearance sale on this site for around £50. What a bargain! If you're looking at this, then you are obviously aware of the quality associated with Le Creuset, and want to purchase a serious piece of kit for your kitchen.

This is awesome. It is so versatile and can be used on practically any hob surface, and can also be put...
Published on 18 April 2007 by Mr. A. Sands

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
The wrong colour and shape arrived - grey and circular.
Published 2 months ago by Pauline relf


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Le Creusetastic!, 18 April 2007
By 
Mr. A. Sands "Sandsman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I bought this when it was on a clearance sale on this site for around £50. What a bargain! If you're looking at this, then you are obviously aware of the quality associated with Le Creuset, and want to purchase a serious piece of kit for your kitchen.

This is awesome. It is so versatile and can be used on practically any hob surface, and can also be put straight into the oven after being on the hob! Personally I have found it has revolutionised my cooking, as I now use it for practically everything I cook! The lid on this also (when positioned correctly) fits the pot perfectly, and prevents any steam from escaping. I was cooking a tomato sauce the other day with the lid on, and after half an hour, it was still as wet as I wanted it! Without such a well fitting lid, most of the water would have just boiled away. (Which I didn't want to happen in that instance).

Not only is it practical, but it also stylish as well. The classic orange Le Creuset cast iron pans/pots are extremely iconic, and have a timeless look. Sometimes I will use this to cook something on the hob, put it in the oven, and then take to the table for people to serve from, and it looks great! Not only that, but they will last forever as well. A friend of mine has her mum's and it is about 30 years old but is still going strong! Regardless of whether you purchase this in a sale or not, it is still going to be an expensive piece of kit. Don't be shy about buying it though as you will use it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPRING 2010 NEW COLOUR - 'CASSIS', from Le Creuset!, 21 Sept. 2010
Approximate capacity - 4.1L

Simply brilliant - this versatile Casserole Dish/Cocotte/French Oven is ideal for all sorts of recipes and my current favourite in this 'pot' is 'Spaghetti and Meatballs', from John Torrode's BEEF.
Also the perfect shape for whole chicken recipes.

Cast iron is an excellent conductor of heat which ensures an even heat distribution on all heat sources, and this super lidded casserole, is also relatively easy to wash up, by hand - although a bit of soak and a rub with a plastic brush may be required for more stubborn baked-on food remains.

Sturdily boxed, complete with CAST IRON use & care instruction booklet.

Currently also available in:

WHITE
BLUE (Graded Shades)
ALMOND (aka DUNE)
TEAL (aka CARIBBEAN)
GRANITE GREY
VOLCANIC ORANGE

all with the phenolic knob, along with BLACK, offset by the NEW Stainless Steel knob!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REVIEW for LE CREUSET's Cast Iron Casserole 27cm Size, OVAL, 13 April 2007
in BLUE (graded shades).

Sturdily boxed complete with use/care instruction booklet.

Cast iron is an excellent conductor of heat which ensures an even heat distribution on all heat sources, and my favourite in this size is 'Spaghetti and Meatballs', from John Torrode's BEEF.
Once on the table, this super 'pot' continues to retain its heat for popular second helpings!

Afterwards, this super lidded casserole (black phenolic knob), is relatively easy to wash up, by hand - although a bit of soaking and a rub with a plastic brush may be required for more stubborn baked-on food remains.

Dishwasher safe.

Also currently available in:

WHITE
CERISE RED (Graded Shades)
ALMOND
TEAL
GRANITE GREY
VOLCANIC ORANGE

and in a ROUND-shaped version, e.g. 26 cm size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Nov. 2009
By 
C. Simmons (Derby) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I honestly didn't expect a new casserole dish to improve on the old one from a taste and succulance perspective, but this range certainly does that. OK to be fair I've always used a cheap and cheerful casserole tin prior to this, so when you spend, I dunno, 4 times as much, I guess you really should expect a taste difference! And yes, whilst it's still a very expensive purchase, it will last a lifetime, and it turns out better quality stews, curries, you name it, so just a single star dropped for the cost element, but certainly 5 for the cooking element!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER, 5 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Le Creuset Classic Cast Iron Oval Casserole, 27 cm - Almond (Kitchen & Home)
Sturdily boxed complete with use/care instruction booklet.

Simply brilliant - this versatile Casserole Dish/Cocotte/French Oven is ideal for all sorts of recipes and my current favourites in this 'pot' are 'Bollito Misto' and 'Spaghetti and Meatballs', from John Torrode's BEEF.

Cast iron is an excellent conductor of heat which ensures an even heat distribution on all heat sources, and this super lidded casserole (black phenolic knob), is also relatively easy to wash up, by hand - although a bit of soaking and a rub with a plastic brush may be required for more stubborn baked-on food remains.

Currently also available in:

WHITE
BLUE (Graded Shades)
TEAL (aka CARIBBEAN)
GRANITE GREY
VOLCANIC ORANGE
CERISE RED (Graded Shades)

AND......the NEW 2010 COLOUR:-

CASSIS

as well as BLACK (Matt), with the NEW Stainless Steel knob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The PERFECT casserole, 3 Feb. 2013
I am just looking for a casserole as a gift and felt I must review these wonderful casseroles. I have been using mine for over 25 years and they are fantastic. Although they are heavy they cook perfectly, retaining the heat and allowing you to lower the temperature. They sit on the hob and distribute the heat well. They can be left in the oven for hours and produce tasty casseroles every time. I also use my large round one for making jam, marmalade and pickles. They are easy to clean and happily go in the dishwasher too.

I have casseroles and roasting dishes in a variety of colours - all of them are great! I do not have a satin black one as they are a newer addition to the range. (I believe these do not have the enamelled interior so check before you purchase).

They are expensive but will last a lifetime; mine have been used 'hundreds' of times and look nearly as good as new after all these years.

Highly recommended. Don't go for cheaper imitations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect casserole dish for four to fourteen, 8 May 2003
This cast iron casserole dish is heavy but something to treasure. The thick metal distributes heat evenly across the base when on the hob and the close fitting lid keeps the dishes moist after hours of slow cooking in the oven. Even out of the oven the dish retains heat well.
Surprisingly even after the six years since we received it as a wedding present the surface wipes clean and is perfectly presentable on the table top.
The dish requires two hands to lift but is not unwieldy and manages small and large portions equally well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 26 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought as a present for famly member and it was exactly as wanted. good looks, robust and well made. usable size and shape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEW COLOUR for Le Creuset's 27cm OVAL CASSEROLE....., 19 Sept. 2011
Perfect for whole chicken recipes, this Casserole/Cocotte, from Le Creuset, in COASTAL BLUE.

This versatile Casserole Dish/Cocotte/French Oven is ideal for all sorts of recipes and my other current favourites in this particular 'pot' are 'Bollito Misto' and 'Spaghetti & Meatballs', from John Torrode's BEEF.

OVAL-shaped
27 cm
Approximate capacity : 4.1L
Le Creuset embossed.

Sturdily boxed, complete with full CAST IRON care & use instructions.

Cast iron retains heat longer than any other cooking material so it is ideal for even braising at the lowest of temperatures and is, therefore, very economical, too.

Dishwasher safe .....but remarkably easy to wash up, by hand, too, although some soaking may be required for those more stubborn baked-on remains!

The other two OVAL sizes in "COASTAL BLUE" currently available are:

25 cm/3.2L
29 cm/4.7L

The CAST IRON range in COASTAL BLUE also includes a number of ROUND versions, e.g. 26 cm/5.3L along with the two SHALLOW (or 'BUFFET') casseroles:

26 cm/2L & 30 cm/ 3.2L sizes, all with that smart NEW stainless steel knob!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cast Iron cert, 1 Oct. 2007
COLOUR : TEAL
MATERIAL : CAST IRON

Simply brilliant - this versatile Casserole Dish/Cocotte/French Oven is ideal for all sorts of recipes and my current favourites in this 'pot' are 'Bollito Misto' and 'Spaghetti and Meatballs', from John Torrode's BEEF.

Cast iron is an excellent conductor of heat which ensures an even heat distribution on all heat sources, and this super lidded casserole (black phenolic knob), is also relatively easy to wash up, by hand - although a bit of soaking and a rub with a plastic brush may be required for more stubborn baked-on food remains.
[..]

Sturdily boxed complete with CAST IRON use/care instruction booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews