Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Times Memento from the British Billy Eckstine
"The Ultimate Melly," is a generous helping of the recently passed British jazz-blues singer's work. It was cut fairly recently, and his voice is evidently not quite what it once was; nevertheless, it's still a warm, distinctive baritone, with clear enunciation. He was a smooth crooner/balladeer at heart, but he could swing with the best of them, and can most profitably...
Published on 1 May 2012 by Stephanie De Pue

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Melly
A very sad sympathy**** CD. The spirit is there but the voice has long gone.TIRED. I'm sending this back. RIP, George.
Published on 19 July 2012 by MV


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Times Memento from the British Billy Eckstine, 1 May 2012
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Melly (Audio CD)
"The Ultimate Melly," is a generous helping of the recently passed British jazz-blues singer's work. It was cut fairly recently, and his voice is evidently not quite what it once was; nevertheless, it's still a warm, distinctive baritone, with clear enunciation. He was a smooth crooner/balladeer at heart, but he could swing with the best of them, and can most profitably be compared to the American Billy Eckstine. He had a great knowledge of, and love for, some of the American greats: Bessie Smith, Louis Armstrong, Fats Waller, and Billie Holiday, among others.

The album ranges from Dixieland, to trad jazz, to R & B, even rock. Digby Fairweather's Half Dozen accompanies. But there's also a string section. And he's joined by Van Morrison, The Swingle Sisters, Jacqui Dankworth, and John Chilton, his former accompanying bandleader, with a trumpet solo. So there's lots of musical and vocal diversity on this album.

It opens on "Midnight Cannonball;" Van Morrison joins in on it, and they achieve a lot of velocity. Morrison comes back later to harmonize on Bessie Smith's "Backwater Blues." Jacqui Dankworth is in on the Gershwin's amusing "Let's Call The Whole Thing Off," and that bawdy old vaudeville standby, "Big Butter and Egg Man." Melly does one of his own bawdy blues favorites, "Kitchen Man," the jazz fave "Everybody Loves My Baby," and the vaudeville "Mr Gallagher and Mr Shean." He gives us deeply felt takes of Louis Armstrong's "Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans," and Billie Holiday's "God Bless the Child." Also Hoagy Carmichael's tuneful "Georgia on My Mind." We get several rollicking faves: Johnny Mercer's "Goody Goody," Nat King Cole's "Straighten Up and Fly Right,"and the rock "Trudge." And yet, "As Time Goes By," delivered with a lifetime's experience. And what a lifetime's experience Melly had. If you loved his work, this is a good reminder of his breezily good-natured, enjoyable performances. (I was lucky enough to see him several times at New York's Michael's Pub; as he was a particular favorite, I've also several of his books autographed.) If you're not familiar with him, consider giving it a whirl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 15 Mar. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Melly (Audio CD)
George Melly may be pushing 80 but this CD has more raw energy and power than a lorryload of contemporary jazz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its just Great, 22 April 2010
By 
P. Nash "Nashie" (High Peak UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Melly (MP3 Download)
George Melly is a one off,you can go on for ever about how good he was,you like him or you don't
i think he is the best,what more can anyone say.Its a must for anyones collection.Just GREAT

Nashie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Melly (Audio CD)
What a brilliant cd for George nelly fans. I bought it as a gift, even though it had been used it was in brilliant condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars george again, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Melly (Audio CD)
bought this for my father along with another album, he's a big jazz fan & loves it, plays it all the time..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Tribute, 15 Dec. 2014
By 
Terry McCaffrey (Whitchurch, Buckinghamshire, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ultimate Melly (Audio CD)
What's up with the cloth eared one who didn't like this great cd ? George is in fine voice, and there is a wealth of fine blowing from world class musicians. As always George has fun and we are lucky that the guys could be got together to make what has turned out to be a worthy tribute to one of life's really colourful characters. LONG LIVE GEORGE !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars melly, 28 Jan. 2010
By 
Tamkin "Marty" (Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Melly (Audio CD)
One if the better Melly cd I have purchased and not to many duplicated tracks from my other albuns
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Melly, 19 July 2012
This review is from: The Ultimate Melly (Audio CD)
A very sad sympathy**** CD. The spirit is there but the voice has long gone.TIRED. I'm sending this back. RIP, George.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE REVIEW DESCRIPTION, 22 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Ultimate Melly (Audio CD)
Neither Amazon nor his reviewers seem to know much about George Melly. We were great fans and were very saddened when he died, aged 80, in 2007. This is not good for his family to advertise this as though he has just sung the songs in his eighties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Melly
The Ultimate Melly by George Melly (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews