Customer Reviews


7 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0


1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't feel lost with spotless films like this
Lost In Translation is my favourite movie of all time. its so original. its moving, funny, and although very slow moving in parts, worth sticking with to the brilliant, although mysterious, end. Bill Murray and Scarlett Johannson are superb in their roles as two people lost in the city of Tokyo, unsure of what to do and how to find their place. They are searching for that...
Published on 10 Sept. 2006 by P. Finch

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Have only watched LIT so far
We watched Lost in Translation whilst staying in Tokyo thinking it would be relevant. We found this very dull and did not even finish watching it. It had a few poking fun at the Japanese jokes about the lengthy language and their funny accents but it just seemed to be a film about two boring people being bored in a hotel in Japan. Nothing much happened. Perhaps it got...
Published on 2 July 2013 by Mrs. C. M. Fairgrieve


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't feel lost with spotless films like this, 10 Sept. 2006
By 
P. Finch (Coventry, West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lost in Translation/Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind [DVD] (DVD)
Lost In Translation is my favourite movie of all time. its so original. its moving, funny, and although very slow moving in parts, worth sticking with to the brilliant, although mysterious, end. Bill Murray and Scarlett Johannson are superb in their roles as two people lost in the city of Tokyo, unsure of what to do and how to find their place. They are searching for that one thing that is missing in thier life..fun. You really care about the characters because they are so in depth, and the film really focuses on this and their relationship.

Eternal Sunshine is a clever, original and fantastic film, with great performances from the typically excellent Kate Winslet and Jim Carrey, proving he can be a serious actor when he wants to be. Although confusing in parts, if you love films like Memento and the like, then this is definetely for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect pairing of two fantastic films, 27 Dec. 2008
By 
Lark (North Coast of Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost in Translation/Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind [DVD] (DVD)
I was so happy to find these two films paired with one another, its not often that DVD anthologists get it right and there was a time when you could be sure that you would find one great movie paired off with one not so great one but this definitely isnt the case.

Both of these movies are pretty quirky and shun simplistic or happy ever after endings, that said I really cant describe either of them as anything other than feel good movies. They arent realistic to the point of being dull reflections of everyone's everyday but they arent sloppy romantic flicks either.

Lost In Translation features two people out of step with their surroundings and as the movie progresses you get to thinking that they are out of step with their significant others. That said neither of them are experiencing anything much worse than what might be described as "ordinary misery", it's brilliantly acted and their relationship with one another develops, they get a lot of solace from spending time with one another. The acting is brilliant, this is proper film too, its not totally narrative driven and the direction is fantastic, not feeling compelled to create an air tight self-contained story which wont leave anything to the imagination of the viewer.

Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless mind is about a service which allows people to forget, the story then follows what happens when someone buys in the service, suspecting that their ex has already done so, only to become resistant to the process when it has begun. This isnt a sloppy or schulmtzy story of the love lorn or love lost, its a pretty cool mediation on memories and dreaming, this is something which its easy to seriously mess up (I'm thinking The Science of Sleep) but its done well and there's lots of humour (but surprising not from Carrey who proves he can do something other than play for laughs).

This is in many ways a good combination for the days when you'd like to have something to watch about life and love in all its imperfection, something for when the "soul searing love" sort of love story isnt exactly going to satisfy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting films, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost in Translation/Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind [DVD] (DVD)
Two marvelous uplifting films - Top entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost in Eternal Sunshine...., 20 Jun. 2013
By 
Phil C (Nuneaton, Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost in Translation/Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind [DVD] (DVD)
For once, an imaginative pairing of two excellent films - one about culture shock and the other about the consequences of memory removal. Bill Murray is just Bill Murray, while Jim Carrey reminds everyone how good he can be when he drops the gurning and snorting and simply ACTS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost in Translation/Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind [DVD] (DVD)
As described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a dvd, 13 Sept. 2013
By 
Bj Israel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost in Translation/Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind [DVD] (DVD)
I bort this its really good. I like to wotch the picks and see James Carrey do funnnnny things. Him good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Have only watched LIT so far, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost in Translation/Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind [DVD] (DVD)
We watched Lost in Translation whilst staying in Tokyo thinking it would be relevant. We found this very dull and did not even finish watching it. It had a few poking fun at the Japanese jokes about the lengthy language and their funny accents but it just seemed to be a film about two boring people being bored in a hotel in Japan. Nothing much happened. Perhaps it got really good after we decided to go and do something more interesting instead, like sleeping.

Can't comment on Eternal Sunshine yet. hoping it's nothing like the other film. if its any good I might add an extra star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost in Translation/Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind [DVD]
£8.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews