Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Poseidon (again!)
I'm going to start by stating I love this film whether it's the original, the remake AND this 2 part dvd. It has been slightly altered - the original was overturned by a wave this one is by terrorist action. Although I have said this is a 2 part series, this is not shown as a 2 part - just a long film which I prefer. There are parts I'm not too keen on but for the most...
Published 20 months ago by L. Alison

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watered down remake
Here's a great idea - take a much loved classic disaster movie, and make it with a bunch of almost-was and once-was actors, on a TV budget, and draw it out over twice the time! If that seems like logic to you, then you may well love this entirely redundant time filler. On the other hand, with some decent stuntwork on display it certainly could have been a lot worse,...
Published on 30 Nov. 2009 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watered down remake, 30 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poseidon Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
Here's a great idea - take a much loved classic disaster movie, and make it with a bunch of almost-was and once-was actors, on a TV budget, and draw it out over twice the time! If that seems like logic to you, then you may well love this entirely redundant time filler. On the other hand, with some decent stuntwork on display it certainly could have been a lot worse, with the bangs and shouting drowning out the dodgy acting and leaky plot. Yes, there are more holes in the plot than the poor Poseidon has.
Based on the original Paul Gallico novel, many of the characters names are the same, and some key set pieces are the same, paying homage to the original (fiery engine room, Christmas tree ladder, and the famous man falling on to glass in the ballroom..). However, there seems to be a gross misconception of what makes a great disaster movie. Poseidon Adventure was the start of a wave (sorry) of likeminded movies, which thrived on creating big budget set pieces, but with a background of memorable characters. Who can forget Gene Hackman's preacher, or Shelley Winter's one-time swimming champion..? Well the writers here did - they ditched all the memorable aspects those characters had, and added some entirely redundant ones. Vitally, you soon realise with a sinking feeling that the sense of claustrophobia so brilliantly done in the original is thrown away by a combination of cutting to the outside rescue efforts (terrible idea, in which all suspense is dissipated) and some lightly lit interior sets with a few pools of standing water. The plot is padded out by having a terrorist plot instead of a giant wave, and while this seems more `with the times' it fails to be more than an obvious plot device, adding nothing except running time. The sense of being chased by the water lapping at their heels just never appears, even at the end, so the sense of urgency is, shall we say, diluted.
The actors frankly seem all at sea, none of them really bringing the required oomph to stem the tide of that nagging `when will it end' feeling. Steve Guttenberg gamely tries to steal his scenes by grabbing people along the way and trying to talk about his feelings, but he fails to convince - perhaps he is just in too deep? Rutger Hauer may as well be asleep, or at best on cruise control, for all the charisma he brings to the role. Only Bryan Brown and Adam Baldwin at least seem to be having some fun, even if there are no new ideas being floated and they fail to stem the tide of boredom for much of the movie. Stunts are certainly ok, digital effects are so-so.. I watched on a big screen which was less than forgiving, but that's the reality of made for TV perhaps, where not every effect can be ship-shape.
And then there is the ending - where in the original, we had the terrific speech from Hackman, adding pathos and gravitas to proceedings, here we have an endless scene of the few survivors crossing a catwalk to escape - which frankly, just doesn't look that dangerous. It leaves the end feeling somewhat of a damp squib.
For family friendly fare, well, this is a Hallmark Channel presentation, so it's probably safe (as long as you don't want to explain to the kids exactly what Steve Guttenberg was doing with that masseuse that made his wife so upset..), and does not embarrass itself too much when seen as a 4 hour TV mini-series compared to others of its type.. but for a fresh stab or even a tribute to a much loved classic - why not just get the original, as this one is just too watered down to be memorable in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Painful First Half Followed By Cheesy Second Half, 5 Jun. 2008
By 
S. Smith "sitorimon" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poseidon Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
Poseidon made a huge comeback in 2005 with the announcement of a film (criminally underrated may I say) and a TV mini series. Sadly the TV mini series is at best middle of the road. The acting is fine and no one is out of place but the script is dire and the action sequences are few and far between. The script gives people random speeches which amount to nothing, each character is one dimension with no real progression except for Steve Guttenburg's character who has an affair and then gradually drifts back to his family. You know who will die pretty much from the start too and when they do die almost each death is made laughable by poor CGI integrated. The best thing really is that there's lot of references to the original movie which is fun enough to pick up on.

So why 3 stars and not 1? The first half deserves one star for dragging - I'm all for character backgrounds if they're explored properly - here its silly snippets of silly dialogue. However the second half goes along quite well in spite of its downfalls and I'm a sucker for disaster movies. I've seen a lot worse but really the original and the remake are far more superior, as is A Night To Remember and that is a black and white 50's movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocrity upside down..., 28 Nov. 2008
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
...but a long way from Hell, 2005's mini-series version of The Poseidon Adventure doesn't live down to its reputation. Aside from Peter Weller's every other line being "I'm Captain Paul Gallico" or "This is your captain, Paul Gallico" just in case anyone doesn't get the joke or Steve Guttenberg (looking increasingly like a failed attempt at cloning Albert Brooks) constantly endangering everyone's life to stop them to tell him how much he likes them with what he thinks is his best sincere voice but which really sounds like someone trying to have a conversation while having a particularly difficult bowel movement, there aren't many unintentional laughs to be had.

Rutger Hauer simply looks bewildered, as if he wandered onto the wrong set by mistake and somebody gave him a hat and a dog collar, Sylvia Syms looks alarmingly like Shelley Winters, C. Thomas Howell is starting to look even more alarmingly like an ageing 80s porn star and only Bryan Brown and Adam Baldwin look like they're having any fun. The spirit of Irwin Allen is briefly resurrected near the finale: sadly, it's not the Allen of The Towering Inferno or the original Poseidon but the one who spent an eternity having people very, very slowly cross a bridge one by one for the last two reels of When Time Ran Out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocrity upside down..., 9 Nov. 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Poseidon Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
...but a long way from Hell, last year's mini-series version of The Poseidon Adventure doesn't live down to its reputation. Aside from Peter Weller's every other line being "I'm Captain Paul Gallico" or "This is your captain, Paul Gallico" just in case anyone doesn't get the joke or Steve Guttenberg (looking increasingly like a failed attempt at cloning Albert Brooks) constantly endangering everyone's life to stop them to tell him how much he likes them with what he thinks is his best sincere voice but which really sounds like someone trying to have a conversation while having a particularly difficult bowel movement, there aren't many unintentional laughs to be had.

Rutger Hauer simply looks bewildered, as if he wandered onto the wrong set by mistake and somebody gave him a hat and a dog collar, Sylvia Syms looks alarmingly like Shelley Winters, C. Thomas Howell is starting to look even more alarmingly like an ageing 80s porn star and only Bryan Brown and Adam Baldwin look like they're having any fun. The spirit of Irwin Allen is briefly resurrected near the finale: sadly, it's not the Allen of The Towering Inferno or the original Poseidon but the one who spent an eternity having people very, very slowly cross a bridge one by one for the last two reels of When Time Ran Out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars stink or swim ..., 15 April 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poseidon Adventure [DVD] [2006] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
In 1972, „The Poseidon Adventure" - the unforgettable movie about a capsized cruise ship and the desperate struggle upwards to safety of its survivors - set new standards amidst the flood of disaster movies which swept through the cinemas in the 1970's. Somehow it succeeded where all the others failed - despite some admittedly cheesy moments it managed to engage, thrill and captivate the audience. And along the way it gave us some of the most iconic images of this genre: The upended christmas tree becoming an escape ladder; the little boy's dilemma in the upside-down men's room, the group of disoriented, zombie-like passengers filing past in the wrong direction, to name but a few ... It is hardly surprising that, amidst the flood of remakes which sweep through the cinemas and across the small screen today, someone came up with the glorious idea to „revive" this cult classic - twice, in fact, once for the silver screen and once for TV. This is the TV version. Now, despite all its limitations and restrictions, TV has produced some stunning mini series in the past and, undoubtedly, will continue to do so. This two-parter, though, is not one of them.

I find it hard to admit, but this „Poseidon Adventure" is doomed to sink right from the start (and I do apologize for the awful pun but it is, sadly, in keeping with the reviewed material). To up-date the story - and to stretch it sufficiently to fit into two parts - we begin with the by now prerequisite dastardly and somewhat Arabic looking, Russian looking, Irish looking terrorists planning a number of major blows against the evil American Empire, by land, air and sea. Luckily, they are stopped and killed by DHS agents, but not before setting one of their plans in motion: The sinking of the cruise ship SS Poseidon (using bombs which are altogether too reminscent of another sea-borne disaster movie, „Juggernaut"). The reason for chosing this target in particular? Well, all the other, more logical targets are too well protected ... Not very convincing? Sadly, this kind of sloppy, listless plotting is the hallmark of the boring, uninspired and incompetent script, complemented perfectly by the boring, uninspired and incompetent direction.

Quite honestly, I would have expected so much more - Gallico's original story has so much to offer and the cast boasts many decent actors. But whereas in the 1972 movie version the actors managed to rise above the mediocre script and invest their characters with real emotion, here, in the almost 3 hours long version, they have absolutely no room to develop. In fact, the characters are so empty and superficially drawn that they would have needed to be fleshed out just to become mere stereotypes! Rutger Hauer obviously labours under the misapprehension that his character's first name is „Bishop" - he has absolutely no spiritual or religious dimension, and if he has any sort of crisis of faith I must have missed it when I blinked. Adam Baldwin, as DHS agent Mike Rogo, is the tough-guy professional, I guess: His job seems to consist mainly of bullying and suspecting everyone around - apart from the real terrorists on board. Peter Weller, as the ship's captain, seems to have lost all ability to deliver his lines without inexplicably pausing after every second word. Bryan Brown, who has given us so many marvellous villains over the years, obviously decided that this role would be the right moment for an image change, thus cold-hearted reality-tv producer Jeffrey Anderson comes across as slightly less menacing than Winnie the Pooh. And I won't even mention Steve Guttenberg and his utterly annoying family ...

The DVD offers decent - full screen - picture quality and 5.1 Surround Sound, interviews with members of the cast, and a „director featurette" (in which John Putch describes the filming and the set in an utterly bored voice ... Did you know that they actually had to turn the whole set upside down? Amazing, isn't it?) The DVD version also proudly claims to contain 40 additional minutes of never-before seen footage. This can only be classed as inhuman cruelty. Quite often, such out-takes consist of scenes which give more background and depth to the individual characters and the story, but, with all the gigantic holes in the plot and the excruciatingly lifeless characters, I fail to see any improvement. This TV production should by rights be called „The Poseidon Disappointment", as it manages to waste a good cast, a thrilling story line and, obviously, a fair amount of money to deliver one of the most unadventurous disaster epics of all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for killing a few hours over 2 nights, 13 Feb. 2011
By 
T. Bunting "TaBunny" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poseidon Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
OK so it's not all bells and whistles and yes the story has been rehashed so no biggie news there but if like me you like to collect disaster movies and each reincarnation of the story then this will be an amusing addition to your collection. Steve Guttenbery puts in a good performance as do all the many famous faces. The story stays pretty much true to the original but with some terrorist activity thrown in. I wouldn't say the special effects were amazing but for a made for tv movie they are adequate and after all it's not like we don't all know what's going to happen in the film. I'd say it's not a bad buy for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars IT NOT QUITE GIVES YOU THAT SINKING FEELING., 13 April 2010
By 
P. S. Pratt "THE SCI - FLYER" (LONDON. U. K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poseidon Adventure [DVD] [2006] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
IT MAKES YOU WONDER JUST HOW MANY TIMES YOU CAN FLOG A THEME , BUT THIS COMPANY HAS DONE IT , FORTUNATELY THEY HAVE MANAGED TO COME UP WITH A NEW APPROACH TO THAT SINKING FEELING , AND THEY EVEN MANAGED TO CHANGE THE CAST , I WONDER IF THEY BORROWED THE OLD BOAT FROM THE FIRST FILM THEY COULD SAVE A PACKET IF THEY DID.
THERE WERE A FEW DIFFERENCES TO THE INSIDE LAYOUT, BUT LETS FACE IT WHEN YOU HAVE SEEN ONE BOAT UPSIDE DOWN YOU'VE SEEN THEM ALL.
DO YOU THINK THAT THERE IS ANOTHER COMPANY BRAVE ENOUGH TO TRY AND DO ANOTHER ONE??
I B----Y HOPE NOT.
THE OLD SCI-FLYER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poseidon (again!), 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poseidon Adventure [2005] (DVD)
I'm going to start by stating I love this film whether it's the original, the remake AND this 2 part dvd. It has been slightly altered - the original was overturned by a wave this one is by terrorist action. Although I have said this is a 2 part series, this is not shown as a 2 part - just a long film which I prefer. There are parts I'm not too keen on but for the most part it's great to curl up with on a sunday ( usually rainy) afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but not bad either, 3 Oct. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When i watched this series, i found parts of it good, but other parts awful, they'd turned Poseidon into a terroist attack, when it was originally turned over by a wave. After watching it again I found the CGI bad in some parts but ok in others, also the acting was good throughout. Some of the death scenes were good, but one was confusing, one character swam under water to get to the next level, and died somehow, it seemed a very peaceful death anyway.
All in all, bad CGI but only ok story, good acting and some unexpected turn of events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poseidon, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poseidon Adventure [DVD] (DVD)
An updated version of the original film that doesnt follow the original storyline but stars the wonderful Dutch actor Rutger Hauer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews