Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars30
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2009
Miss Midler is the fourth actress I have seen in this role. I saw Rozalind Russell on Film and Angela Lansbury and Dolores Gray on stage but Miss Midler is the best. She alone of the performers I have seen in the role catches the essential loneliness and desperation of the character. The story is about a stage struck mother who pushes her daughters on stage in American Vaudeville promising them that they would be stars which they both became (one as June Havoc the actress, director and writer and the other as Gypsy Rose Lee the celebrated striptease artist). Miss Midler has most of the musical numbers to carry (the score is one of the greatest Broadway scores written for a woman). The film is full of humour which the entire cast revel in. Watch out particularly for the "all I really need is the girl" number. Too often solo dance numbers get to be boring but not this one. Buy it and then watch it again and again and again.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2000
OK well Bette fans if you do not own this, then are you really a decent enough Bette fan.
As Midler herself says in the video 'Diva las Vegas' "the most fun I ever had was when I got to do Mama Rose in Gypsy". Midler's performance certainly demonstrates this intense enthuisiasm for the role and how could anyone fail to wish to see the boradway phenomenon of the 1950's brought back to life by one of the world's greates superstars?
From Bette's very first line in this we know that Gyspy is going to be a film to enjoy time after time, Midler's performance is comedic, poigniant, forceful and quite frankly amazing. Who would have thought that Ethel Merman's role could ever be played as well as Ethel Merman played it, but Better Midler is astounding.
Though the start of this may seem slow, it is made up for by the extremely poigniant 'Rose's Turn' the finale to the musical in which Bette Midler demonstrates that she really is worthy of the title 'superstar'.
All I can say is that you must buy this, must must must must must.
Further Ratings (out of five stars)
Bette Midler's performance: 5 Other major performances: 5
Dominic Mattos
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
I bought this DVD because I am doing this show later in the year with an amateur dramatic society. I was brought up on the original version with Rosalind Russell, Natalie Wood and Karl Malden. This blew my socks off! Midller is Madam Rose without even trying. Her big strong personality is ideal for her character and she belts out her songs in a true Ethel Merman style. The other characters are perfectly cast and the script is true to the original stage show libretto, and nothing has been messed about with. I have watched it a dozen times now and will continue to watch it as it is so good. Buy it, enjoy it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2003
A fantastic musical starring a fenomenal leading lady of american musical theatre! What could go wrong? Nothing! This is a lovely television film, you'll love it! Especially if you love Gypsy or adore Midler, this DVD is a must! Buy now! :)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2003
I agree, this truly is a great film.
Wasn't it Rosalind Russell that played Mama Rose in the original - not Ethel Merman??
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2005
The rise of a tom-boy child star, always playing second-fiddle to her sister, on the vaudeville circuit to the height of burlesque, discovering her femininity and beauty on the way.
Probably the most famous "stripper" is overpowered at every turn by her domineering mother - Mama Rose. Rose could have been big - but, somehow, never quite hit the heights that she desired. Instead, she pushed her daughters, and countless other children, to become famous. Initially her efforts concentrated maily on (Baby) June - her blonde daughter and star of the vaudeville act.
When June leaves the troupe to become an actress, Rose tries to push her other daughter - Louise - into the same role. As work becomes harder to find, the troupe ends up working in burlesque theatres and Louise earns extra money by supporting the theatre comics.
One evening, a stripper fails to turn up for the show and Louise is volunteered for the job by her mother. So begins the career of Gypsy Rose Lee!
Although a long film, and somewhat slow at points, this seems to be one of the few re-makes that remains fairly true and does justice to the original.
Few actresses could have followed in the footsteps of Rosalind Russell (1962 film) and Ethel Merman (1959 stage) and made the role of Mama Rose their own. Bette Midler manages to portray Rose honestly and without taking over the whole film. Her character, while pivotal to the storyline, takes a back seat when necessary and balances the rise of Gyspy with the unfulfilled dreams of Rose.
Careful casting of the other characters rings true to the 1962 film whilst injecting a new lease of life to the characters.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2010
I watched this years ago with my mum and i loved it ever since. Its a classic film with bette middler in it. It shows how a pushy mum pushes her two girls to stardom from an early age then the older one leaves as she gets sick of performing baby shows and that leaves the youngest louise who becomes the star in the end.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
Just saw this on stage so decided to watch the film which was a remake of the 50's film with Rosaling Russell. Ths one stars the divine Miss M and its excellant. A pushy mum who ends up with a stripper as a daughter called Gypsy Rose Lee.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Love this film .. came quickly and watched it several times since. Bought this for my grand-daughter who adores it just as much as I do. Thankyou Amazon and it's sources.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
Good film, but why does my copy require volume to be at maximum. Other review do not mention this anomoly. My other DVD's play ok.
Not a good buy. Will be more selective in future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)