Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lou Rhodes NOT Lamb
This is Lou Rhodes, not Lamb and this is where some people may have a problem with this album. Same voice and same poetic lyrics, different sound altogether. If you're expecting a version of Lamb then you will be dissapointed because this is Lou's work not Lamb! This is her sharing her craft, letting us have a glimpse into her soul with her beautiful crafted words &...
Published on 2 April 2006 by C. Wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars thoughtful music but poor singing voice
This original folky sounding album contains plenty of thoughtful and natural musical accompaniment, but where it fails to impress me is with the singing voice, which is nothing special at all and even sometimes collapses into an unpleasant sound on occasion - difficult to describe, but at times -at its worst- becomes akin to a kind of demented wail. Yet others praise her...
Published 21 months ago by dan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lou Rhodes NOT Lamb, 2 April 2006
This review is from: Beloved One (Audio CD)
This is Lou Rhodes, not Lamb and this is where some people may have a problem with this album. Same voice and same poetic lyrics, different sound altogether. If you're expecting a version of Lamb then you will be dissapointed because this is Lou's work not Lamb! This is her sharing her craft, letting us have a glimpse into her soul with her beautiful crafted words & music. IT is simple and open, sometimes even raw and the vulnerability is what I loved most about this album. Expect a beautiful voice accompanied by folk rythms, simple melodies, violins and guitars obviously made with love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to the previous reviewer, 21 Mar 2006
This review is from: Beloved One (Audio CD)
This is without any shadow of doubt Louise Rhodes at her absolute finest. Beautiful voice , ecstatic lyrics, amazing in every way . It will be the soundtrack of the summer 2006. Beautiful , buy it buy it buy it , and she is playing at The Big Chill this year x x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 31 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Beloved One (Audio CD)
Just buy this! Lou has branched out on her own and created the most beautiful, moving modern folk you'll hear. A fully acoustic album that allows her unmistakable voice to be both subtle and powerful. Touching lyrics, beautiful melodies and richly textured acoustic sounds. It is a complex album sounding both ancient and original, melancholy and joyful. This won't gather dust on my shelves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful folk from a beautiful voice, 2 Nov 2006
By 
I. Haslam (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beloved One (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album that's full of passion and emotion and surprisingly really suits Lou's voice. Ignore anyone trying to compare this to Lamb, this album is better when taken as a completely seperate entity. This album can be compared to Beth Gibbons post-portishead album with Rustin Man, however Lou has distanced herself further from her past musical exploits than Beth by stripping the music back to very folk-orientated roots. I don't agree that this album lacks the impact of her previous work, but this depends on your musical outlook. If you need fast moving break-beats to give a song intensity then you won't find that here. It's all about the music and the voice - in my opinion it's an amazing piece of work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical Lyrics, 20 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Beloved One (Audio CD)
Lovely and delicious album - Lou Rhodes' music crosses several genres - chillout/folk/jazz - and the lyrics stand out as well-crafted and thoughtful. I saw a review that likened Lou Rhodes to Kate Bush - but I don't hear this - she is quite different and has her own style, but reminds me more of 'Suzanne Vega meets Melanie Safka meets Tori Amos'. 'A Wise Man Said to Me' is a stunning and inspirational track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, Love, Love Lou, 8 Feb 2006
This review is from: Beloved One (Audio CD)
If you haven't already guessed I loved this album. Completely different to anything by Lamb, Lou continues to portray her absolute passion about life and love through her words. Her voice is totally unique and beautiful and I think the drums and guitar complement this perfectly. She is a truly gifted musician and I can't wait to see her play live at the Scala in London in March. If you get the chance buy a ticket before it's too late!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lullabies from Lamb's Lou, 6 Nov 2006
This review is from: Beloved One (Audio CD)
If you loved Lamb you will love Lou Rhodes solo album. Though she hasn't taken any of Lamb's quirky bleeps and squeaks with her, the voice you loved resounds more clearly for it and is just as beautiful as ever it was. It's like listening to lullabies for grown ups. Inspirational, experiential, soothing and warming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true daughter of Albion, 4 Feb 2006
This review is from: Beloved One (Audio CD)
After just seeing the title track performed at The daughters of Albion concert at the Barbican last night im in no doubt this album is going to be one of 2006 best albums. A return to exquiste acoustic songwriting that actually has soul and the most beautiful voice you ever heard!!! BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true return to form, 20 Mar 2006
This review is from: Beloved One (Audio CD)
Remember the first time you heard a Track by Lamb. Well the magic that brought you Cottonwoll and Gabriel is back. She's gone a lot folky but it is absolutely lovely and by the end of this summer I guarantee it will be listened to and loved by every owner of a Monsoon article of clothing in the country. A Beautiful piece of work and amazing lyrics.
Lou Rhodes has been in retreat and has been able to produce enchanting music as a result
magical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Album., 13 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Beloved One (Audio CD)
The first time I listened to this album I was impressed by the quality of Lou's voice and generally though that it was a good but not great album. How wrong can you be. Repeated listening has revealed depth and quality to every aspect of this album. It now sits with Bloom, Lou's second album, as one of my favorite albums. For some strange reason I just love listening to this album in the car, no reason just do! If you're unsure which of Lou's first two albums to buy, I'd suggest Bloom as having more instant impact but on repeated listening this is almost as good, and in this case that means it's very very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beloved One
Beloved One by Lou Rhodes (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews