Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugh Laurie is Outstanding
As a big fan of CSI and medical dramas like Grey's Anatomy, I could hardly wait to buy House on DVD, and I wasn't disappointed. Like so many other shows, House works brilliantly when watched in chunks - 2 or 3 episodes at a time! I lost a lot of sleep watching the series 1 through the first time, and when I finished, I simply threw the first disc back in the player and...
Published on 23 Feb 2007 by 2madkatz

versus
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ok, what the hell is this?
No subtitles at all? Not even in English for hearing impaired?

The show was recorded in widescreen, broadcasted in widescreen and they ship a dvd in 4:3?

bad sound and mediucre picture.

I'm sorry, i'm a big house MD fan, and I bought this to my personal collection but I never watched it. Might as well download a pirated HD version with...
Published on 4 Mar 2010 by Helder Pinto


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugh Laurie is Outstanding, 23 Feb 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House - Season 1 (Hugh Laurie) [DVD] (DVD)
As a big fan of CSI and medical dramas like Grey's Anatomy, I could hardly wait to buy House on DVD, and I wasn't disappointed. Like so many other shows, House works brilliantly when watched in chunks - 2 or 3 episodes at a time! I lost a lot of sleep watching the series 1 through the first time, and when I finished, I simply threw the first disc back in the player and started again from the beginning.

I remember Hugh Laurie from the Fry and Laurie days of long ago, as well as Blackadder, Jeeves and Wooster, and so on, and have always been a fan. But I was still amazed by the quality of his acting on this show. His American accent is so realistic, you forget he is English (in fact I almost got a shock listening to his English accent on the bonus features), and his comic timing makes the best of a witty and clever script. His banter with Dr Cuddy (Lisa Edelstein) is really enjoyable, as is his relationship with the doctors on his team, although honestly, I don't think they can hold a candle to Laurie in terms of ability or on-screen charisma.

Personally, I like the formulaic nature of each episode, as the characters, the humour and the tremendous variety of sometimes bizarre medical problems stop it getting boring. However, my favorite episode of season 1 was the one that broke the formula by following three cases at once. In this penultimate episode of the series we get a deeper insight into House's character, his past and his leg injury, which stirs up more sympathy for his character, as well as giving Laurie an opportunity to demonstrate some really fine acting.

I recently introduced the series to a friend of mine who is a critical care nurse and she loved it! I'm just about to buy series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV Drama at its best, 17 Nov 2006
This review is from: House - Season 1 (Hugh Laurie) [DVD] (DVD)
From the first show to the last, this is one of the best TV Drama shows to his the screens in a long time. Hugh Laurie playing the character of Dr House is absolutely amazing, portraying a cynical, sad man with an inredible talent in diagnostic medicine, yet with little people skills!

Although each show follows a set pattern, very soon it is not anymore about the cases he solves, but the lines he delivers and the side stories that unfold as the show progesses.

Well worth watching, and I can only recommend it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why a repetitive formula isn't necessarily a bad thing., 2 Sep 2006
By 
Mr "Seamus" (Wakefield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House - Season 1 (Hugh Laurie) [DVD] (DVD)
First of all, I'll just agree with all the other reviewers in saying that this is an excellent series, and Hugh Laurie's performance is fantastic and totally believable playing as the misanthropic wise-cracking lead.

However, the main point I wanted to make is just to make people aware of the shows style, and give my own opinion about the repetitive structure of the show; Something that other people have mentioned.

Basically, you shouldn't really be thinking about House in terms of a typical hospital drama like ER, or Chicago Hope, or etc. etc. The genre that House is most like is actually the detective story, and if you think of House as "Columbo with a Stethascope" then you will be closer to the mark.

Each episode involves him tracing the clues that will lead to the cure of a patient, but there are also some excellent sub-plots running through all the shows, and lets not forget, House gets to deliver some seriously funny lines.

This is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 14 Nov 2005
There are dozens of reasons not to like House - it is outrageously formulaic, ludicrously far-fetched and often overly contrived and laboured - it is also one of the most wonderful television shows I have had the pleasure of watching. The pithy dialogue, thoughful direction and most of all, the beautifully measured acting of the central cast more than make up for any shortcomings. Hugh Laurie delivers a tour-de-force performance as the flawed genius - proving my long held theory that genuinely great dramatic performances are best achieved by casting comedians. The supporting cast, whilst always playing second-fiddle to Laurie, are equally competent performers and the will-they-won't-they relationship between House and Dr Cameron (the gorgeous Jennifer Morrison) provides a welcome romantic subplot - although is strangely remensicent of the Grissom/Sara relationship in CSI. All-in-all this show is (almost despite itself) captivating and I challenge anyone to not be so obsessed with its protaganist that by the penultimate episode - easily the season's best - they will be aching to know more about what makes this man tick. I absolutely recommend without question this genius piece of television gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healing, popping Vicodin....Just another day for House MD, 8 July 2006
By 
A. G. Corwin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House - Season 1 (Hugh Laurie) [DVD] (DVD)
After ER, Chicago Hope, and dozens of other medical dramas, how many really good stories could be left? Turns out, quite a few if done in the right way with an excellent cast. House M.D. breathes new life into the hospital drama by adding a dash of CSI type sleuthing with a stellar cast, led by the genius British actor Hugh Laurie (Jeeves and Wooster) as Dr. Gregory House and also starring Lisa Edelstein, Omar Epps, and Robert Sean Leonard.

Dr. Gregory House is an incredibly unusual doctor. He dislikes patients, is partially crippled by a muscular disorder, pops Vicodin like they are tic-tacs, and is addicted to reruns of General Hospital. He would rather read a medical journal or hide out in the OB/GYN lounge than deal with a patient. His true purpose in life is leading a team of young doctors in diagnosing the usually rare and fatal maladies that baffle most doctors. Here House is part Sherlock Holmes and part Gil Grissom. He assembles the puzzle, often failing to get the pieces right, until finally the solution is arrived at. In the meantime he runs rampant across the hospital, badgering or simply bullying his way into getting what he needs to try and help the patient. His bedside manner is not pleasant, in fact House is a jerk because being a jerk is the fastest way to get patients healthy.

Besides trying to diagnose diseases that would baffle Doogie Howser, he is forced by the hospital adminstrator to treat patients during free clinic hours, a fate which to House is akin to death. He hates patients, who he believes are by nature liars, but having to deal with them face to face allows a slightly softer side to House to shine and also give the show some needed humor amidst the darkness.

The writing is fresh, original, and inspired, but the show is truly brilliant thanks to the incredible acting of Laurie. If you like your doctors warm and cuddly, then House may not be for you. But if you give this show 2 episodes, you will be hooked on it like House is hooked on Vicodin.

A.G. Corwin
St.Louis, MO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your average medical drama, 8 Oct 2007
This review is from: House - Season 1 (Hugh Laurie) [DVD] (DVD)
Everything about House is a little bit different; the teaching hospital setting, the stylish glass and wood interiors and of course the acerbicly witty Dr Gregory House (Hugh Laurie). However, as with many US series, designed to be drawn out over hundreds of episodes, you won't notice all its facets at first. The show has a very particular formula - a medical whodunnit (or whatisit) where a patient is admitted with mysterious or misdiagnosed symptoms. House and his team of junior doctors spend the episode using differential diagnosis to try and find the cause of the symptoms before it's too late - which occasionally it is. On watching the first few episodes of the first season, you'll mainly find that it's this formula being developed and the writers using the hook of Dr House's dry wit to lure viewers. However investing a little time in the show and you'll start to see the central and supporting characters blossom and develop in different directions, and the inventiveness of the different ailments and approaches to diagnosis stops the format from becoming stale - in fact a format such as this is refreshing compared to the complicated, twisted threads and general chaos that defines dramas like ER.

A different story each episode, twinned with decent development arcs for the characters, gives House the best of both worlds, making it an easy show to pick up but also one that holds your interest. Hugh Laurie in the central role has become a very memorable character, with his comic timing not wasted on House's barbed, irreverent tongue. The writers don't let this overshadow the rest of the excellent cast though, making a very well rounded television series.

The DVD box set doesn't feature any extravagant packaging, however the set does include a few interesting extras which genuinely gives insight into the series. Although the following series are arguably better, if you start from series two or three (as I did), you will find yourself backtracking to pick up on the character development. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest, 7 Sep 2005
This is possibly the greatest medical drama programe ever. It really puts E.R. to shame showing how repetetive and boring their story lines have really gotten. It is also one of the best first seasons I have seen in a long time. A great cast that work well together including Jesse Spencer of Neighbour's fame and Hugh Laurie from the Stuart Little movies. A must for anyone who likes good TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ok, what the hell is this?, 4 Mar 2010
By 
Helder Pinto - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House - Season 1 (Hugh Laurie) [DVD] (DVD)
No subtitles at all? Not even in English for hearing impaired?

The show was recorded in widescreen, broadcasted in widescreen and they ship a dvd in 4:3?

bad sound and mediucre picture.

I'm sorry, i'm a big house MD fan, and I bought this to my personal collection but I never watched it. Might as well download a pirated HD version with subtitles.

Universal failed with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything Sucks, 3 July 2007
This review is from: House - Season 1 (Hugh Laurie) [DVD] (DVD)
"Everything Sucks. You might as well find something to smile about." G House

Formulaic certainly, in the way US TV can be, but the production is slick, Hugh Laurie excellent and the supporting performances faultless.

Darkly funny, occasionally moving, every other line of dialogue is a gem.

Something to smile about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the most captivating dramas on TV, but the DVD..., 19 Mar 2006
By 
Stephen Siragher "therajman" (Wakefield, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House - Season 1 (Hugh Laurie) [DVD] (DVD)
The format of 'House' can't be considered mind-blowingly original, or mould-breaking. As the creators admit on the largely extremely disappointing special features, they wanted to make a CSI-style program set in a hospital, and succeeded. But anyone who has watched the entire series, heart in mouth, chuckling at House's crushing asides but never daring to relieve the tension, knows that this one of the most affecting, life-changing dramas currently showing, expertly cast, brilliantly shot and with writing of real flair and power.
Hugh Laurie is magnificent in the title role, balancing the cold sarcasm of his daily duties with a palpable and heart-rendering fragility that demands sympathy from the viewer even though you're not quite sure you should even care. His accent is flawless and he injects every line with humanity and, on occasions, warmth. He is of course ably supported by his team - Jesse Spenser as the enigmatic Chase is the standout, but Jennifer Morrison's Cameron is just as effective, particularly in the emotionally charged scenes with Laurie. The script is sharp, the sets look authentic and the diagnostic puzzles House and the team solve are rarely anything other than absorbing, often filled with twists. I particularly love the episodes 'Maternity' and 'Fidelity', though the series becomes almost unbearably addictive when approaching the final six episodes or so, where the relationships between the doctors, especially between House and Cameron, comes to the fore.
A shame, then, that those who are desperate to own the series are let down by the DVD packaging. Sure, the front and back covers of the packaging looks fine, but the 4:3 format (as a previous reviewer has pointed out), the lack of any penetrating special features or commentaries, the flimsy DVD cases and the plethora of annoying adverts/public information films which cannot be skipped make for a frustrating viewing experience. If film companies are so desperate to make people buy DVDs rather than download episodes from file-sharing sites and torrents, then they should at least make the real thing look appetising.
Quibbles aside, House is the gold standard for drama - in my opinion it surpasses the often implausible and shock-tactic-prone '24' - and should be viewed with anyone who has any interest in quality drama. The fact that a British institution such as Laurie plays the lead so well is reason enough in itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House - Season 1 (Hugh Laurie) [DVD]
House - Season 1 (Hugh Laurie) [DVD] by Hugh Laurie (DVD - 2006)
8.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews