Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Positive LSD Story Perhaps.
As I sadly never managed to obtain a VHS copy of "Relentless" I gladly snapped this up on DVD upon it's release. Often cited as "the comic's comic", a title that very few fans of truely great comedy would deny him. This was seen by many as Hicks' breakthrough show and it's easy to see why it still remains such a great show to watch 15 years on from his death...
Published on 12 Nov 2009 by Stayve

versus
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The VHS version was better
Bill Hicks was a hilariously funny man and if you haven't come across his stuff before then this will blow your socks off. From UFOs to the debate between drugs and alcohol to the Kennedy assassination and the first Gulf War, nobody is safe from Hicks anger and wit. If you're already a Hicks fan then ignore this DVD and go out and find yourself the VHS version of this...
Published on 23 Jun 2006 by Jernau Gurgeh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The VHS version was better, 23 Jun 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Hicks Live: Relentless [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Bill Hicks was a hilariously funny man and if you haven't come across his stuff before then this will blow your socks off. From UFOs to the debate between drugs and alcohol to the Kennedy assassination and the first Gulf War, nobody is safe from Hicks anger and wit. If you're already a Hicks fan then ignore this DVD and go out and find yourself the VHS version of this show.

Its not the recording quality that annoyed me although it is bad. The producers have put a disclaimer on the start of it explaining that a copy of this performance was hard to find and the quality of one chapter in particular is poor. I don't care if it looks fuzzy, an overweight bespectacled Hicks prowling a dark stage with a microphone is not visually stimulating even in the best definition. You buy it for his material and delivery, not his choice of turtleneck.

What does spoil this DVD is that its a different and poorer performance of the same show released in the 1990s on VHS. Both were recorded at the same comedy festival but clearly on seperate nights. The material is similar but lacks some of the punch, some jokes are toned down or missed out, Hicks is not on the top of his game. Why the producers could not remaster the VHS version I don't know. Enough people seem to own one. If they're really stuck they can borrow mine. But I'd like it back afterwards so I can enjoy a master at work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Positive LSD Story Perhaps., 12 Nov 2009
This review is from: Bill Hicks Live: Relentless [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
As I sadly never managed to obtain a VHS copy of "Relentless" I gladly snapped this up on DVD upon it's release. Often cited as "the comic's comic", a title that very few fans of truely great comedy would deny him. This was seen by many as Hicks' breakthrough show and it's easy to see why it still remains such a great show to watch 15 years on from his death.
Although the show is now close to being two decades old the material can still be related to as relevant with many of today's current issues both musically and politically. The New Kids On The Block that he happily tore apart with the line "since when did benality and medicrity become a good influence on your kids" can easily be compared with many supposed "artists" from the current crop of generic, manufactured mass marketed talentless rubbish hurled at our sensitive ears by television and radio today.
The First Gulf War in which Bush Sr was behind succumbs to Hicks' fierce rantings and can be compared to his idiotic son's involvement in Iraq and Afghanistan during this decade.
A man not afraid to point out the positive effects of drugs on society rather than just gloom and negativity and the Governments insistance that only "those non-taxed drugs" are bad for you.
To sum it all up the man was indeed a comic genius and many times I have wondered what he would have made of the world today and how he would have dealt with it through his inspirational rantings.
Rest in peace Bill. You may be gone but will never be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars buyer beware, 8 April 2006
This review is from: Bill Hicks Live: Relentless [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
True to say that this is a great and iconic performance that had me watching open mouthed when it was first broadcast (my first experience of Hicks) but, that said, this is indeed a disappointment.
Not only is the quality of the image in part of the show ghastly (as noted by a previous reviewer and only acknowledged by the makers of the DVD once you put the disc on) but it is quite heavily and clumsily edited - 60 minutes as opposed to the 75 quoted on the sleeve. The VHS version is superior if you can still find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why is this version so poor?????, 14 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Bill Hicks Live: Relentless [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I'm as massive Bill Hicks fan - and I have this on a 10 year old VHS video. I've been waiting for the DVD for a long while...
Can the idiot who audio mastered this please go away and re-do it??? There's distortion all the way through. Bill's voice is distorted and clipped - this DVD sounds AWFUL in comparison with the original. Chapter 9 is also really blurred. What happened here???
I'm so disappointed. HOW COULD YOU DO THIS to such important material. This is Bill's BEST live performance. So, so disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That much over used word...Genius but in this case it,s true, 13 Feb 2006
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bill Hicks Live: Relentless [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
In a perfect world there wouldn't be a need for someone like me to urge other people like me to buy "Relentless" But then if the world was perfect there wouldn't really be a need for Bill Hicks which in turn would make the world less than perfect. Mind you even in a world without stupidity, avarice and hypocrisy Hicks would still be funnier than any one else.
Virtually everything Hicks railed against before his tragically premature death from pancreatic cancer in 1994 still holds true today. Wars based on greed, ignorance and lies, religious bigotry and duplicity, Female hypocrisy -Hicks was real good on hypocrisy -censorship, freedom but mainly just the sheer bowel shrivelling idiocy of the human race.
"Relentless "was recorded at the Montreal Comedy Festival in1991. Anything by Hicks is worth your time and money but "Relentless is especially superb. It was coruscating and funny on CD but actually watching Hicks execute his incendiary material is a joy in itself. The guy didn't just have incredible material he could perform as well in his prowling soothsayer for liberty and truth type way.
The comedy in "Relentless" isn't as dark and cruel as some of the stuff he performed later when he realised he might be dying. ( Hicks cancer went into semi- remission at one point but returned more voracious ) and is all the more effective for it's slightly and I mean slightly lighter touch which is bit like saying one black hole is blacker than another but there you go.
Here are some highlights .Bill Hicks always managed to get the last word and I'm not standing in the great mans way : " I'm Bill Hicks and I'm dead now because I smoked cigarettes .Cigarettes didn't kill me-a bunch of non smokers kicked the crap out of me one night- I tried to run, they had more energy than I had. I tried to hide-They heard me wheezing. "
"Did you know that if you play New Kids on the Block records backwards they sound better?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 16 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Bill Hicks Live: Relentless [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Widely regarded as one of the greatest stand-up comedians ever, Bill Hicks remains somewhat scarce as far as releases. His career, which lasted for a good 15 years, consisted of more touring than recording - and, indeed, such little success in his homeland - that there are only four DVDs of his material. Relentless, an abridged version of his set from Montreal's Just For Laughs in 1991, is the weakest of those four.

Bill Hicks wasn't so much a comedian with sets, but had a constantly warping and changing routine that evolved over time. As such, for the same reason as Love All The People as a book is repetitive, a lot of the material on Relentless was previously in the superior Sane Man. What is new is, obviously, extremely funny - the material on the Iraq war is dynamite, and what Hicks himself refers to as the 'suck your own c***' bit, and his messages remain strong as always ("when did mediocrity and banality become a good example for your children?").

The DVD suffers from further problems as far as both length and fidelity. The DVD is noticeably edited (I believe around 15 minutes is missing compared to the VHS version) and the DVD helpfully tells you (once you put it on, not on the box) that the last quarter hour or so of the set no longer exists in its master format and as such, is in pretty poor sound and picture quality.

Luckily, Hicks is funny enough - even if you're heard it before - that this DVD is just about worth buying, but it is by some distance fourth on your buyers' list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Bill Hick's finest recorded performances., 8 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Bill Hicks Live: Relentless [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
One of the best Bill Hicks performances on either video or CD. His delivery, timing, wit and sardonicism are all spot on, probably thanks to the fact his material for the show was pretty fresh at the time (unlike on 'The Flying Saucer Tour' CD where Bill seems bored of his own routine).
My favourite bits are his incandescent rant about squeaky-clean pop groups like New Kids on the Block, a tirade against non-smokers/health freaks and 'Drugs have done good things for us'.
If you've yet to buy any of Bill's stuff this would be the perfect introduction as you're catching him on top form. After that i can recommend Revelations (video) and Rant in E-minor (CD) as i own them both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars We miss Bill!, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Hicks Live: Relentless [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The Bill Hicks' range of CD's cover more material but this is still a helluva good way to introduce audiences to the genius that was Bill Hicks. If he was still alive today his material would be even more relevant than it was back in the early 1990's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest comedian that has ever lived, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Hicks Live: Relentless [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This DVD is not the premier show ever performed by Hicks. It does however contain many humourous parts and will keep you entertained. I would strongly recommend revelations however as opposed to relentless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Editing = shocking, 7 Aug 2009
This review is from: Bill Hicks Live: Relentless [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Recorded in Canada and advertised as a 75 minute dvd, this only runs for 60 minutes. Any Hicks fan will find plenty to laugh at here and it is worth the asking price even though it is a very poor recording (which seems to be edited by a toddler).

There is a strange moment when Hicks becomes confrontational with the audience. After a joke falls flat and is greeted by tepid laughter Hicks stares at a particular audience member, and taunts the room by announcing that he is the anti-Christ.

It's not so much that Hicks' ironic self-hatred is unfunny (which it is), but his anger at the audience over not laughing at a joke seems juvenile. I'm sure many of Hicks' fans would say that he was playing for audiences that were not cultured enough to "get" his humour. There may be a modicum of truth to that, but for the most part, I'm with the audience. Some of the jokes just aren't that funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bill Hicks Live: Relentless [DVD] [2006]
Bill Hicks Live: Relentless [DVD] [2006] by Bill Hicks (DVD - 2006)
8.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews