Customer Reviews


226 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great quality.
I don't realise why this film got so many negative reviews; it's not an awful movie. Story was okay, along with the acting, but it wasn't horrible. Picture and audio quality was superb for a 2003 film, and buying it on Blu-ray was worth it.

Would recommend!
Published on 16 Dec. 2011 by Connor Haigh

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great effects, let down by the script
The critics tore the film to pieces, but my family thought it was brilliant, so I thought I would have a look and make up my own mind.
What I found was that I enjoyed the film up to a point, that point being at about the hour mark. After that the coincidences just got too much for me. For example, when Frankenstein's monster swings on an unfeasibly long rope and...
Published on 14 Mar. 2005 by A. Skudder


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great quality., 16 Dec. 2011
By 
Connor Haigh (Jersey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I don't realise why this film got so many negative reviews; it's not an awful movie. Story was okay, along with the acting, but it wasn't horrible. Picture and audio quality was superb for a 2003 film, and buying it on Blu-ray was worth it.

Would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Van Helsing vs Dracula vs Frankenstein vs Wolf Man, 20 July 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Van Helsing [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"Van Helsing" is a kitchen sink monster movie, so it is a question of how far it can go before things fall apart, which for me was pretty far. The best part of writer-director Stephen Sommers' film is arguably the prologue, done in glorious black & white as a wonderful homage to the Universal monster pictures of yesterday. In Transylvania the torch bearing peasants are storming Castle Frankenstein, where the Victor (Samuel West) has just brought his creation (Shuler Hensley) to life and is screaming, "It's alive! Alive! Alive!," the words immortalizing by Colin Clive back in 1931's "Frankenstein." However, there is a twist in that Dr. Frankenstein is working with Count Dracula (Richard Roxburgh), who is after the secret of creating life for his own purposes. Events take their tragic course and then we pick up the story a year later in color with the title character (Hugh Jackman) in Paris on the trail of the Hunchback of Notre Dame (who actually turns out to be a different literary monster).
To be clear, this is not Abraham Van Helsing, the wise doctor of Bram Stoker's "Dracula" novel, but a mysterious monster killer whose first name turns out to be Gabriel. I would say that he is decked out like Solomon Kane, but that has nothing to do with any of the Universal monster movies. He is dispatched by a secret organization in the Vatican to go to Transylvania and kill Dracula. Not just because the count is an evil vampire, but because the noble house of Valerious has been fighting Dracula for several hundred years and the entire family can only go directly to heaven, passing purgatory or worse, if they kill the vampire before he wipes out their family, which is now down to Prince Velkan (Will Kemp) and Princess Anna (Kate Beckinsale).
Apparently Dracula knows about the deal as well because when Van Helsing gets to Transylvania the vampire launches an attack with his three brides, Aleera (Elena Anaya), Verona (Silvia Colloca), and Marishka (Josie Maran). Fortunately, Van Helsing has a new sidekick, Carl (David Wenham), a friar who is clearly the Vatican equivalent of James Bonds' Q. Carl main creation is basically a mechanical crossbow that shoots like a machine gun. However, technology is of limited value when you are dealing with monsters.
Sommers plays with the rules of his monsters a little bit. This time around werewolves do not sprout hair but rather claw off their skin to reveal their fur (and visa versa), which I found rather effective. The Frankenstein monster has a touch of the industrial revolution about him and is one of the more human characters in the film. As for Dracula, it seems that driving a stake through his heart or shoving a cross in his fangs no longer has much effect and our hero has to discover exactly what you have to do to this particular vampire to get him to bite the dust.
In the end there are two flaws that undercut the effectiveness of this film. The first has to do with the new werewolf rules, because I am still not sure when you turn into a werewolf and the whole transformation bit ends up speeding up to meet the demands of the plot. The second is the idea that Van Helsing and Anna are too busy trying to be superheroes (or Tarzan), swinging around on cables and such. There so much swinging on such things, over enormous distances, that the idea is done to death and just becomes a sort of running joke. Add to this that at the end Sommers tries to over a transcendent grace note that is rather lame. Fortunately the end credits are pretty cool, so you can still leave the theater having good thoughts about "Van Helsing."
I was not grossly offended by this film as are some aficionados of the classic Universal Dracula, Frankenstein and Wolf Man films have admitted to being. For throwing three major characters into the mix "Van Helsing" does a good job of making the pieces fit overall and providing a nice summertime roller coaster ride. The attempt to build chemistry between the hero and the heroine us really nothing more than an attempt to put off their kiss as long as possible and the mystery as to what Van Helsing cannot remember anything about his past is also a minor matter. This movie is about monsters fighting monsters and on that part the film delivers with the volume turned all the way up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars : fandabidozi, 21 Jun. 2009
By 
F. Patel (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Ok the story line isn't going to tax anybody with just the single brain cell. But lets not forget its not there to be cerebrally challenging . Its pop corn for the brain and you know what it does it very well. However Im not here to discuss the script but rather the Blue Ray version.

Well, as Blue Ray releases go, I have to admit this is one of the better ones. Colours, clarity are spot on. In fact having watched this on TV the other week the Blue Ray version is much better. Watching the title character riding across the snow capped mountains near the start of the film is something else, but the scene in the Romanian town centre halfway through the female vampire attack when the sun comes out really differentiates Blue Ray from normal DVD. Somebody else has already mentioned the Ball scene, but its worth just seeing that for how all the different colours are allowed to explode into view. . The rest of the film displays just as much as the few samples I mentioned above. Its also good to see that the same amount of attention has been paid to the sound.

While I'm not one for extras there is a picture in picture mode which brings up a small screen showing the same as the main picture but from the view of the camera man and a few other snippets.(As i said I'm not one for extras)

As I said one of the better Blue Ray releases

System
Panasonic TX-32LZD80 - 32" Widescreen
Sony BDPS350 Blu-Ray Disc Player
Yamaha HTY750 Digital Sound Projector
Yamaha YSTFSW100-BLACK 75 Watt Slimline Active Subwoofer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile upgrade, 27 May 2009
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most people who buy this blu-ray will do so as an upgrade to the dvd especially as it has been on the television recently and if you like the movie it's a worthwhile upgrade. Picture quality is excellent and is presented full screen and the DTS-HD Master audio soundtrack fills your room with sound and music. Extras are very much the same as the dvd release with the addition of a 20 minute feature on the masked ball scene which is well worth watching. Most of the story is set in the dark and this benefits from the blu-ray transfer as everything is so much clearer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great effects, let down by the script, 14 Mar. 2005
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The critics tore the film to pieces, but my family thought it was brilliant, so I thought I would have a look and make up my own mind.
What I found was that I enjoyed the film up to a point, that point being at about the hour mark. After that the coincidences just got too much for me. For example, when Frankenstein's monster swings on an unfeasibly long rope and smashes through one of hundreds of windows in the castle, it just happens to be the window of the room where a crucial fight is occuring. Also, the internal logic of the film seemed to unravel a bit, and the sub-plot device of Van Helsing's history and missing memory intruded too much.
It has to said, though, that the sets and special effects all the way through are amazing, with some of the best human/werewolf transitions ever seen. The best CGI effect, in my opinion, was near the beginning where Mr Hyde (voiced by Robbie Coltrane) and Van Helsing fought in Notre Dame cathedral. The carriage chase was also a stunning set piece, even if the jump was as ridiculous as the one in Speed.
The disc itself is a good one. The main feature has a clear picture (essential when much of the film is quite dark) and unobtrusive surround sound. The extras are also of a high quality. Aside from two commentaries, one from the director and producer and one from several of the actors, there is a better-than-average feature on the special effects, a compilation of 'bloopers', a tour of Dracula's castle, information about the characters from the classic Universal horror films and a feature called "You are in the movie". This last feature shows some scenes with footage shot from extra cameras fixed on the set or attached to the main camera, and gives an interesting view of the film-making process. There is also an option to view the film and jump into this mode when a special icon appears on the screen.
There are some amusing touches in the film. The scene where Van Helsing is equiped for his mission in the Vatican's 19th Century equivalent of James Bond's department Q is a nice touch. When Mr Hyde smashes into the bell in Notre Dame and comes out wit Quasimodo's catchphrase is another. I was just dissapointed that the second half of the film was not as entertaining as the first.
Even though I tired of the story, I may well watch this again to gawp at the effects or listen to the commentary so it can't be all bad - more like a missed opportunity to make a classic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for those who don't expect too much., 7 Oct. 2004
Van Helsing is a perfect fantasy-action movie, with a lot of emphasis on ACTION. Okay, the storyline is shabby, but people should stop expecting a movie like Spider-Man 2 or Bond 20 when the term "action" is used with "superhero". Though the plot is nowhere near that of the two movies mentioned earlier, the action is very much so, if not better. Though I didn't do it in the cinema, I think you could take a stopwatch and turn it on every time people are talking. When five minutes have passed, guaranteed some werewolf will attack Van Helsing, or three vampires will dive into the fray.
I'm not making excuses for the storyline (which I think is okay, but I understand why other people don't), but you won't really notice it's lacks (at least I didn't).
Now that I'm talking about the movie aspects I can't leave out the soundtrack. I know that I've used thw word 'perfect' before, but this time it really is: the soundtrack perfectly fits the movie. Booming drums and triumphantly blaring trumpets, this completely is Van Helsing. (I bought the soundtrack almost immediatly after I had left the cinema!)
The final judgement depends on what you expect. If you expect Bond (good action, good story) or Spider-Man (good action great story), Van Helsing (perfect action, great music, crappy story) is going to disappoint you. To all of you out there who don't expect Spider-Man or Bond: enjoy Van Helsing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's a comedy not a horror film !!!, 23 Dec. 2007
If you're a purist-any kind of purist-stay away from Van Helsing. But if you love the Universal horror films of the 30's and 40's or the Hammer films of the 50's and 60's and don't mind re-imagining them, then go. Check your brain at the door, buy a large popcorn and a soda and sit back for a fun ride.

The film is a complete reworking of everything you think you know about all the big guys. Present for your enjoyment are Dracula, the Wolf man, Frankenstein's monster and a guest appearance by Mr. Hyde. And of course, tying the whole thing together is our hero, Van Helsing (yummily played by Hugh Jackman). Named Abraham in Stoker's book but called Gabriel in the film, VH doesn't appear in any book other than Dracula, but in the more than a century since his `birth' we've become accustomed to his presence as the elder statesman of monster killers.

Completely re-imagined in this new production, VH is now young, handsome, and virile and apparently as immortal and indestructible as the creatures he chases. Don't expect great resolutions or deep explanations here, there are none. Don't expect Academy Award level acting, some of the actors apparently phoned in their performances while others decided to take up the slack. The resultant scenery chewing is uneven, but never boring. The dialogue, not to put too fine a point on it, is absurd and sometimes unintentionally, howlingly funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 Oct. 2004
By 
Sian Louise (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant film, which has fantastic special effects. Fair enough the bloke playing Dracula was a little unconvincing but hey Im a Buffy/Angel fan so I have my own view on what vampires are like now due to those shows, the werewolf and Frankinstein Monster were very very good and Kate Beckingsale and Hugh Jackman acted very well together in this film and had very good chemisty. Definately a MUST HAVE for the DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Van Helsing on Blu-ray....Wow!, 26 Sept. 2011
This is a great movie with excellent animation. On Blu-ray it looks stunning in detail and this is helped by the format being 16:9 so it fills all of your HD TV screen with no wasted black bars on top and bottom. The extra bits on how they handled the animation etc. are fascinating to watch as well. Hugh Jackman acts really dramatically as Van Helsing and good part played by Kate Beckinsale too as the Transylvanian princess. My favourite animation scene was the aerial attack in the village by the flying brides of Dracula...truly powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Escapism at its best!, 19 April 2007
I became quite obsessed with this film when it came out!

Though the story is very, very simple and plot kind of predictable - it's definately one of those fun, feisty, escapist movies. I loved every minute of it.

After defeating Mr Hyde in Paris (NOT the Hunchback of Notre Dame like a lot of reviews and critics say..!), Van Helsing (Hugh Jackman) is requested to travel to Transylvania to help the Valerious family defeat Count Dracula (Richard Roxburgh), a task they have been unable to accomplish and that has led them all to their death's, save one - Anna Valerious (a very feisty Kate Beckinsale). Once he gets there he finds the task is harder than it seems and with his faithful sidekick Carl, who's 'Only a friar' (and can therefore swear all he wants... dammit), learns more about his mysterious past...

It's the characters, set and music that really drags you into the movie. Hugh Jackman is cast perfectly as the mysterious Van Helsing and Richard Roxburgh does a great job as the sinister yet seductive Count Dracula. The special effects are done brilliantly, right from the fatally gorgeous three brides to the wolf man and frankenstein monster. It's not the best movie ever, but definately fun to watch and escape with.

The extra features for this dvd really don't disappoint - there's plenty there to keep you satisfied for months - right from adapting from old horror movies, how the special effects were done, character bios, costume documentaries (which are gorgeous!), music production... it's all there and very interesting to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Van Helsing [HD DVD] [2004] [US Import]
Van Helsing [HD DVD] [2004] [US Import] by Stephen Sommers (HD DVD - 2006)
£9.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews