Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an archive of atmosphere
this is certainly one of the best and cleanest recordings I have ever heard of these early Bethlehem recordings + it contains two of the great piano pieces Good Bait and Central Park Blues. It is often forgotten what a great pianist Nina Simone was as the voice is so commanding. This is certainly the best bargain listed here and if you are a Nina beginner it rarely gets...
Published on 1 April 2008 by David Spanswick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Live Performance
This recording is elements of 'live' performance, listening on the car via iPod the dynamic range can cause problems and the piano accompaniment gets lost. If you like Nina Simone you will overlook these shortcomings..
Published 14 months ago by Cluffie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an archive of atmosphere, 1 April 2008
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is certainly one of the best and cleanest recordings I have ever heard of these early Bethlehem recordings + it contains two of the great piano pieces Good Bait and Central Park Blues. It is often forgotten what a great pianist Nina Simone was as the voice is so commanding. This is certainly the best bargain listed here and if you are a Nina beginner it rarely gets better than this and if you are a collecter and dont have this then go for it. You'll Never Walk Alone has never been sung with more emotion and the title track will have you swaying if not leaping out of your chair from sheer joy!!! OK so I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starter album, 5 July 2006
By 
Mr. Rodney J. Semple (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Baby Just Cares For Me [Spanish Import] (Audio CD)
There are some excellent Nina Simone compilations and it is tempting to stick with one of them. Let's face it, they'll all have "My Baby..." and the other familiar tunes. That would be a mistake, if it meant ignoring her individual albums. particularly this one. It's got some gems (My Baby, Love Me Or Leave Me, He's Got The Whole World In His Hands etc.) and, really, there's not a weak track in sight. Piano and vocals are both highlighted and leave you just wondering at her talent. Give this one a go and you won't regret it - in fact, you might even buy some more of her stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class, a Nina Simone collection of excellent recordings., 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Class, a Nina Simone collection of excellent recordings, excellently produced in everyway. Her voice and the instruments come over with great clarity and detail. Classy lady, singer, recording. An excellent good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Updated edition...check out earlier Not Now Music issue..., 27 April 2014
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This 2 CD set has tracks from the early Nina Simone albums "Little Girl Blue"; "The Amazing Nina Simone"; "Nina Simone at Town Hall"; "Forbidden Fruit" & "Sings Ellington" The piano playing and singing is first rate as is the choice of music. Attractive packaging and informative liner notes. Sound transfers excellent. As always great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album!, 23 Aug 2001
This was the album that first introduced me to Nina Simone and I've been a fan ever since. I recommend it to anyone who likes music. The songs range from the wonderfully upbeat and kickass "My Baby Just Cares For Me" to the melancholy "Little Girl Blue" to the just plain fantastic "Do What You Gotta Do". It's a fantastic album that shows great insight into human emotions and has a song to suit each mood. To quote the fantastic Nina herself: "What more can I say?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Live Performance, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This recording is elements of 'live' performance, listening on the car via iPod the dynamic range can cause problems and the piano accompaniment gets lost. If you like Nina Simone you will overlook these shortcomings..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spellbinding, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy listening to this Nina Simone recording and particularly the title number, My Baby Just Cares for Me. Her phasing on the piano and her singing of this particular number are spellbinding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nina, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is hard to gather all Nina's best songs on one record, but the collection in this very 2LP set is breath taking and nice to listen to old staff on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Baby Just Cares For Me [Spanish Import]
My Baby Just Cares For Me [Spanish Import] by Nina Simone (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews