Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cloudburst
I totally agree with the other reviewers. Polyphony are apparently peerless and Eric Whitacre's music is outstandingly beautiful, and very moving at times (especially given Stephen Layton's sensitive direction - the way he holds back in Sleep, fo example, is stunning). Go and buy this now!!
Published on 14 Feb 2006

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment
Heard the Wedding Day track on Classic FM and decided to buy the whole CD. Huge disappointment as the rest of the CD is dire and sounds like a dirge.
Published 5 months ago by Leesa Stearne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloudburst and other choral works (Audio CD)
Heard the Wedding Day track on Classic FM and decided to buy the whole CD. Huge disappointment as the rest of the CD is dire and sounds like a dirge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 31 Dec 2013
By 
J. R. Miles "Music novice" (sleaford england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloudburst and other choral works (Audio CD)
I personally love Eric Whitacre though I am sure it is an acquired taste and you do have top listen several times but this is a great CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cd, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloudburst and other choral works (Audio CD)
Great. Love it. Beautiful music performed brilliantly. Very relaxing. Can't stop playing it.Well done Eric Whitacre. A musical triumph and a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloudburst and other choral works (Audio CD)
Delighted with swift and effective service. Would recommend to any customer. Many thanks for your help. Hope to do business with you again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stunningly beautiful, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: Cloudburst and other choral works (Audio CD)
The combination of Eric Whitacre's music and Polyphony conducted by Stephen Layton is such a joyful 'Hairs on the back of the neck experience' Whitacres dysonant chords are sung effortlessly by Polyphony.

As an amateur choral singer, I have performed 'Sleep' which is included on the CD. Quite tricky to sing but wonderful harmonies and dynamics. This is an album which I have played over and over again . For me one piece stands out and it is the setting from the Bible of the book of Samuel 'When David Heard' It is David mourning his son Absolom. Beautifully written and expertly sung . There are fourteen beautiful pieces here and as it says on the box if you like Taverner (or Part,who is strongly evoked in 'David' )you'll enjoy whitacre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whitacre and Polyphony at their best, 28 Mar 2010
By 
RichH (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cloudburst and other choral works (Audio CD)
Eric Whitacre's 'Cloudburst' is my CD of choice for 2010. Listen to it and you'll know why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful !, 25 Mar 2010
By 
Deborah Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cloudburst and other choral works (Audio CD)
Highly recommend this CD, Whitacre is a brilliant composer and this CD is full of absolutely stunning music, from the ethereal 'Lux Aurumque' and the almost unbearable pain of 'When David heard', to the amazing 'Cloudburst'. This is a great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful album, 18 Feb 2010
By 
D. Tindsley (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cloudburst and other choral works (Audio CD)
Despite singing in a choir I hadn't come across the music of Eric Whitacre before, but recently heard one of the tracks on this album - "Water Night" - on the radio, and rushed out to buy the album. Absolutely gorgeous music, particularly "Water Night" and "Sleep", with complex clusters of notes resolving wonderfully into rich harmonies. Beautifully sung by Polyphony as well. This is a CD that I will play over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant find, 28 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. P. M. Lipman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cloudburst and other choral works (Audio CD)
This collection of fourteen unaccompanied choral pieces is a little gem. There is a purity and directness of expression with moments of complete ecstasy. This is modern choral music at its best - fairly conservative in terms of rhythms and harmony - but clashes brilliantly resolved and "landing" on words for emphasis. Polyphony are at their best in this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply fantastic, 16 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Cloudburst and other choral works (Audio CD)
Not sure I can add much to the many reviews already posted. However, this CD is one I keep coming back to - I never bore of it. Excellent singing, and very well produced - almost the definition of a 'perfect' recording. Well done Stephen Layton and Polyphony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cloudburst and other choral works
Cloudburst and other choral works by Eric Whitacre (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews