Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I can die happy!
For years I've looked for these films and then they come all at once! Not only are they outstanding musicals but an outstanding transfer - and you get bucketloads of extras!

The films are: 42nd Street, Gold Diggers of 1933, Dames, Gold Diggers of 1935, and Footlight Parade, all with extras. There's also a sixth DVD about Busby Berkley including highlights of...
Published on 3 Jan 2007 by Johnz

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Busby Berkley
All the DVD's worked apart from 42nd street I will try and get Amazon to change this defective DVD. The rest are great plus they have excellent special features and WB shorts. The quality is fantastic well worth the money.
Published on 9 Jan 2011 by Smurf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I can die happy!, 3 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Busby Berkeley Collection [DVD] [1933] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
For years I've looked for these films and then they come all at once! Not only are they outstanding musicals but an outstanding transfer - and you get bucketloads of extras!

The films are: 42nd Street, Gold Diggers of 1933, Dames, Gold Diggers of 1935, and Footlight Parade, all with extras. There's also a sixth DVD about Busby Berkley including highlights of his films, those here and also Fashions of 1934, Wonder Bar, In Caliente, and Gold Diggers of 1937!

Of course you'll need a Region 1 DVD player and a TV that can handle US TV format (NTSC) but with these films now on DVD, go and buy one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Collection of All Time, 1 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Busby Berkeley Collection [DVD] [1933] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I always wanted to get copies of '42nd Street, 'Gold Diggers of 1933' & '1935', and then they all arrive together.

Lullaby of Broadway in 'Gold Diggers of 1935' still remains possibly the most impressive mass dance number ever seen on film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow !, 22 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Busby Berkeley Collection [DVD] [1933] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I've been looking for these films for years, they are just so wonderful, just the thing to O.D. on when you've had a hard day at work !
Escapism Rules !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic films, 10 Jan 2010
By 
J. A. Gillies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Busby Berkeley Collection [DVD] [1933] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
It is fantastic to see these old films again, particularly as the picture quality is so good. The sharpness and detail on some of them is amazing, especially as they are over 75 years old!! I especially enjoyed the compillation disc of some of the best musical numbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 7 Nov 2009
By 
R. Poole "baby boomer" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Busby Berkeley Collection [DVD] [1933] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
if your going to buy any busby berkely dvd's then this boxed set is the one to get.some of his best movies are in here and the bonus cd is almost worth the price alone as it shows most of his famous dance sequences (incl some from movies still hard to get) one after another (which is great in the background at parties with the volume off and your own music playing!!!)
.....nb although this is a zone 1 if you dont have a multi regional player there ARE sites on the internet that show you how to convert very easily.funnily enough the cheaper the dvd player the easier to do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Busby Berkley, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: Busby Berkeley Collection [DVD] [1933] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
All the DVD's worked apart from 42nd street I will try and get Amazon to change this defective DVD. The rest are great plus they have excellent special features and WB shorts. The quality is fantastic well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars didnt accept delivery and awaiting a credit when it has gone back to retailer, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Busby Berkeley Collection [DVD] [1933] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Refused to pay £12.40 odd to get it delivered , hadn't been made clear to me on ordering that £8 customs charge and £4 odd post office handling charge so would have made it toooooo expensive for what I wanted.
Looked in very small print in terms to find customs costs, would not have bothered if had this clearly pointed out before order
No doubt the dvds would have been fun but I am not that interested at that cost
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Busby Berkeley Collection [DVD] [1933] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£38.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews