Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was crying with laughter, 5 Oct. 2008
By 
Beedo Sookcool (Torbay, Devonshire, England) - See all my reviews
Last time I visited the States in 2006, both my girlfriend and my best buddy had recorded some "Robot Chicken" episodes for my enjoyment. And enjoy them, I did! This show is the brainchild of Seth Green (y'know, Scott Evil from the "Austin Powers" films, Oz from "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," and Chris Griffin from "Family Guy") and a bunch of guys from the hilarious and informative but largely unknown-outside-the-USA magazine "ToyFare," which is geared towards the adult collectors of action figures, toys, and other pop-culture memorabilia . . . with the appropriate sense of humour.

"Robot Chicken" (apparently named after a dish from a Chinese restaurant's menu) is a sketch show done entirely in stop-motion animation (with just a little CGI assistance) using toys both off-the-shelf and custom-made. The basic idea, told in the opening credits, is that a mad scientist finds a road-killed chicken, turns it into a cyborg, and forces it to watch lots and lots of television with frequent channel-changes. (We don't know WHY he decided to do this; he is a MAD scientist, after all. Probably following up Dr. Forrester's work from "Mystery Science Theater 3000.") We see what the chicken sees, staticky channel-flips and all.

The show relentlessly mocks pop culture for the most part, but just about anything seen on television is fair game. One particular nature documentary, about lemmings, had me doubled over, unable to catch my breath, and crying with laughter. Each of the 20 episodes lasts 15 minutes, and the sketches range from 2-second "channel flips" to drawn-out masterpiece parodies of "Kill Bill," illegal race-rally movies, the "Karate Kid" films, and tributes to the cartoons of the 1970s and 1980s. And, of course, Reality TV and Blooper Reel shows also get it squarely and repeatedly in the neck (and deservedly so). If you're a fan of "Family Guy," or "South Park" you will also love this. It's got the same quick-fire, edgy, push-the-envelope-to-see-what-we-can-get-away-with feel to it. And it succeeds wonderfully.

While a lot of the voices are done by Seth Green and his small cadre of close actor buddies, Seth has used his celebrity pull to get some other big-name stars onto the project, including Scarlett Johansson, Mark Hamill (playing both himself AND Harrison Ford in an "Armageddon" spoof, amongst others), Sarah Michelle Gellar, Burt Reynolds, Dom Deluise, and half the casts of "That 70's Show" and "Family Guy" as well . . . amongst many others too numerous to mention.

If I go into much more detail, I'll spoil the best gags. Suffice it to say that the quick-fire sketches, which range from the occasional "Aawww! Cute!" kind to the "Holy Cow! Did they just do that on TV and get away with it?!!" variety will keep you entertained, if not gasping for air as your lungs leak out the splits in your sides. Some familiarity with American TV helps, including those cheezy Rankin/Bass stop-motion Christmas and Easter specials they broadcast for over 20 years, and the Canadian-imported "You Can't Do That On Television."

There are a good number of DVD extras, including outtakes, deleted scenes, behind-the-scenes stuff, and several sketches from the prototype show, "Sweet J Presents." The sound on some of these extras is quite low, so you'll have to turn up the volume on some of them. I've also looked for DVD Easter Eggs, but didn't find any.

This is incorrectly billed as "The follow-up to 'Robot Chicken: Star Wars'". "Robot Chicken" had been going for YEARS in the States before they got the go-ahead to do their "Star Wars" special. It's only because our version of Cartoon Network over here doesn't carry any of the good [adult swim] stuff that these DVD releases are bass-ackwards, as the Americans would say.

So, gentle viewers, I give this release my highest recommendation: I own it and love it, and I'm fairly certain you will get a kick out of it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely classic, 26 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot Chicken: Season One [DVD] [2005] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A stop-motion sketch show may not sound like the basis for a comedy goldmine, but Robot Chicken is one of the most hilarious shows on the air today. The stop-motion animation complements the oddball humour perfectly, and there's something in there for everyone; Robot Chicken seems to be pursuing a tireless quest to mimick and mock everything under the sun, from the Blind Date with an alien and a predator to the post-TV careers of He-Man and the Thundercats, from The World's Most One-Sided Fist Fights to Kill Bill with Jesus and a katana-weilding Santa Claus. A classic series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The single Greatest creation on TV EVER!!!!!, 6 Dec. 2006
By 
This review is from: Robot Chicken: Season One [DVD] [2005] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Robot chicken is a modern day work of art and should appeal in some way to every person on this planet

Its is made using clay and action figures and has some hilarious paradies of past and present things in pop culture (e.g Batman, Kill Bill, The Real Life, Big Brother, Blind Date etc)

It also has some great guest stars including the family guy and American Dad creator Seth Macfarlane, mila kunis, Corey Feldman, Amy Smart, Sarah Michelle Gellar, Weird Al Yancovich and the list goes on.

Any fan of the simpsons, king of the hill, Family Guy, Futurama, Malcolm In the middle, American Dad etc will find this DVD hysterical.

If you have a soul you need this DVD in your life!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's aliiive!!!!, 5 Dec. 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"Completely mad" is an understatement when describing `Robot Chicken'! It is from the mind of Seth Green (of Family Guy/Austin Powers/Buffy fame) that this strange creation has been created and it is some of the most funny and insane animated comedy that I have seen for a long time. It basically is a load of short clips, ranging from a matter of seconds to a couple of minutes, featuring some of your favourite toys from yesteryear, like Thundercats, GI Joe, He-Man, Star Wars, DC and Marvel superheroes, Transformers as well as some very cleverly made custom ones, in the most bizarre situations imaginable.

I've only seen series 1 so far and already I am completely addicted! If you're a fan of other adult animated series like Family Guy, South Park and Clerks, I can't recommend this highly enough as it is pure genius and real laugh-a-second humour. There's some really good voice-cameos to spot in there too from the likes of Seth McFarlane, Mark Hamil, Scarlett Johansan, Macaulay Culkin and Hulk Hogan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars robot chicken season 1 review by BRR25, 29 Jan. 2009
By 
B. Fox "bigredrobot25" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
robot chicken is one of my favourite shows for multiple reasons:
1. made mostly in stop motion
2. has many celebrity cameo's
3. the shear hilarity of each sketch

so ill make it simple. BUY THIS DVD IT IS PURE AWSOME WHOOOO HOOOOOOOOO!

cannot wait for season 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SO FUNNY!, 2 July 2009
By 
J. Williams "joew72" (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robot Chicken: Season One [DVD] [2005] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Robot chicken is hilarious! If you love ridiculous and random sketches that last 1 minute at max. this is for you. Scenes such as "Most one-sided fist fights" and "Kill Bunny" are just genius. Its quite dark humour and has some moments where it does just possibly cross the line...but really worth it!

Its such a shame that England is about 2 seasons behind and the episodes are so short but this has entertained me a lot and has good replay value as I still cant remember most of the scenes after watching the series about 4 or 5 times. Watching with friends is best but definitely a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fine purchase, 27 May 2009
By 
K. Rikhard (Oulu, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful series and I love it. The show features some of the most insane, hilarious and absurd pieces of comedy I've ever come across.

Only disappointment were the extras of the DVD: The deleted scenes just made you more angry, because you didn't get to see the sweet animation robot chicken is famous for and the jokes kinda died without the it. On the other hand, some of the commentaries etc. provided a nice sneak peek behind the scenes of the show.

If you like robot chicken (and even if you don't, yet) you better get this one right now. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest sketch show in existance, 4 Oct. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Robot Chicken - Season 1 Box Set (Region 2) (Pal) [2005]

This is one of the funniest TV shows I have ever had the pleasure of watching.

From George W Bush officially declaring: "Tacos rule" to Bill Cinto borrowing Air Force One to get to the Burning Man festival, including fat guys trying to reach ice cream and runners being bisected by the finishing ribbon, this show will have you in absolute stitches.

And if you don't think it's "your thing" just think of it as loads of Family Guy cutaway gags in stop-motion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series., 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first saw Robot chicken by accident. I was flicking through the channels when I came across the Star wars specials. I was hooked straight away. I decided to get this DVD and was not let down for a second. It is just so funny. My only complaint would be that each episode is just so short and leaves you wanting more, so I would say buy this product, if you have a sence of humour you will never regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious couldnt stop laughing, 7 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Robot Chicken - Series 1 (DVD)
I had this in a two disc format the first disc was so hilarious, was laughing the whole way through, second disc wasn't as good.
but enjoyed it so much I have got robot chicken star wars in my lovefilm waiting to come.
if you want a bit of funny, outrageous sense of humour mini episodes this is the one.
I would highly recommend this to anyone, just brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews