Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excuse me?!
I couldn't agree more with the last reviewer, at least someone reviewing this game has a brain.

Read the title: 'Moto Gp 2006'. Why on earth are people expecting all-out arcade? Do they even know what the Moto GP is?! "Ooo, it's got a bike on the front cover, it must be a bike arcade game." Wrong, wrong, wrong. Honestly, if you're not going to actually learn...
Published on 29 July 2006 by Mr. A. L. Cooper

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so much 360 as 180
If like me you own an Xbox and a copy of MotoGP and now you own a X360 and a copy of MotoGP 06 you probably had high expectations. This is where the real problem lies with MotoGP 06 360. Opposed to being an astounding motorbike simulator it simply feels like a standard run of-the-mill Xbox game running on an Xbox 360. The first MotoGP had some slowdown but it did run at a...
Published on 10 Jun 2006 by brutalbeaver


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excuse me?!, 29 July 2006
By 
Mr. A. L. Cooper "drunken_munkey" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MotoGP 06 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I couldn't agree more with the last reviewer, at least someone reviewing this game has a brain.

Read the title: 'Moto Gp 2006'. Why on earth are people expecting all-out arcade? Do they even know what the Moto GP is?! "Ooo, it's got a bike on the front cover, it must be a bike arcade game." Wrong, wrong, wrong. Honestly, if you're not going to actually learn about the game's features before buying it, it's like going on a blind date. You're just wasting your money.

On a good note, I personally love this game. I've played in recent months Tourist Trophy by Polyphony Digital (PS2) and was very pleased as I am very familar with PD's Gran Turismo series. It's quite a jump going from GT and other car games to your first bike game, but this is one game I can't take out of my 360!

Playing for a few hours now, I do believe this is probably my favorite bike game I've played and love games with simulation.

So, here's a note to those who can't be bothered to research and learn what the game is about: All the riders and tracks (as far as I can tell) from the 2005 and 2006 Moto GP are thrown into this game, with excellent (realistic) physics and, yes, it is tricky to begin with, but in time you do learn how the different bikes, riders and tracks are different and how to compensate accordingly. In other words, you do need practice at this game , in general, to get better at it. Common sense really :)

Graphics and content are as expected: tip-top and better than other games in it class. This is a game for Moto Gp fans and, to some extent, motorbike fans. Just don't expect 'unrealism'. Buy away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit annoying, but a great motorcycle game nonetheless, 25 Feb 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MotoGP 06 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
MOTO GP 06 is a motorcycle-racing simulator, although as well as the 2006 names etc it also has the 2005 ones. As well as being able to have just one race (you can race in a track from the championship or an Extreme one), you also have a Career mode that allows you to race on tracks around the world, while earning attribute points (which you can apply to improve aspects of your bike, such as braking, accelerating, cornering and top speed) by completing challenges, championships and increasing your seed rating.

One thing that really is cool is that you can customise the look of your bike and rider, including logos. This is a really fun feature and it's really easy to use. There is also a Workshop that you can access between races to allow you to tune up your bike and alter it.

During a particular stage in a championship, before you go into the race itself, you can elect to practice the track (which also allows you to get used to the weather conditions -- sometimes it can be raining, and this is a pain compared to drier conditions, understandably, but it looks cool, especially as the rain leaves drops on the screen, as if it was looking through a camera lens, just like if you were watching a race on TV). There are also some challenges you can have a go at; these normally allow you to improve your riding skills by making you do a section of the track you are currently on and telling you what to do to complete the section in a (very tight!) time limit. Fortunately these challenges are an option and not forced upon you, because they are really very difficult and can be frustrating when you keep failing just because you went off the track (the time-limit counts down quicker while you are off the track, as if the challenge wasn't hard enough).

Racing is genuinely thrilling. You feel like a part of the action, and you use the Right Stick to accelerate and brake, and the Left Stick to lean forward and back on the bike (if you lean forward there's less air resistance, so you can ride faster) as well as steer. Braking can be done via the Left and Right Triggers for rear- and front-wheel braking. The Left and Right Bumpers are used to shift down and up gears (if you've set the game to manual gear-shifting). There's also a button to allow you to look behind you for as long as you hold it down, so you can see just how far behind you (or not, as the case may be) the riders behind you are.

If you go off the track you suffer a time-penalty, and I find that kind of spiteful in a videogame; the ability to turn it off would help. The game is challenging enough (and perhaps a little random as to whether or not you fall over? It certainly seemed so on occasion).

You can also choose various different views while riding, including some cockpit views (which I don't much like as the windscreen is dark enough to stop you from seeing riders in front of you quickly enough to avoid them if you are in danger of crashing into them.

If you fall off your bike for whatever reason, you are fortunately reasonably quickly allowed to remount your bike and continue on your way. However, if you fall off whilst off the track, you can sometimes be what looks like placed facing at right-angles to the track, meaning that there is half a chance that you could ride off in the wrong direction; very annoying and could have been avoided by facing you in the correct direction, as it normally does.

After each race, you can look at an action replay of the whole race, and these are especially cool and fun to watch. It's a shame that some of them are spoilt by occasional pop-up and glitching in the backgrounds, but if you can see past that then they really are top-quality.

Graphics and sound are excellent, with very convincing motorcycle sounds and some cool-looking motorbikes and riders. Whenever someone crashes it's really convincing as the biker flails in the air and bounces off anything he hits, sometimes even grabbing his knee in pain. The attention to detail really is superb.

If you like racing games that are a bit different, then this might be worth a look. It is something of a simulation, however, so if you're an arcade junkie then you might find yourself falling off too often! It's just a shame that the challenges are next to impossible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Challenging...BAD A.I, 20 July 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MotoGP 06 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game offers a good and challenging NON-ARCADE moto gp experience. Why are people expecting an easy arcade race??? Im seein reviews statin this game is TO HARD... Lol? Yes its hard, but once u get the hang of it, its great. U have to get your line right to get around the bends, and you have to brake at the right time. Once you learn when to do those (doest need to b perfect either! not everyones going to get the best time in the world!) you can play a realistic, challenging, great looking and fun game. There are a few minor bugs, but i avnt pld a game where there hasnt been bugs on. So it doesnt spoil anything.

One big complaint, is with the opponents A.I. Its really bad. I dont think they actually compete, there jus on a fixed track to get them round to the finish. They make no attempt at all to avoid crashes and they jus generally act really stupid!

Overall this game is worth the money. Multiplayer is intense and generally lag free. Multiplayer will make this game last for ages. And the single player is long lasting and mostly fun to play (apart from the A.I). Fully recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simulation made fun., 29 Mar 2007
By 
P. Maurice "PMamba45" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MotoGP 06 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Moto gp is always something to remember on xbox which got better in sequels but there was always something missing.

This outing on 360 seems to fill the enigma. The introduction to each bike handling and sounding differently brings more choice to adapt and appreciate more of what the game has to offer later. This game seems to bring the rumble effect in the controller to a welcomed level. Convincing force feedback makes you feel in touch with the environment.

Realistic riding physics thats easily adaptable to give that pick up and play element.

This game may give you a passion for bikes that other races rarely provide. Races are structured so that there is never a loss cause to give up.
If you like simulations with arcade presentation, i would highly recommend putting on your boots for something unsurpassed in all aspects that can only get better in another sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great game at a great price, 15 Feb 2007
By 
D. A. Peacock (St. Albans UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MotoGP 06 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is really rather good. Actually it is brilliant, it has stunning graphics and realistic gameplay. It isn't too easy to be boring nor too hard to be pointless. I love it.

After playing racing games for years I thought I was pretty good, this one is different though and I had to learn cornering again - which was a challenge but good fun.

I'm super impressed with the graphics and, well, everything. I think that this is a great addition to any Xbox collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so much 360 as 180, 10 Jun 2006
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MotoGP 06 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If like me you own an Xbox and a copy of MotoGP and now you own a X360 and a copy of MotoGP 06 you probably had high expectations. This is where the real problem lies with MotoGP 06 360. Opposed to being an astounding motorbike simulator it simply feels like a standard run of-the-mill Xbox game running on an Xbox 360. The first MotoGP had some slowdown but it did run at a steady 60 fps with no tearing and still looked great. Why couldn't Thq achieve that kind of technical competence on the Xbox 360?

It is still early days for Microsofts baby, so with any luck, fingers crossed at all that, the future should see a proper motorbike game appearing on the X360. But for the moment Moto GP 06 is the only option, a sub standard option at that and not worth the asking price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must have for motor racing fans, 21 May 2007
By 
Paul M. Mcintosh "jensiboi" (kinloss, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MotoGP 06 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
when I brought this game I wasnt sure what to expect, However I urge any one to buy this game. The last motorcycle game I ever played was manx TT (sega saturn) and super hang on (sega megadrive)so it has been a while since I played anything like this. So when I played this game it did not disapoint at all. graphics are superb, gameplay can be difficult to master give it a few races you will soon be a valentino rossi. Beating your lap times is always good, the fact you get time penalties for going off the course adds to the fun factor, in my opinion anyway. The game is availiable on xbox live what more can you ask for? Aside from the gp side, you have street racing which can be intense. I suppose a bit more choice of bikes could be better.

I hope they will bring another one out, as the chances of getting a decent formula one game is very slim. The game has really got me into motorbikes, dont know if that is good thing, the best two wheel game you will play for quite a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REALLY FUN, 25 April 2007
By 
M. Hannan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: MotoGP 06 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I love this game. The controls were a bit tricky to come to terms with at first. i repeat at first after my second race i was weaving wheelieing like no man before! Every race is different with the CC class on all races. Season mode is great as you tend to spark up a rivarly with the guy in second in the rankings table

All in all a very accurate and amazing graphical motorbike simulation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moto GP - best motorsport in life and on the xbox!!, 10 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MotoGP 06 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Being a fan of Moto GP only for about a year, and after finding the xbox version a bit too hard to warrant more of my attention, it was with a certain amount of trepidation that I bought this game at the wishes of my girlfriend who is a much bigger fan than I am. How wrong I was!!

It took me only a few hours to master the controls and now I'm able to try my hand around all of my favourite cirquits that I've seen on Eurosport and in person. Don't let previous control difficulties put you off, this game is a lot more playable than the old xbox version, but still difficult in pro mode to keep you interested, and in champion mode to keep you amazed at what the lines and speed the real life riders are able to manage.

With the lack of a formula 1 game on any format, this it truly THE simulation racing game if you are interested in motorsport. If you are into bikes then this is worth getting a 360 for. I don't know how they can much improve in the 07 version other than Rossi's new livery?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It could be so good!, 15 Jun 2006
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MotoGP 06 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The graphics are fantastic and so is the game when practicing and qualifying for a race. Unfortunately this game, like its xbox predecessors still suffers from the weakness of other bikes being able to corner more quickly and knocking the user off over and over again. Pity bcause this could be the best game on a 360.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MotoGP 06 (Xbox 360)
MotoGP 06 (Xbox 360) by THQ (Xbox 360)
13.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews