Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous set
I don't think this marvellous 8CD set by Mitsuko Uchida and the ECO can be bettered. It is not quite a complete recording of all the piano concerti, but incorporates all of the concerti on the four double CDs issued under the Philips Duo label. Only a few of the very early concerti are missing (nos. 1-4, 7 and 10 to be precise) and all the great ones are here...
Published on 8 Nov. 2008 by Sid Nuncius

versus
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something lacking
Mitsuko Uchida's Mozart interpretations are so widely admired that I thought I must be the odd man out in finding these Mozart concerto recordings just a little too precious, over-fussy and, in a way, irritating. However in looking for a review of the Mozart concertos by another artist (Pires) I discovered that Stephen Plaistow, writing in "The Gramophone" said of Miss...
Published on 16 Dec. 2011 by Israel Iskowitz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous set, 8 Nov. 2008
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mozart - The Piano Concertos /MITSUKO UCHIDA (Audio CD)
I don't think this marvellous 8CD set by Mitsuko Uchida and the ECO can be bettered. It is not quite a complete recording of all the piano concerti, but incorporates all of the concerti on the four double CDs issued under the Philips Duo label. Only a few of the very early concerti are missing (nos. 1-4, 7 and 10 to be precise) and all the great ones are here.

I have enthused about Uchida's Complete Mozart Piano Sonatas Mozart: The Piano Sonatas and about the Concerti issued as Duo discs. Uchida has a real empathy with Mozart, I think, and you get the sense of love and joy in the music combined with magnificent musicianship making this a marvellous set and outstanding value. She is crisp and sensitive in the quicker outer movements and has the power when needed to play as the orchestra's equal. In the slow movements Uchida's beautiful tone is a joy and she judges the mood perfectly, making them truly beautiful without a hint of sentimentality or Mozartkugel-flavoured kitsch. This is not easy in such over-exposed movements as the Andante of K467, for example, but she is absolutely exemplary in her empathy and restraint.

The English Chamber Orchestra are ideal in this repertoire. It is no coincidence that both Uchida and the great Murray Perahia chose them for their Mozart recordings. The orchestra - here under Jeffrey Tate - are vigorous, supple and responsive and again avoid any intrusion of the saccharine nonsense which mars some Mozart performances. You can almost hear the collective grins of the orchestra during some of Mozart's more outrageous show-off finales, and there is a fabulous understanding between them and Uchida who worked with the ECO a lot.

It seems to me that the only close competitor to this series is Murray Perahia's Complete Mozart Piano Concerti (also with the ECO) Mozart - The Piano Concertos which are equally good, but at the time of writing weigh in at well over £75. And it's worth saying that on Radio 3's Building A Library the reviewer said that although he couldn't imagine even Mozart playing Mozart more beautifully than Murray Perahia, he still chose Uchida's recording from this set of the Jeunehomme Concerto (No. 9, K271) as the best available. I'm not arguing with either part of that. In fact I've ended up with both Perahia's and Uchida's sets and love both, but at this price you simply can't go wrong with the Uchida set.

Mitsuko Uchida is, in my view anyway, one of the truly great Mozart players of our generation, and this is her at her magnificent best. Recommended without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong,Delicate Emotional..., 25 April 2012
By 
Dr.Stuart "I am a retired teacher. I speciali... (Rickmansworth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart - The Piano Concertos /MITSUKO UCHIDA (Audio CD)
I have several full sets of Mozart piano concertos By Geza Anda, Brendel and Barenboim. However, it is Uchida I keep going back to with her insight into the essence of Mozart's music and her combination of supreme delicacy of touch and strength.
If you buy these you will never tire of listening to them Uchida's emotional warmth is like bright summer sunshine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth and Beauty, 24 Nov. 2006
By 
R. C. Ross (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mozart - The Piano Concertos /MITSUKO UCHIDA (Audio CD)
The first impression is of excellent recorded sound: transparent, perfectly balanced and full of colour; the orchestral playing and conducting equally sensitive and flexible, full of character and life. Mitsuko Uchida is a perfect Mozart pianist. Her playing is elegant, deeply felt, personal and wonderfully idiosyncratic. There are delightfully wayward moments with slow movements stretched to a gossamer thread. With playing of this character and refinement were these movements to last forever they would still be too short! A delightful set, truthfully beautiful - such music leaves one speechless and amazed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, 8 Dec. 2011
By 
Per Arne Rudberg "P-A Rudberg" (Vallentuna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mozart - The Piano Concertos /MITSUKO UCHIDA (Audio CD)
I have listened to many recordings of these concertos. With the Uchida/Tate recordings I have found it - the ideal Mozart interpretation.
Nothing here is exaggerated and nothing is pale. Details don't get in the way for the music, but not a single detail is overlooked.
Uchida, Tate and the superb orchestra are not afraid of letting the music play. They can scale it down to a transparent spiderweb, but they can also let the intensity and sparkle take off.
Musicianship!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Mozart playing, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart - The Piano Concertos /MITSUKO UCHIDA (Audio CD)
Maybe it's not even Uchida so much who makes this a great set, but the amazingly strong accompaniment by the ECO under the baton of the highly underestimated maestro Tate.
I'm rather amazed by the way Uchida can sometimes make me enthuse (such as in these concertos) while at other times she leaves me baffled by an overkill of technical prowess and a seeming lack of real heartfelt emotion (such as in the Mozart sonatas she also recorded in the eighties).
But here everythng falls into place. A must-have for all lovers of Mozart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Box Set of Mozart's Symphonies!!!, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart - The Piano Concertos /MITSUKO UCHIDA (Audio CD)
I heard Mitsuko Uchida play at the Edinburgh Festival recently and was very impressed by her exquisite and light touch. And that's what you get in this excellent box set of many of Mozart's Piano Concertos, which she recorded during the 1980's for Decca. Her style of playing really suits Mozart's music and it was great to hear my favourites like Piano Concertos Nos. 27, 24 (particularly the Larghetto), 20 (Romance), 26 and 21. Mitsuko is given fine backing by Jeffrey Tate and the English Chamber Orchestra whose rich crisp strings and fine woodwind complements her beautiful playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something lacking, 16 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart - The Piano Concertos /MITSUKO UCHIDA (Audio CD)
Mitsuko Uchida's Mozart interpretations are so widely admired that I thought I must be the odd man out in finding these Mozart concerto recordings just a little too precious, over-fussy and, in a way, irritating. However in looking for a review of the Mozart concertos by another artist (Pires) I discovered that Stephen Plaistow, writing in "The Gramophone" said of Miss Uchida's readings,
"There seems an excess of attention to the less important things, in these slow movements particularly, which for me are flawed by an overlay of artifice--well-meaning and charmingly applied but tending to turn every statement into something exquisitely fragile. Nothing is straightforward because nothing is left untouched. And I think the quality of balance we recognize in the best Mozart performance is impaired when this happens."
So it's not just me; at least one professional critic feels the same way about these recordings and has expressed his reactions far more eloquently than I ever could.
There is no doubt that there are many beautiful things to be heard in these performances but personally I desire a much less emasculated approach to the Mozart concertos than we have here, one in which the entire sweep of the music is in evidence.
If you are inclined to feel the same way about these wonderful works you might be better advised to consider alternative readings of them which are more likely to satisfy, such as those by Anda, Barenboim or Perahia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 15 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart - The Piano Concertos /MITSUKO UCHIDA (Audio CD)
What can I say. the most beautiful music ever written, played superbly. Don't prevaricate, buy this set now and you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful playing, 27 May 2014
By 
D. Thompson (Chetlenham, Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart - The Piano Concertos /MITSUKO UCHIDA (Audio CD)
Mitsuko has become my favourite interpreter of Mozart and his contemporaries - there is a real lightness of touch to her playing that expresses emotion without losing the beauty of the music itself. Wonderful listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love them, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart - The Piano Concertos /MITSUKO UCHIDA (Audio CD)
Some reviewers have found them a bit too recherché, but I love them. Am listening to them in the car from and to work every day and each CD I put in is a delight to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mozart - The Piano Concertos /MITSUKO UCHIDA
Mozart - The Piano Concertos /MITSUKO UCHIDA by Mitsuko Uchida (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews