Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.91+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2000
At the time of its release this was the most important album of its kind. The cover itself tells its own story: the double meaning of the name immediately apparent. Its important to contextualise this work: Orgreave, Toxteth and Maggie Thatcher. But its also important to acknowledge the relevance of the raw anger at multi-nationals and cynical politicians. I'm glad this has been released on CD. The music has dated, but the lyrics are prophetic, and exude a sort of inarguable truth,``reclaim the streets,reclaim the towns, reclaim the nation'.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2007
Conflict are notorious for their uncompromising stance, willing use of force, ultra-veganism and above all the lead singer Colin Jerwood and his seemingly limitless energy!

This release is perhaps Conflict's finest hour, combining both their positive DIY message and some excellent anarcho-punk beats. Driving guitars, rapid drumming and meaningful vocals make this an excellent, if hard release. It's roughly 40mins long and the whole album tends to blend into track followed by musical or lyrical interludes and then another track. There are some absolutely brilliant songs on here, including the self-titled track "The Ungovernable Force", the self-depricating "Ungovernable Farce", the hilarious "Force or Service" and blistering and loud "The Day Before." Not forgetting the final two closing tracks, "This is the ALF" which is slowed down but very powerful and "To be continued" with the female vocalist asking "Do I stand alone in my search for freedom?" Truly revolutionary stuff.

In all fairness the album has the usual anarcho-themes on, but as usual, Conflict manage to ask and deal with them in such an in-your-face and energetic way they put most of their contemporaries to shame.

All-in-all this is Conflict's landmark release and as such sets the precedent for most of their other material and nothing comes quite as close to this. It's powerful, intense, sometimes blisteringly quick and at others slowed down and insightful. It has all the trademark Conflict aggression and plenty of photos of riots and coppers being floored in the booklet. Should you get it? Without question. Like Crass but more hardcore, more uncompromising, full of energy and much more brutal. Essential.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2009
This is the album which basically got Conflict banned from playing anywhere in the U.K.! I wouldn't be without it but musically I prefer the earlier albums especially increase the pressure but as an anarcho punk at the time of the release this was the clarion call. I love Anti flag and modern punk but I'm not sure in this day and age if the intensity of the moment can be recreated....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is by far their crowning achievement, recorded in 1985. Top notch, fierce lyrics, agressive, ultra-trebley, vitriolic-sounding guitar attack, great rhythm section courtesy of Broken Bones'Paul Hoody and lifetime drummer Paco Carreño and a tight harcore-punk/crusty performance that borrows somewhat from their major influence, CRASS.Intro and tracks in-between tracks are intrumentals mixed with radio and excerpts from speeches that nail the points made by the songs superbly to great effect. The closing track is a soft one with female vocals that makes for a perfect album closure. This album is so much mature in every aspect that their debut album and musically better than others that would follow so if you are to buy just one Conflict album it should be this one IMHO. The performance s ultra-tight and the sound almost excellent, clocking in at 33'. Don't forget to get a live one too, the live versions of the songs are different and exciting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
one of the best anarcho albums ever but not the reason Conflict were banned from playing anywhere in the uk the gig at Briton academy april 1987 did that i know i was there !!! and the recording of that is the album turning rebellion into money ,
RIP Paco legend great man one of the best drummers ever
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
I am very pleased with my CD it is great quantity and sond quality very good. I grew up listening to this punk band I had this on vinyl but I plead it that much I had to get it on CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
Great title, great cover, great opening track - but ...

The Ungovernable Force, listened to over (cough) 25 years after release, and it's not the reservoir dog you might've imagined - more of a muzzled mongrel.

It all starts off well enough with You Cannot Win, essentially samples from the film Threads [DVD] [1984] over a bleak funereal soundtrack. Let's forgive Conflict the fact that nuclear horror stuff was done earlier by The Clash, The Mob, and even scouse disco band Frankie Goes To Hollywood.

From here on in, it's rage all the way. Except somehow it feels forced. When Crass created a genre from scratch with The Feeding of the 5000 (Re-issue) a lot of things weren't immediately apparent:

1. Penny Rimbaud was the product of private education and had even done a term at Oxbridge.
2. Crass were essentially performance poetry, which meant it was difficult if not impossible for them to fall into the trap of sounding like pub rock gone political.
3. A full 8 years later, Conflict would still be attempting to sound as completely nuts as Crass had once done.

This a lyrically dense album, but the comedy rage vocals are unaware of just how antiquated they sound even in a 1986 context. None of which is helped by the way Conflict use power chords - instrumentally it's a confused record.

All in all, not an unlikeable record - and interesting as a period piece, but by 1986 so much more was going on. And anyone who'd heard RUN- D.M.C. by this time would know there are better ways to spit bullets and blow minds.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Thoroughly recommended. Was going to transfer form my vinyl copy but so much easier on download! Played constantly in the car.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
An excellent album, that in my opinion has stood the test of time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
conflict enough said
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.86

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)