Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one Gypsy who doesn't sell pegs.
Miss Midler is the fourth actress I have seen in this role. I saw Rozalind Russell on Film and Angela Lansbury and Dolores Gray on stage but Miss Midler is the best. She alone of the performers I have seen in the role catches the essential loneliness and desperation of the character. The story is about a stage struck mother who pushes her daughters on stage in...
Published on 17 Feb 2009 by R. Andersson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No English subtitles, or region one (USA) or too expensive
when will this film be released for region two with English subtitles for hard of hearing please? I am trying to replace my old videos with DVDs at a reasonable price but find it hard to find good copies. They are either region 1 (USA) or no subtitles or far too expensive!!
Published 4 months ago by EAP of B


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one Gypsy who doesn't sell pegs., 17 Feb 2009
By 
R. Andersson "Islander" (Naxos, Cyclades Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gypsy [1993] [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Miss Midler is the fourth actress I have seen in this role. I saw Rozalind Russell on Film and Angela Lansbury and Dolores Gray on stage but Miss Midler is the best. She alone of the performers I have seen in the role catches the essential loneliness and desperation of the character. The story is about a stage struck mother who pushes her daughters on stage in American Vaudeville promising them that they would be stars which they both became (one as June Havoc the actress, director and writer and the other as Gypsy Rose Lee the celebrated striptease artist). Miss Midler has most of the musical numbers to carry (the score is one of the greatest Broadway scores written for a woman). The film is full of humour which the entire cast revel in. Watch out particularly for the "all I really need is the girl" number. Too often solo dance numbers get to be boring but not this one. Buy it and then watch it again and again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honey everything's come up roses for Bette and Bette fans, 19 Nov 2000
This review is from: Gypsy [VHS] [1993] (VHS Tape)
OK well Bette fans if you do not own this, then are you really a decent enough Bette fan.
As Midler herself says in the video 'Diva las Vegas' "the most fun I ever had was when I got to do Mama Rose in Gypsy". Midler's performance certainly demonstrates this intense enthuisiasm for the role and how could anyone fail to wish to see the boradway phenomenon of the 1950's brought back to life by one of the world's greates superstars?
From Bette's very first line in this we know that Gyspy is going to be a film to enjoy time after time, Midler's performance is comedic, poigniant, forceful and quite frankly amazing. Who would have thought that Ethel Merman's role could ever be played as well as Ethel Merman played it, but Better Midler is astounding.
Though the start of this may seem slow, it is made up for by the extremely poigniant 'Rose's Turn' the finale to the musical in which Bette Midler demonstrates that she really is worthy of the title 'superstar'.
All I can say is that you must buy this, must must must must must.
Further Ratings (out of five stars)
Bette Midler's performance: 5 Other major performances: 5
Dominic Mattos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything's coming up roses!, 29 Sep 2003
This review is from: Gypsy [VHS] [1993] (VHS Tape)
A fantastic musical starring a fenomenal leading lady of american musical theatre! What could go wrong? Nothing! This is a lovely television film, you'll love it! Especially if you love Gypsy or adore Midler, this DVD is a must! Buy now! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midller is Madam Rose, 23 Feb 2012
This review is from: Gypsy [1993] [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
I bought this DVD because I am doing this show later in the year with an amateur dramatic society. I was brought up on the original version with Rosalind Russell, Natalie Wood and Karl Malden. This blew my socks off! Midller is Madam Rose without even trying. Her big strong personality is ideal for her character and she belts out her songs in a true Ethel Merman style. The other characters are perfectly cast and the script is true to the original stage show libretto, and nothing has been messed about with. I have watched it a dozen times now and will continue to watch it as it is so good. Buy it, enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bette's perfect role, 19 Jan 2005
By 
R. Hill (Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gypsy [VHS] [1993] (VHS Tape)
The rise of a tom-boy child star, always playing second-fiddle to her sister, on the vaudeville circuit to the height of burlesque, discovering her femininity and beauty on the way.
Probably the most famous "stripper" is overpowered at every turn by her domineering mother - Mama Rose. Rose could have been big - but, somehow, never quite hit the heights that she desired. Instead, she pushed her daughters, and countless other children, to become famous. Initially her efforts concentrated maily on (Baby) June - her blonde daughter and star of the vaudeville act.
When June leaves the troupe to become an actress, Rose tries to push her other daughter - Louise - into the same role. As work becomes harder to find, the troupe ends up working in burlesque theatres and Louise earns extra money by supporting the theatre comics.
One evening, a stripper fails to turn up for the show and Louise is volunteered for the job by her mother. So begins the career of Gypsy Rose Lee!
Although a long film, and somewhat slow at points, this seems to be one of the few re-makes that remains fairly true and does justice to the original.
Few actresses could have followed in the footsteps of Rosalind Russell (1962 film) and Ethel Merman (1959 stage) and made the role of Mama Rose their own. Bette Midler manages to portray Rose honestly and without taking over the whole film. Her character, while pivotal to the storyline, takes a back seat when necessary and balances the rise of Gyspy with the unfulfilled dreams of Rose.
Careful casting of the other characters rings true to the 1962 film whilst injecting a new lease of life to the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uh-huh....., 26 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gypsy [VHS] [1993] (VHS Tape)
I agree, this truly is a great film.
Wasn't it Rosalind Russell that played Mama Rose in the original - not Ethel Merman??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No English subtitles, or region one (USA) or too expensive, 25 April 2014
This review is from: Gypsy [1993] [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
when will this film be released for region two with English subtitles for hard of hearing please? I am trying to replace my old videos with DVDs at a reasonable price but find it hard to find good copies. They are either region 1 (USA) or no subtitles or far too expensive!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gypsy (1993) DVD, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy [1993] [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
This 1993 version of Gypsy is good and Bette Midler plays the part well. However, I prefer the earlier version starring Rosalind Russell and Natalie Wood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars gypsy, 27 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Sylvia White "tiggywinkle" (Ryhope Sunderland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy [1993] [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
not a patch on the original,
I am sorry this is disappointing. so
I will be putting this into the charity shop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY FAVOURITE FILM ... Gypsy, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gypsy [1993] [DVD] [1994] (DVD)
Love this film .. came quickly and watched it several times since. Bought this for my grand-daughter who adores it just as much as I do. Thankyou Amazon and it's sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gypsy [1993] [DVD] [1994]
Gypsy [1993] [DVD] [1994] by Emile Ardolino (DVD - 2005)
13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews